We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acqua Vatos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stylish and unique”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Spent a week here but wished we could stay much longer. Acqua Vatos exceeded our expectations and the warm welcome we received on arrival was continued throughout our stay. Everyone was so helpful;information and /or assistance was always available as the front reception desk was constantly manned (even at 3am!) The pool bar was great and the bar lady (Yana ?)was so pleasant . The decor is very quirky and tastefully done and the cleaners worked tirelessly to keep the hotel spotlessly clean. The cook prepared delicious home cooked items for the buffet breakfast,changing a few items each day to give plenty to choose from. The leek pie,pancakes, freshly prepared fruit along with the cream pie were my particular favourites. Vicky and Thannos thank you, we had a wonderful, relaxing holiday at Acqua Vatos.

Room Tip: High standard of accommodation in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barabrithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind review for Acqua Vatos Hotel.

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and you enjoyed our service and facilities.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    123
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
82
452
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Like most people these days I find Trip Advisor is a fantastic resource for assessing a hotel, restaurant or attraction. Having used the reviews as a guide I also think it's important to add further feedback for future readers.

The Acqua Vatos Hotel is a great example of where excellent customer service generates great customer feedback resulting in a fully booked hotel.

Sure the rooms aren't huge and the showers are a bit small but who goes on a Greek holiday to sit in their room? This is a hotel where the emphasis is on making the customer feel special through good service. Vicky, Thanos, Iliana the cleaners and cooks work so well together that it's difficult to appreciate how small a team they are. Always smiling, always courteous they are a credit to the hospitality business.

The other reviews tell it as it is. The hotel is very clean, the pool area is lovely and friendly, the location is excellent etc etc.

If you're going to Santorini then the Acqua Vatos deserves to be high on your list of possible places to stay.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Acqua Vatos Hotel!
Your impressions only help us to improve even more.

Hopefully to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Absolutely superb caring, gentle and friendly staff. We had the big suite and were completely satisfied. With a very nice swimming pool and a super pool-bar-lady. Also a seperate bathroom for the day you leave and already are checked out. Very close to all facitlities, shops and beaches. 20 meters from the hotel is a busstop to go easy to Fyra and Oia. For sure a hotel to advise andcertainly to come back to.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennik999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind review for Acqua Vatos Hotel.

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and you enjoyed our service and facilities.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Acqua Vatos Hotel for two weeks in August, travelling as a family with two children aged 10 and 13. We chose the hotel for a couple of reasons; firstly because of the location, but secondly because of the size of the hotel, as we try to stay away from large scale properties.

* Good Points:

Every single member of the hotel team are fantastic and always smiling, going out of their way to make sure that you have everything that you need. Faultless.

The breakfasts are excellent. All home made, with huge variation, and to a very high quality. None of us were limited with choice, and it exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was available between 8am to 11am.

The pool area was big enough to never have to struggle to get sun loungers, yet it was small enough to feel personal. No mad dash required to try and get loungers by the pool! The pool side bar is open approx. between 11am to 8pm and offers a wide range of drinks and snacks. The fruit salad is amazing.

The rooms are maintained to a high standard and are kept very clean. Towels are replenished every day, and pool towels are also available. We had two standard rooms. They are relatively small, but the space is managed well and for the time spent in them, we found the size perfectly adequate. All rooms are decorated in a light, contemporary manner, with excellent finishing touches. Fridges are in each room. There are plenty of hangers available - which was a bit of a novelty in itself! Air Con works well.

The beds are very comfortable. Good mattresses, comfortable pillows and cosy quilts. First holiday for a long time where we all felt that we slept well night after night!

Showers have good water pressure and are twin headed. No problem with availability of hot water.

Location is excellent. Approx. 200 meters to Kamari beach, supermarket pretty much opposite the hotel entrance, and a wide variety of restaurants available. The bus stop is also just across the road to the hotel.

* Not so good points:

I don't really have any... I suppose I would just point out the following...

The hotel entrance does not have a footpath leading up to it, so there is a short walk on part of the road. We didn't have a problem with this, I'd just be mindful if travelling with young children.

The resort is close to the airport, as you'll be able to tell from the transfer time. Planes come into land descending across the lower end of the beach. You can hear some aircraft noise from the pool area. Was it a problem? No. Even on a busy Tuesday flight day.

Usually come day 12 of a holiday we are looking forward to getting home, but here we could have all stayed longer. We also say that the world is too big to return to the same place, but we've made an exception. We would definitely return to the Acqua Vatos, and would recommend the hotel to friends and family without hesitation. With so much to see and do in Santorini, I suspect we'll be back before we know it. Too many 'must do's' to mention - although have to say, do the outdoor cinema!

We booked our package through Thomson. One thing I would add is our satisfaction with their excursions. Excellent tour guide Kim, worthy of a mention - although not directly related to the hotel. Very engaging, factual and interesting, with lots of local knowledge.

I'd be very surprised if you regretted staying here. Go. Enjoy. Relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWH_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Acqua Vatos Hotel!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for a week and could not fault this lovely little hotel. We arrived to a very warm welcome from Vicky with a lovely drink and information about bus services etc. In amongst this she said that our rooms would be ready in about 20 minutes . We arrived just after lunch and I think normally finding your room not ready can sometimes be a pain, but it was all delivered in such a good way that it really didn't seem a problem and we actually decided to go and have lunch by the pool while we waited. The rooms are compact and perfectly adequate. Perhaps a little more surface space might have been nice - a shelf or something to put all those lotions and potions you travel with!!! Lots of hangers in the wardrobe area were a bonus I have to say! Really though the rooms were comfy and clean and the sheets and towels were changed daily. Breakfast was a delight with choices from bread, cereals, yogurt, fruit and always something cooked to try. The staff were all lovely, friendly, warm and helpful always. We really hope to return to Santorini and really would not think to look for anywhere else to stay. It is also a stones throw from the beach and lots of lovely restaurants to choose from!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzybp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and just say how pleased we are that you had such a great time at Acqua Vatos Hotel.

Hope to see you again in the near future!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just got home from a 10 day stay at Acqua Vatos. We read some great reviews before arriving in Santorini and we were not disappointed when we got to the hotel. We were welcomed by Vicky, who gave us a welcome drink and discussed the island and areas to see whilst we were there. The staff are always so friendly and will always say hello and they always have a smile for you!

The pool area was lovely, there was no problem getting sun beds at any time during the day and there are lots of umbrellas and places of shade for people who do not like the sun! The lady who runs the pool bar was amazing and works so hard! Many of the restaurants/bars offer free wi-fi and as suggested if you buy something from the pizza restaurant across the road you can get the wifi code and this will work around the pool area.

The room was small but we expected that from reading the reviews. It has air con and a fridge although the fridge only works when you are in your room so we just used it to keep our water cool. The bathroom/wet room in our room was only one of the very few things I could complain about in this hotel. As it was very small there was no door on the shower so the whole bathroom floor got completely soaked whenever one of us had a shower, which made it very slippery. There was a towel put on the floor everyday so you could stand on that but because the floor was wet the towel became dripping and then after hanging it put to dry we had a smell of damp for hours in the bathroom. The only area of the floor that did not get wet was a small space by the door. The terrace we had was lovely, we were at the back of the hotel and the room was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we never had a bad night's sleep!!

Breakfast was ok, being served from 8-11 was fantastic for us to sleep in and there was never any feeling that we had to rush to get to breakfast before it finished. There was always bread and a toaster, with jam, honey, butter and cheese, salami, feta cheese and sundried tomatoes. There was also cornflakes, coco flakes and granola every morning with greek yoghurt. As well as this there was usually a different pie every day and also usually eggs, either fried, scrambled or omelette. Bacon was served very rarely so if you want a full english breakfast every day this breakfast is not for you but we always found something to fill us up for the day ahead.

The location of the hotel is excellent, a short walk to the beach where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The bus stop is also just around the corner and in peak season runs every 15-20mins so really easy to explore the island!! One of the best supermarkets we found was just opposite the bus stop (6 big bottles of water for 1 euro 60).

We really enjoyed our stay at Acqua Vatos and loved exploring the island of Santorini. Not only are the staff here some of the friendliest people you meet, it seems this extends to the entire island! If you are looking for a caring hotel that is close enough to bars and restaurants and transport to explore the island, without the noise of being right in the centre then this is the hotel for you!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for quieter rooms, these rooms also have a lot of shade duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Acqua Vatos Hotel!

Your impressions only help us to improve even more.

Hopefully to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

A really wonderful hotel full of extremely friendly and helpful staff. The room was a perfect size, well decorated with air conditioning and cleaned daily. The breakfast was good, served until 11, perfect for lazy mornings! The pool was a decent size with lots of sun beds, although annoyingly other people didn't follow the pool rules, which I felt were unhelpful to the staff. The bar at the pool was one of the highlights, brilliant waitress who was so friendly and made brilliant cocktails! All in all a fab little hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George-AVH, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Acqua Vatos Hotel!

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 77 in Kamari
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 77 in Kamari
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#14 of 77 in Kamari
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#10 of 77 in Kamari
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Hotel

Property: Acqua Vatos Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#22 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acqua Vatos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing