We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Kamari”
Review of Epavlis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Epavlis Hotel
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Kamari”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

All the reviews of this hotel we found to be absolutely true! See......TA does tell the truth you doubters......We have just returned from a 10 night stay and cannot fault it..
Set just above the resort , nestling into the rising cliffs , it made the hotel feel cosy, safe and in it's own exclusive terraced setting. Just consider the uphill walk and stairs .
The owners actually work on site , and were attentive and efficient ,leaving us a comp bottle of wine in our room which is always nice..On arrival we were given a room with a hot tub on the balcony for our first 3 nights, which we hadn't booked...so a Bargain very happilly received. Reception staff ( Katherine)was always able to advise and help 2 middled aged duffers like us,Nice to have staff running a hotel that you actually have confidence in and whom you feel you could approach with any query, including whether it was worth reading all 3 EL James books.( N0 !!) . The guests ranged from honey mooners and 50 + couples (Us) from all around Europe and the mix worked well. No families as schools had gone back, but it does cater for family groups as well! As there seemed to us to be plenty of weddings happening around Santorini, the EPAVALIS would be good bet indeed for small family groups on a Wedding bash.
Hotel situation very convenient, for beach , ( 3 mins) Tavernas, and all amenities .The rooms are all well appointed, plenty of space, good bathrooms, balconies and immaculately serviced daily.Linen,towels frequently changed, and your room tidied ! The pool and surrounds also VG .Finally, the buffet breakfast was varied ,and set outside under an arched terrace in the sun.
All round , the EPAVALIS more than deserves it's 4 stars ,thank you for a wonderful holiday .

Room Tip: choose a sea view room with or without jacuzzi. Some rooms have four poster beds for the romantics!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkPGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    122
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
64
240
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We cannot fault the Epavlis Hotel and it helped to make our honeymoon perfect.

The hotel was immaculate, it was extremely clean and nothing looked tired and in need of replacing, the cleaning staff made sure everywhere was spotless. They not only cleaned our room thoroughly but tidied it as was, they were lovely and very friendly.

The pool area was of the same high standards as the rest of the hotel and looked out over Kamari and the sea. If you get up around 7am and go down to the pool you will see a stunning sunrise. We didn't use the pool bar but we saw lots of people eating from their menu at lunch time, the hotel does not have a restaurant however the bar does offer drinks, snacks and lunch.

There was a huge selection at breakfast, drinks, hot and cold food, cereals, fruit, Greek yoghurt and honey (of course) breads, cakes and pastries. Being Lactose intolerant I thought there might not be a great deal for me to eat but I was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is set back from the main beach front but that was a plus for us making it quiet and private, a lot of the hotels along the beach front are open for the public to walk past and see right into the pool areas. It took us about 3 minutes to walk down to the beach and the same time to walk to the restaurants, bars and shops. There is a hill to walk to get to the the hotel and there are many steps in the hotel but we didn't find them a problem at all, if anything it is good exercise after all the beautiful Greek food.

The Epavlis is an excellent hotel and I am glad we picked it for our honeymoon, we will definitely be returning to see some of the sites we didn't have time for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mambogoddess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Arrived back from staying at the Epavlis last night after a lovely holiday. The hotel as far as my husband and myself are concerned surpassed itself from the decor, cleanliness, breakfast and very friendly staff. We were quite surprised at the size of our room and for once had more than adequate storage which in a lot of hotels is somewhat lacking. The view was amazing!! I must admit though I didn't think I had walking difficulties but soon found out that when walking up the that incline (for want of a better word) during the day with the sun beating down, it does become a task, even when walking back at night it can become a little tiring to say the least. The night life itself is just at the right distance from the hotel and is, therefore, in a quiet location. There are many tavernas to choose from to eat but we did find our favourite and ate there for most of our holiday. All in all had a good time. Would we return to the Epavlis, a big definite. Would we return to Santorini possibly but only for a week and not two.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Upon our arrival we were shown such a welcome katherine ( reception) and also hotel manager was just fantastic. Her words were if you need anything or not happy with anything just ask us and ask we did. Katherine went above and beyond her duties with us even sorting out a ferry to Athens.
The rooms within the Epavlis are well furnished and clean. We stayed in room 103 which has a amazing view of the sea and town. The hotel is stunningly clean and well organised. I have never been to a hotel where all the staff seam genuinely willing to help. The room cleaners were just amazing.
The hotel has room service and is available 24hours.
The breakfast is just amazing it's nice to go down to a buffet breakfast and find that it is always fully stocked and most importantly fresh.
There is a pool bar and the views from the bar are great.
I'd like to say that the hotel owner has got it right the Epavlis hotel is chilled and relaxed catering for all. It's within easy walking distance to the beach and the bars and restaurants.
Would I come back to this hotel again?? Yes without a doubt it's one of the best on the Island.
Thank you Kathrine for really making my holiday.

Room Tip: Room 103 is where I stayed Amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I were quite taken by the photos and reviews that we saw on Trip Advisor and had no hesitation in booking the hotel for 6 nights. We did read that there were a large number of steps to the rooms and were not concerned.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner. Well greeting is a stretch of the imagination. There was no welcome or even a hello, just a rundown on reporting any problems, pointed where and when breakfast was and that was it. Very cold and matter of fact. We had booked a double room and on entering the room we noticed that there were two single beds, made as single beds and pushed together. I reported this to reception and was simply told you can move next door. No explanation and I am still wondering whether they were banking on me not complaining. Our room had an excellent sea view and the short walk to the beach was fine.

Throughout our stay dealing with the owner made us feel as if we were intruding in her hotel. I was witness to two occasions where the owner loudly abused hotel guests. I was quite appalled at other times with the way the owner addressed her guests.

The saving grace for the hotel was the manager Katrine. You would go very far to find a more helpful person. Approachable and always ready to help with a permanent smile on her face. She made the stay enjoyable.

We enjoyed the breakfast but we found the rooms to be small for the price and considering the attitude of the owner we cannot honestly recommend this hotel. Which is a shame as we loved Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BillnDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Fantastic hotel with fantastic staff. Hotel is set well back from the main hustle and bustle of the main drag of Kamari. That being said it's within easy walking distance if not a little hilly! Definitely go for a sea view room as these are stunning. We were in 144 which was up a lot of steps but well worth the effort! Views over the whole of the beach, and no one above or behind you, only the road up to Ancient Thira. Rooms are clean and despite our rep stating that most hotels only clean the room every few days ours was turned down every day and they replaced toilet rolls and toiletries as and when required (something else we were told didn't happen). The receptionist is a pleasure to talk to as are all the staff. Many thanks for making a special holiday just that little bit more so.

Room Tip: Sea view all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Only positives for this hotel. I am very picky when it comes to accommodation-some would say OCD about cleanliness etc! Our room was cleaned daily to a very high standard-so impressed.

We upgraded to a room with a Jacuzzi tub and sun loungers on our extended balcony (Room 127). This made the holiday for us-we could chill out in our own space, however the hotel did not feel overly busy or cramped and the best thing was that there were no children! The hotel was set back about 5-10 minutes from the beach and the main restaurants. As we were making stops during the transfer from the airport, I was pleased with our choice as the hotels nearer the beach and the main hub of activity looked close together and crowded.

The resort of Kamari itself was well kept, clean and has a lovely atmosphere. It wasn't typical Brits abroad and we only saw one English bar offering full English breakfast. Very refreshing. The remainder of the restaurants are traditional Greek tavernas serving delicious food. Try Gyros and tomato balls-a local Santorini delicacy.

It's worth hiring a car and exploring the rest of the Island, especially Oia/Fira for the sunsets. We had a car over three days and that was plenty-it is quite a small island! There are lots of lovely bakeries dotted around the island the further you get out of the resorts.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room, hire a car at check out the sunsets and try Gyros and tomato balls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#5 of 11 in Perivolos
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#23 of 75 in Kamari
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#16 of 75 in Kamari
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epavlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epavlis Hotel

Property: Epavlis Hotel
Address: Kamari 84 500, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Epavlis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location overlooking Kamari bay, this luxurious hotel offers 2 pools including a heated one, and rooms with beautiful views of the bay.All the rooms are fully equipped and include an LCD TV with satellite channels, a fridge and air conditioning. Some rooms also include hot tub bathtubs and DVD players.The Epavlis has its own spa area which features a mini gym, heated pool, as well as hammam and sauna facilities. It is just 150 meters from the beach.The friendly front desk of the Epavlis Hotel operates on a 24-hour basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Epavlis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epavlis Hotel Kamari
Epavlis Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing