We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarrassing staff”
Review of Acqua Vatos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Embarrassing staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I just got back from Santorini and Acqua Vatos today. I must say I'm really disappointed in the staff at this hotel. When we first arrived everything seemed good and we felt that this was a nice hotel.
But, after eating the breakfast the first morning we weren't so sure about the hotel anymore. They serve breakfast from 8-11 and we came down around 10, the yoghurt was warm and so was the cheese. There was almost nothing left and no one was there who we could ask for more.

The day before we were leaving we wanted to check the transfer that we had booked and how they would do with breakfast (since we were leaving at 6,30 in the morning). Vicky said that the transfer could come at 5,15 and that it only took 5 minutes to go to the airport and that it would be enough if our flight left at 6,30. We thought it was a bit to late but trusted that she knew better.
We also asked about the breakfast which we had payed for, and she told us that they didn't have a breakfast box or anything but she would check.
Later that night when we were leaving the hotel she told us that she had spoke to the manager and they couldn't give us a breakfast box or anything. I got really frustrated since we had paid for breakfast and she was so rude. I asked how they would compensate us for this and she said that they couldn't, but if we had told her when we arrived they could have given us a discount or something. But we had booked the hotel and transfer in april and in the booking I told them that we were leaving at 6.30. After that she became really rude and almost trough 5 euros on us. I don't believe that the breakfast cost 2,5 per person when the room cost 102 per night..

When we were leaving we came down to the reception at 5.05 and checked with the guy in the reception if everything was ok with the transfer. Also he was so rude, looking at me like I was stupid and just said that it would leave at 5.15.
At 5.15 there was no transfer there. And since we already thought it was so short of time we got stressed. The guy from the reception went out on the street and just stood there. At 5.20 I asked him where the hell the transfer where?! He just said that he didn't know. I told him to go and call the company in which he responded that he didn't know which company Vicky had booked for us.. At 5.25 the bus came and we were so stressed, he then told us that they would pick up more people and that it would take about 10 minutes before we left to the airport. And it costs 20 euros for one way. We almost missed our flight because of the late transfer.

Everyone at this hotel should learn how to interact with people and to be more service minded.. It is so embarrassing how they acted against us.
But I must say that the hotel has a good location, nice rooms and a good pool area. The hotel is not the problem it is the people who work here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hedvighedvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
With a great surprise we read the above review..!! Everything they mention is totally true but...

Indeed with 37 degrees atmosphere temperature the yoghurt and the cheese "may" be warm... We always try to keep the food in the best condition and we think we have made it reading others people comments....

Indeed we knew from the time they made the booking that their departure was very early in the morning. This do not change the attitude of our stafford the way we treat our guests.

Indeed we gave 5 euro as a refund for the breakfast we didn't serve. This is the cost of the breakfast according to the Greek Law when your booking is on BB (bed and breakfast) basis. You can check that on every receipt of every hotel in Greece.

Indeed the transfer got late 10 minutes but it is not true that they almost missed their flight since the airport is about 10 minutes drive and the airport gates opens at 5:30. For domestic flights the check in starts one hour prior the flight departure..

Indeed the night swift was stood at the door of the hotel looking for the minibus and he was ready to react in case that there was further delay (more than 10 minutes).

We must thank all our guests putting their comments for our hotel on Trip Advisor and giving us as a Hotel for 6 consecutive seasons the "certificate of excellence" in our area... Unfortunately there will be always someone who will find something to complain...

George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    127
    52
    12
    11
See reviews for
86
467
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Acqua Vatos for the second time in early June (last visit was Sept 2011). On arrival we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was a lovely surprise. The hotel is clean, brilliantly located and the staff very friendly. They have a great pool, which we didn't use very much as we preferred to spend our days on the beach. There was a good selection of items for breakfast, with different things on offer each day. The baklava was absolutely awesome! Would stay here again if we return to Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to be our guests each time you are in Santorini.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at Acqua Vatos Hotel.
Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thanos (the manager) was extremely helpful as was all of the day time front desk staff. The hotel is charming and only a short walk to the beach. We were a group of three. I booked on-line through booking.com Not sure if it was because our room was considered a triple, but our rate was more than double the rate of a regular room. Our room was soooo small. It was not worth the price we paid but it would have been a great deal at their regular rate. I didn't see what a regular room looked like. The friendly service and charming vibe of the place made up for it. Thanos found us a room at a sister hotel on another beach for our last day. The room we got there was much much larger and they gave us a reduced price which balanced out the higher rate we had paid in Kamari.
It is not a fancy place but it was clean and unique. We thought this beach was more fun than the other nearby beaches. I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geralyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review!
We sincerely hope for your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konigswinter, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Kamari, only a few minutes to the beach. Clean and comfortable room, only minor drawback: Refrigiator stops working as soon as you leave your room. Breakfast was excellent and was slightly different each day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paddy_L_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review!
We are delighted that you stayed with us and had a good time.
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Acqua Vatos in Mid May, attending a friends wedding in a nearby town. On arrival we were greeted by the very help staff. They gave us quick run through of the Island and places to visit. They also provided a map. Check-in was very prompt and completed without any fuss. They also provided a refreshment while waiting.
The rooms are simple but smart. Plain white rooms with modern Decor. The bathroom we had recently been refurb'd and looked neat and tidy (and clean). The bathroom is small but that is not a concern for me.
The hotel is around 2 minutes from the beach front and easy walking distance to the restaurants and bars. Being away from the Beach means that the hotel is quiet particularly in the day when by the pool. The pool area was very clean throughout (but cold).
Breakfast is mainly cereals and toast. They do offer eggs/cakes and meats. For the money you really can't complain. Tea and coffee is free all day from the breakfast room.
I would consider using this hotel again if we returned as for 50 odd euro a night you can't do much better.
The hotel will setup transfers if you need them. I think it was 20 euro in and 15 out. Dont ask me why there was a difference.
The only negative i had really was that the Balcony at the rear of the hotel doesn't have the best view in the world but overall i would say this is a lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopper_lee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Acqua Vatos Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Okay so the title is a little misleading. What it should say is that "There are No Staff here, only Friends that happen to be working to make you happy" but that is too long. Quite simply The Acqua Vatos is one of the best and most friendly hotels that really should be rated higher than the 3 stars given it by various websites.
Thanos, Vicky and the team are brilliant, the hotel is simple, and yet modern, clean, well located and a credit to its owners.
We actually stayed in one of the Suites which enabled us to have a little more room with the extra sitting room and large balcony. Our bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was of a good quality. The breakfast buffet was good witha selection that featured cold meats, cereals, fruit juices and a daily pie option.
The photos on the website are realistic and represent the hotel well.
The hotel is in a great location only 80 yards from the beach and in the heart of the resort. Yes as others have said the front of the building faces onto the main road, but this is not a busy road, although some rooms on the front might hear late night revellers or the many Quad Bikes that are used throughout Santorini.
Many people only know the Fira areas of the Island, but the beaches of Kamari and Perissa are very pleasant and relaxing, and access to the more well know sites of Fira and Oia are easy from a base here, with a good and regular bus service which stops across the road from this hotel.
My only downside is the restricted Wifi in this hotel, you do get a free 30 minute access, and the additional costs for longer periods are not excessive, but with so many leisure operations offering free Wifi it is a shame that the AV does not do the same. ( See my tip below for options )
I would highly recommend The Acqua Vatos to any traveller, but once again thank the team there for treating us like friends and making our stay fantastic.

Room Tip: If your budget allows go for a larger room rather than those called economy, as those rooms are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted that you stayed with us and had a good time. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

To start, our very welcoming staff member, Vicky, is a very demure and lovely individual with a sweet disposition. She quickly offered us a very tasty fruity drink, which surprised the taste buds in a most delightful way, then made sure we were not too tired to hear some insightful tips about the island. Rooms are small, but nicely decorated. Location is a bit away from Fira or Oia if those are your main attraction sites. Rent an ATV and take a ride to explore on your own. Buses are a great way to get around as well, but you'll need to wait, and if you don't have that much time, it's just better to go at your own pace by having your own set of wheels. Acqua Vatos Hotel offers a quick way to rent a quad. Breakfast's are a hit and miss -- sometimes good, sometimes not so good :), but it all works out in the end.

Rooms have keys, not a card swipe, so you must lock yourself in at night and lock the door behind you when you leave. If you're not used to this, then you may forget to lock your door. Also, I think it is hazardous to lock yourself in at night, in case there is some sort of evacuation due to unforeseen circumstances, it will take a minute to go through the process of unlocking the door (several turns on an old style door lock -- skeleton key type of thing).

I would have loved to have stayed in Oia, but couldn't afford the expensive tab, so had to select this hotel. It worked for the money, and I'd recommend it, though it wasn't quite what I was expecting. I had actually upgraded from another "suggested" hotel, so I thought this one was going to be top rate. It works though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't leak out into the main bathroom, and perhaps one that overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinieschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! Your impressions only help us to improve even more. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#3 of 75 in Kamari
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#14 of 75 in Kamari
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#16 of 75 in Kamari
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Hotel

Property: Acqua Vatos Hotel
Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#22 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acqua Vatos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing