We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Brilliant"”
Review of Epavlis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Epavlis Hotel
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a wonderful holiday at this brilliant gem of an hotel. The staff were excellent and the room was cleaned every day. There was a great choice at breakfast. The beach is 5 mins away as is the main resort. The road to ancient Thira is behind the hotel which is a good walk if you enjoy that sort of thing. Catching the Sunrise from the pool area is a must. There are little courtyard areas and the pool is great as is the gym, Jacuzzi and free Wifi. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinsSpurs1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Epavlis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

I have a 3 night reservation at this hotel and can't get to the island due to the government strike in Greece that is shutting down all the flights. The hotel won't even give me a refund except for the first night. I can't even get to the hotel due to a strike and they still want money from me. Talk about bad customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank buglightyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpavlisHotel, Manager at Epavlis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guest, we would like to answer to your review by saying first of all, that not the hotel was prepaid but the agency you've booked with. Secondly, we agreed to cancel your first night free of charge because of the strike and the other two nights have a 50% cancellation fee, like it says at the agreement when you confirmed your booking. Please do not indicate we would not refund, because we did!! The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very good hotel and we liked our stay.It is not far from the beach, I think 5-7 minutes walk. It just were the road to Ancient Thira starts, a little bit outside of the city but because of thay is quiet, and it has a very nice view, especially at sunrise. Nice rooms, great breakfast, great pool.

Wifi is just at the loby. Car park is free outside hotel.

Room Tip: See view worth the money
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank user751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is beautifully kept - pristine, good quality, value for money. Excellent choice for breakfast; rooms a good size with good, clean furnishings AND plenty of storage and hanging space including hangers!! All kinds of homely bits and pieces around the place, family owned and very comfortable and welcoming. All the staff are helpful and pleasant. Good facilities with in the hotel as well. Downside for some people is the long 'drag' up the hill to the hotel then 24 steps to reception then however many steps to your room. My friend and I were delighted with the exercise and hoped it showed when we got home! Others may find it more tiresome in the heat. It does say not suitable for people with mobility problems and they are right. Bathroom only has a light over the mirror and can make the room a bit dark. Other than that - nothing to really complain about! Resort itself - Kamari - is fabulous. Very romantic, lots of the blue and white tavernas, pedestrianised beach front area with tavernas on the beach side and shops, bars, hotels on the other. A good mixture. 2 or 3 English bars at the far end of the beach front. Nice little town with plenty going on but with lovely quiet areas as well. Great places to visit but all hilly around the island. Beautiful, beautiful place to go and very relaxing if you don't want to go far.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We have just returned from a truly stunning week in Santorini, made all the more idyllic by our stay at the Epavlis Hotel.

Firstly the hotel itself was fantastic...all of our expectations were exceeded. We stayed in two adjacent rooms with spectacular views towards the sea & evenings on the balconies were a delight. The rooms were spacious with a good air conditioning system; vital for a bit of a cool down from the sweltering heat outside!! There were generous sized fridges & safes in the rooms. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily, with fresh towels & fresh bedlinen each day. The pool was fab...we had a refreshing swim every morning - usually undisturbed. The hotel reception has two computers with free internet access. The hotel was situated at the end of the town & up a little bit of a hill but not at all a struggle. Worth it for the peace & quite away from the beach front & restaurants of the town. The walk back was very welcoming after a dinner in the town (portion sizes are extremely generous!).

Secondly, the staff. The staff at the Epavlis could not have been better. Warmly welcomed by Kathrin & her colleagues upon our arrival - this was continued throughout the week. They were extremely helpful with any queries/advice; it made our stay all the more relaxing.

The Epavlis Hotel is suited to couples and older families...there was one younger family whilst we were there but the hotel really caters well for guests who are after a relaxing & peaceful week. We were a family of four, 19, 21 & parents.

Would return & recommend highly. A great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Epavlis for seven nights and it was a fantastic place. The hotel is located at the hill side with an incredible sea view. The pool and the sun lounger were absolute clean and comfortable. The same applies for the rooms and the beds. It is the perfect place for relaxation! No annoying traffic, absolutely quiet. Last but not least, we like to thank all the open hearted and always helpful hotel stuff and especially the owners of the hotel. When we arrived and first saw the hotel room with a double bed inside, we asked (the owner) at the reception if there is a chance to get another room with two single beds. Next morning during we had breakfast, they took all our luggages and staff and moved them to the new room automatically. We will definitely come back...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

What more can I say but ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!. My family and myself really didn;t want to come away. The hotel was in a beautiful location, it was up a steep hill but a gentle stroll and it was fine. The views from the hotel when you got there were the best to be seen you would not appreciate the view from a hotel further down. We were made to feel right at home as soon as we arrived. All of the staff and the owners were great and very friendly, they were always on hand and willing to help if there was a problem. The hotel itself was impeccable every day the floors were cleaned, towels and sheets changed. We had the breakfast there every day and were very happy with the selection on offer. This is the first hotel EVER We have been to and found NOTHING to moan about. Kamari itself was beautiful and the sea crystal clear along the beach front there were plenty of restaurants and we had a good meal at everyone we tried (especially the fresh past restaurant can't remeber the name but at night time the chef makes the pasta at the front entrance). We did travel by boat to Perrisa one day the beach is kinder to your feet but the sea is not as nice (the boat that takes you here goes every 40 mins and is 4 euros per person each way) it is a beautiful ride and worth the money. We also went to the North of the Island on a Thomas Cook trip, this was brillaint as we ended in Oia (pronounced ear) for the sunset which is magnificent. We certainly look forward to going back and telling lots of friends about it. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#23 of 75 in Kamari
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.8 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epavlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epavlis Hotel

Address: Kamari 84 500, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £59 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Epavlis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location overlooking Kamari bay, this luxurious hotel offers 2 pools including a heated one, and rooms with beautiful views of the bay.All the rooms are fully equipped and include an LCD TV with satellite channels, a fridge and air conditioning. Some rooms also include hot tub bathtubs and DVD players.The Epavlis has its own spa area which features a mini gym, heated pool, as well as hammam and sauna facilities. It is just 150 meters from the beach.The friendly front desk of the Epavlis Hotel operates on a 24-hour basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Epavlis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epavlis Hotel Kamari
Epavlis Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing