We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely staff”
Review of Acqua Vatos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We really enjoyed our time in Santorini, lovely people, fantastic food, I would say the Acqua Vatos is a good hotel in Kamari, well situated but I think my expectations were raised too much by the reviews on here maybe I expected more!


Anyhow positives: George- a funny guy and very quick to help,I got the impression he wouldn't take messsing though! His greek assistant was lovely too.
He gave us good recommendations for places to eat , all places we went to on the beach front were excellent, I would say it's better when you turn right when you reach the beach than the left side, Favourites were the Family Taverna recommended by George- he must like it too as we saw him eating there one night! We really liked the first big bar on the left too- v cute and sweet waiter- Nico!! He really looked after us! The expensive boat trip recommended by George- 48 euro each but def worth it and was v special!

The hotel looks nice on the inside and lovely at night.

The pool area is nice, enough umbrellas and comfortable sun loungers.Re previous poster who said there was no sun space- there was plenty of sun space on the right side but if you wanted sun & shade that side was by the road so a little noisy. You couldn't see the traffic just hear it but I just accepted that Kamari is a buzzy place and it's on the central route down to the beach.

Comfortable bed and great AC!

Negatives- noise by pool and a little in room- scooters!

View from room but I wasn't really bothered by that.

Room a little small and quite pricey- 100/110 euro a night.

Flipping shower curtain that would not stay in shower and so floor gets soaked but it does drain away! Think this is the greek style.

At the end of our stay a big group arrived with some rowdy children who spolit the relaxing atmosphere around the pool, we were glad this was at the end of our stay not the beginning.

The pool bar- if it was a bit more open so you didn't have go to reception to ask for drinks this would be better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daliandaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

I stayed in Acqua Vatos Hotel in July'09 with my partner. The hotel is located in Kamari. The nearest beach is quite stoney but further down it is quite nice. Kamari is one of the main beachside resorts. It is a a drive away from Oia and Fira the main attractions. I loved it as we had the best of both worlds and we were in need of a few beachy days.

The hotel itself is kept really well. The staff go out of their way to help you. The breakfast is fine and keeps you going for the day. the rooms are small but they are cleaned thouroghly. Nice touches include a 'comfortable bed' and a lovely 'duvet'. It's the little things....The swimming pool is lovely. Really big and includes a pool side bar !

My only complaint is that it was a bit costly when I compare it with other accomadation on the Greek Islands. It is peak season but the rooms are small. On the positive the staff are great, the rooms are spotless, nice balcony views, good breakfast and some lovely touches (candles are lit outside and around reception at night).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeeshaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Our 4th year at The Vatos and we were not only greeted as long lost friends but especially welcomed back to our Santorini home from home!

The hotel offers everything and more - the most helpful and generous people, lovely individually styled rooms, fantastic pool and superb location.

Trust all the excellent reviews and ignore the very few negative ones, which we fail to understand.

We feel honoured to have met George, Alina and Families and cannot recommend The Vatos Experience highly enough.

Until next year....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALIROBBIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed there almost a year ago. We were so disappointed after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews. This is our second attempt at writing a review as Trip Advisor blocked the original.
We went on a package but we travelled independently once on the island. On arrival we met the (now) famous George who was welcoming. He could not at first find our booking but after realising we were Thomson customers things changed noticeably.
Our 'room' was downsatirs and had the smallest bathroom/shower room we have ever encountered. The room was decorated quite nicely but the 'view' from the 'terrace' was a wall, largely masked by a huge tree. This meant the room was quite dark all the time.
Anyway, up to the pool for some sun. Except it is small so no sunloungers in the sun, only shade. The shaded area is right next to the main road into Kamari so you can enjoy the sweet smell of the diesel buses and traffic accompanied by loud exhausts. No pool bar or service. If you want a drink, go and disturb the renowned hosts who will serve you a drink.
The location for the beach is good, a 2 minute stroll and all the bars and restaurants are similar. Except it isn't a beach with sand, just pebbles interspersed with cigarette ends.
The breakfast is very good however, and sitting in the shaded terrace is a very pleasant way to start the day. This is the only redeeming part of the holiday.
For us, a holiday on B&B costing well over £1,000, this was very, very poor. We can only imagine the hotel is frequented by newly-weds and the like, to have posted reviews that absolutely rave about it.. We cannot possibly agree. To keep it in perspective, we have had 4 holidays abroad every year for the last 9 years so we do have some experience of travel and hotels.
The biggest disappointment was that having read all these wonderful reviews, we were so badly let down.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Having travelled extensively in Greece and stayed at all types of accommodation (from luxurious to basic!) we recommend this highly - it is stylish, extremely well run, with good attention to detail, and in a brilliant location. The owner (George), and assistant Cate could not be better hosts - it felt almost like staying in a private house. The airline lost one of our bags on the inward flight and they went to enormous lengths to recover it for us. Breakfast - on a pretty terrace- is perfect. Their hospitality, warmth and efficiency made a significant contribution to what was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My fiance and I recently stayed at the Aqua Vatos and had a fantastic time. Normally we tend to stay in 5* accommodation during our travels but due to our forthcoming wedding we wanted something cheaper - but still nice. This certainly ticked all the boxes and as a result has changed our opinions with regards always going for the 5* option. From the outset George and Kate made us feel very at home and welcome, they were more than willing to go out of their way to help.
With regards the previous review - 'whatshisface from Oxford'... to make George angry must really have taken some trying - he's so laid back! It was with a great deal of surprise we read the review.
Despite using trip advisor for a long while this is the first time we have submitted a review owing to the fact the Aqua Vatos hotel really warrants it.
As a resort Kamari was excellent - a large number of restaurant's & bars but still maintained its sophistication, the fact it isn't overrun with British lager louts is a definite plus point!
There are frequent buses to both Fira and Oia for the spectacular sunsets and higher class restaurants - with the views over the caldera being amazing!! A taxi back to Kamari after 23:00 is 10 euros.
To summarise, go there - you won't be disappointed. We'd love to return!!

Rob and Maria.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnybisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We've used Tripadvisor many times and found so many fantastic places. This hotel just doesn't live up to its reviews and seems terribly overpriced. There are lots of package holidaymakers here and maybe they get a cheap price. We had a superior room for 90 euros per night and it just was not up to standard at all. We've stayed in all types of accomo from low, mid to high range and this place didn't match the price. The shower room was tiny and smelly and you couldn't sit facing forward on the toilet due to a lack of space, the sink was leaking, the sink was heavily blocked, the shower sprayed everywhere, the aircon didn't work properly, the room looked worn, the balcony was tiny with a view through a few trees to the road and faced onto someone else etc... The rules for guests include: no swimming after 8pm and cctv is watching you. When we asked the owner, George, if this really was a superior room he got so angry and gave us a huge, angry lecture. It was very shocking to be treated like this. We had booked for eight nights and asked to stay for two nights and cancel the remainder. He asked us to go away and he'd let us know what he'd decided. He never got back to us and ignored us and even gave us a telling off again when we went to speak to him! We ended up paying full price for the two nights and then half price for the six nights that we'd cancelled. The room was not up to standard and hence the terms and conditions had really been breached, however, we just wanted to leave with minimum hassle, and to enjoy the rest of our holiday so we paid up.
To balance this review:
The breakfast is good and yes, the hotel does look nice when it's lit with candles and not seen in full day light. Maybe if you get this hotel at a lower price as part of package and have no complaints then George won't have a tantrum. I've seen amongst the glowing reviews, some people that have experienced the same as us.
Incidentally, we stayed elsewhere in superior accomo in Oia and then in some basic, very cheap accomodation on another island in Greece and both had excellent rooms/bathrooms/facilities/staff.
We lost money on this trip but were glad we moved out of Acqu Vatos. It really felt like Faulty Towers!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank radiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#14 of 75 in Kamari
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anna Traditional Apartments
0.6 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#35 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Hotel

Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#22 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £47 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acqua Vatos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing