We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Acqua Vatos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We loved our stay here. The rooms are fresh and modern. All the facilities are very good, Hugh pool that was a little cold at this time of year but very usable. The receptionists and managers are brilliant, very welcoming, always cheerful and helpful with places to visit and to eat.
Good location just back from the beach area which we liked.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steveaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    130
    52
    13
    12
See reviews for
90
474
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, uk
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

As before we loved our holiday here.
We are also looking forward to visiting this year after the renovations are complete. Have seen the photos and am sure it will look amazing but the real beauty of this place is already there - warm welcome, helpful staff etc .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Kath,

Thank you SO much for your 5th review and we look forward to welcome you again this September and accommodate you in the NEW Acqua Vatos Hotel.

See you soon

George + Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

For anybody out there who is looking for a great, reasonably priced place to stay in Santorini, I cannot praise Aqua Vatos highly enough. Myself, my wife and wedding party stayed there whilst we we're married on the island and they really helped to make our whole event a very special occasion.

Before arriving the owner would answer all questions promptly no matter how big or small.

It is situated in Kamari and is only a short walk from the beach front, with many surrounding shops and tavernas. The first thing that will grab you, along with it's beautiful entrance, is the incredibly warm welcome you will receive from it's staff, most notably Katrina and Savino. They really treated us well, answering our every request and query with humour and warmth. Indeed by the end of our stay it felt as if they we're a part of our family wedding!

The rooms are very well decorated, clean and spacious. The pool area is also of a very high standard and although next to the, albeit quiet, road, the trees and foliage create a nice peaceful surrounding.

So to sum up, Aqua Vatos is an extremely well run hotel which we would love to stay in again the next time we visit Santorini, book early to avoid disappointment!

Max and Jon x

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximusk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Max & Jon,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Santorini and in Acqua Vatos Hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future. Maybe for your 1st wedding anniversary... Think about it....

George + Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Good: The breakfast, the pool, and the location of the hotel were very good. We had lots of fun in the pool and there are so many restaurants to choose from. There's a Chinese-Thai restaurant named "Kiwi" nearby that offers really good Asian food. If you want Western food, I would recommend "Dolphin's". They have the nicest waitresses who you should ask for food recommendation.

Bad: I think we must have been given the worst room in the whole hotel because we didn't like our room at all. We were shocked at the size of the room and the state of the bathroom that we asked for an upgrade. But there was a large group of people attending a wedding booked at this hotel so there was no rooms left, at least that what I was told, or maybe the reception just misunderstood and thought I wanted a free upgrade.
Anyway, our room was tiny and faced a very ugly side of the building. The bathroom was a huge disappointment as it was small, old, dirty looking, with a leaking toilet which made very annoying water dripping sound for about 20 mins after every flush. The bathroom was so small that I couldn't sit comfortably on the toilet and one of my feet would be inside the shower.
According to the sheet of paper that was on the inside of our door which showed the (official) rating of the place, it is a 2 star hotel, not a 3 star as we were made to believe.
On the plus side of the room, the air conditioner works well, and there's a balcony to dry our towels.
The receptionist can be quite moody as she was nice sometimes and not others. My husband called the hotel to arrange an airport pick up (18 euro) and he received a rather uncomfortable conversation from the receptionist. But the staff were generally helpful when we asked for help.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekhoebedep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Owner at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
Dear Valued Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations in Santorini Island. Your comments are very valuable for us and we are trying to improve our Hotel's facilities and services based on our guests reviews. The room these guests stayed (room 202) is a Standard Double room, as they originally booked, not one of our best but in any case not the worst of the Hotel as they described. This room has a balcony (attached to the next building in one of its sides) facing the back garden. A number of guests asking for quite rooms away from the road but if we don’t have requests like this then we accommodate randomly any new arrival we have. It is true that these guests requested another room for their stay and I was informed by the receptionist the same time they asked for the upgrade. Of course we didn’t misunderstand their request. However the entire Hotel was fully booked (as they mention) and we were unable to move them to another room. The third day of their stay me personally went to the Hotel and managed to move them to a Superior Double (room 212) for the rest of their stay (5 more nights) with the cost of 16 euro per night. This was the best I was able to do and I am really sorry for letting them staying for 2 nights in a room that they didn’t like. Regarding the sheet on the back side of the door, indeed this is the official rate of the Hotel according to the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels. However the Hotel after the renovation we made back in 2006 turn it to 3 Stars and it is a matter of time to get the official rating from the government. We are in progress (3 years now) of changing the category but paper works in Greece are REALLY slow. In the meantime I challenge anyone to compare our facilities and services with any 2 Star Hotel in the world and let me know if our standards are the same. Finally regarding the transfer issue we are really apologize for the trouble. This was a misunderstanding between me (personally) and the transfer company and then the receptionist called to resolve the problem and discuss with the guests. I would like to inform anyone who is reading this response that the Hotel is under a new, big, renovation especially in the bathrooms, so next year we hope to satisfy all our guests who will choose to stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We picked this hotel after reading the reviews on TA and as usual we weren't disappointed the reviews were spot on.
The room was a bit smaller than we had expected as we had a single bed in our room as well as a double but it was spotlessly clean, the bed was really comfortable and extremely quiet. I agree completely with other reviewers on the bathroom - it was in need of refurbishment but we had no problem with the water pressure some people seem to complain about.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extensive and yes you can have free tea and coffee all day.

We also loved the location, right at the heart of the resort but you wouldn't really know it. Only a few minutes from the beach and restaurants. We particularly liked the Dolce Cafe at the end of the street for that last nightcap before bed or lunch when we came off the beach.
The pool area was lovely and we never struggled to get a lounger whenever we turned up.

We had a brilliant holiday in Santorini and I would throughly recommend the island, the resort and the hotel. Read the other reviews they are better than mine and they are true.

We were on

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Owner at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to know that our Hotel meets your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you once again in the near future especially now where our bathrooms are totally renovated as well as the entire Hotel.

Best Regards

George + Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Just returned from probably the best holiday ever. Santorini is a must for everyone’s Bucket List. We chose to stay at Altos Vatos, Kamari, based on TA reviews and were highly delighted with our choice.
Top of our list when choosing accommodation is the location. Not wanting to walk too far, or to hire taxies, we like to have everything near at hand. AV cannot be beaten on location. Situated right in the heart of Kamari the beach is only some 50 metres down the street and closer still are Restaurants, Shops inc mini-markets, Tour/Car Hire Agencies, Cinema, ATM, Pharmacy, Local Bus Stop for Fira (then to Oia), and Kamari Coach Tour Terminal.
Best of all, when you have had your fill of Greek and International Cuisine, right next door is the Liver Bar/Cafe. Not your usual greasy spoon British Union Jack Cafe, more like a modern Bar/Brasserie. Great place for a Full English Breakfast, Light Lunch or evening drinks.
Plus points for the AV would have to be awarded for the Swimming Pool. Very clean and twice the size of most. Plenty of comfortable loungers for everyone. Extra points too for the breakfasts. Nothing cooked, as expected with continental breakfast, except for the HB eggs, but the choice of freshly baked bread and pastries more than compensated. A nice appreciated touch was that the coffee percolator and tea making facilities were kept available all day long FOC.
Severino is an excellent host and is always to hand if you need help or just for a chat. Has a good sense of humour and is a bit tactile! All the Staff were helpful and the cleaners did a good job. Also thanks to Nikki our Thompson Rep who was often at hand and did a good professional job at the Welcome Meeting.
If I were to draw attention to any unfavourable points it would concern the tired looking bathroom. It was kept clean, but badly in need of a refurb. We were in room 104 and we did not suffer any lack of shower power as reported, indeed, I found that turned full on (Hot and Cold together) it matched my 150bar Pressure Washer!
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone thinking of staying in Kamari.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugalugs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Owner at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive review and we are really looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

George + Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We have been back a week and are still talking of the lovely time we had on Santorini, a really beautiful island. We stayed at the Acqua Vatos Hotel and was made to feel very welcome by the lovely Catherine and Severino, the hotel was immaculately clean and we couldn't fault the cleaners who cleaned our rooms every day. The breakfasts were lovely thanks to Olga, there was so much choice, eggs,ham&cheese, a variety of lovely fresh bread ,cereal ,fresh fruit & gorgeous Greek yoghurt & wonderful pastries,also free tea &coffee all day whenever you fancied a cup! We found Cat & Severino very helpful especially where best restaurants were& they lit lamps every night on the steps of the hotel which gave it a magical look. Eating out at night was a pleasure, there was just so much choice, we are not exactly night owls, just a walk along the promenade, find a nice restaurant , a leasurely walk back to the hotel for a drink, but we did find a couple of good restaurants, on advice from a revue we looked up side streets and found the" To Kati Allo" run by Makris Manolis & his family,its easy to find next to the kiwi chinese restuarant, we had some gorgeous meals there and truly cooked by Mama,I would without doubt recomend this place to you, also Alexandra's which is a bit dearer but exceptionally good. The Family Restaurant wasn't bad but we didn't like the No Name restaurant very much. There were some nice jewelery shops there girls! We did the Thompsons boat trip to the Caldera & really enjoyed it & learnt a lot about the volcano's & some history of Santorini! I would like to thank Cat and Severino for making our stay a pleasant one, good luck for the future Cat in whatever you choose to do.
All the best from Superman & his wife [Severino will know who this is]!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anythingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Owner at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear "Superman" & Wife,

Thank you so much for your extended and detailed review. We are very happy to know that our services makes you time "wonderful" in Santorini...

George + Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#3 of 75 in Kamari
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#14 of 75 in Kamari
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#12 of 75 in Kamari
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Hotel

Property: Acqua Vatos Hotel
Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#22 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acqua Vatos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing