We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel in our opinion”
Review of Epavlis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Epavlis Hotel
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a week staying at the Epavlis. The hotels' strengths are it's junior staff in Reception, the bar and the cleaners. They were fantastic! The batman ( who has since left) was amazing, he never stopped working and was loved by all the guests. Unfortunately that affection was not shared by the owners.

The downside to Eplavis has to be the surly attitude of the owner. She was rude to my wife and extremely rude, and quite aggressive, to another guest who behaved impeccably throughout. Very sad and disappointing on our last day. This was reported to the travel company.

The position of the hotel is lovely, with amazing views. However, my wife really struggled with the amount of steps around the hotel. For most people this is not an issue but we feel that it should be highlighted much more.

Lots of positives about this hotel but sadly, some negatives as well.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs/steps then make sure you mention this when making a booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0nathan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epavlis, Manager at Epavlis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jonathan,
First of all you had booked 2 standard rooms and because you had originally booked to another hotel and you got relocated to ours we gave you very nice rooms that were side Sea View. When you got upgraded to a jacuzzi room we did not say anything about using the private jacuzzi after your check out that was 12 o'clock and you stayed there till 4 o'clock although we were waiting other clients and it had to be cleaned. The fact that the owner was rude and aggressive to another client of the hotel (if she ever was) it can be reported by the actual client. It is true that the owner pleased you to make a little faster on the showers because they were other clients in the reception complaining that they were waiting a long time and you were very upset about that. You say that the owner was rude to your family but you know it's not true. The fact that you were very close to the barman (especially a member of your family) and he said to you bad things about us and you came to a conclusion it is irrelevant and not objective. What was the problems between us and the barman it is our job and you cannot tell for sure if he was good to his job because you don't know why everything happened and what were his responsibilities.
Best regards,
Manager of Epavlis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in June 2014. It should have been for 7 nights but we were greeted with the news that our room was double booked and so we would be spending 5 nights in a different hotel. This 'recently renovated' was actually a partly renovated small studio apartment which was not what we had booked or paid for! After contacting our tour operator (thank you British Airways) we were moved back to the Epavlis after only one night.

From then on the holiday improved but we did not feel the service reflected the price we had paid. The staff seemed indifferent and the best feature of the hotel was its location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epavlis, Manager at Epavlis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Mr Martyn,
You made your reservation through British Airways with which we do not cooperate and your reservation was sent to us through another travel agency. With this agency we had a stop sales from the 15th of March and when they sent us your reservation on the 20th of March we informed them that we did not have availability and asked them to talk with you and find another hotel but they refused. So you just had to stay for 1 night in another hotel and for that inconvenience we offered you a car for this day. We also explained to you about the problem, apologized and try to help, i do not think we were indifferent. For the best whenever you have a problem during your vacation it is better to discuss with the Reception or the manager of the hotel and be sure that we will always try to do the best to help you.
Best,
Manager of Epavlis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May 2014.

The best thing about this hotel is the sea view. It is beautiful. I’m afraid this and the daily changing of bedding/towels are the only positive points about my stay. This is by no means a 4 star hotel. I’m not sure how this rating came about. It must be based solely on the views. I remain dumbfounded by all the positive reviews about this hotel.

First of all there is pretty much ZERO customer service. I found this more of an issue with the more mature lady on the reception desk. We did not feel comfortable approaching her about anything as she was pretty miserable.

The hotel is almost impossible to find as the signage is in Greek.

While the view from the room was great, we had sun loungers directly facing our balcony. This meant that we could not get any privacy on the balcony and people where gathering outside as soon as the sun came up - talking loudly, smoking and generally disturbing the peace (and spoiling the view).

The room was poorly structured. It basically looks like it was built on the cheap. The décor is not particularly welcoming. There was a random broken fridge in the room that looked like it was about 20 years old. The TV had not been tuned and there was no tea and coffee facilities as you would expect from a ‘4 star’ hotel. There is also no minibar, no water - just nothing!

The breakfast (if you can call it that) is absolutely appalling. It was inedible actually. They did have lots of variety but it was not fresh and was pretty tasteless. For example the ‘fresh’ orange juice was actually poorly mixed cordial. The bread was so hard, I could have used it for bricks to build a house. We ended up leaving the hotel to get breakfast in Fira each morning. Such a shame as they could reduce the variety and improve the quality. In Greece there are many fresh ingredients that they could use to create a wonderful food.

The hotel claims to have Wi-Fi access. What Wi-Fi? We had the sit in the reception area for it to work and even when we got a connection, it kept dropping out when the receptionist was using it. Slightly ridiculous!

Needless to say, we will never stay here again.



I

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelbunnycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 8 days in May in room 124. Which is one of the lower rooms. The room was cleaned regularly as well as bedding and towels on a daily basis. We did have a few 'bugs' on a few occasions in the room, but it's expected in a warmer climate.

B&B was great. Breakfast served was always slightly different, always hot and well stocked even near the end. Even with cakes too!

The pool was on the small size but it was fine (very clean), the sun loungers around the pool went very quickly if you didn't get your towel out before breakfast, so on a few days we either had to make do on a chair or head to the beach.

Location of the hotel is great, it's minutes from the seafront as well as all the restaurants and shops. Yes there is a very steep incline back to the hotel, but it's not unmanageable. The view you get of Kamari makes it worthwhile.

Hotel staff are good, the guys behind the bar can't do enough for you. The younger girl on reception was really knowledgeable about things to do, the only negative is the older lady on reception. She came across as rude a few times, especially compared it others. But it didn't affect our stay.

Only thing I'd recommend is having a few more utensils back at the room. We were only B&B but yet had a fridge and a kitchenette area (no sink), but only two glasses. No cutlery and no plates.

However overall a good hotel. I'd stay here again, if we ever came back to Santorini.

Room Tip: They didn't have any hot tub room lefts which was disappointing at first, however it was still g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claireebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Epavlis in may this year.We booked a room with a hot tub and sea view it was definitely worth it for what we paid our room was lovely and french doors opened up to a terrace with the hot tub.We stayed in room 111.As mentioned in prevoius reviews the hotel is very clean,the rooms are cleaned and tidied & towels are changed every day.The hotel is on the edge of kamari just below the path to ancient theira .We did the walk on a cooler day and glad we did the pathway is steep in parts and took us about a hour to walk up, we did keep stopping for rests and to take pictures though.you could take a donkey ride up there or hire a quad bike for about €18 euro a day this is a good way to see kamari and other parts of the resort.There is also a boat from the beach (which is a short walk from the hotel with a slight incline ) to the next resort thirisa for €4 each way. We booked a tour to visit the valcano-hot springs & the sunset in oia the cheapest excursion we found was with Dakoutros which is down a side street from the beach front,it was a long day from 10:30 until after the sunset but worth it to say we went to oia which is very exclusive & seen the famous sunset.I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as it has the best views from the poolside.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Epavlis for 10 nights as our honeymoon, and it was one of the best holidays we ever had so far. The hotel is amazing., beautiful rooms, stunning views from every corner of the hotel, the staff are all lovely and helpful.
We went for half board (booked via hotels4u) and I think it's the best to do since the island is a little bit expensive, especially around Fira and Oia. Breakfasts were fantastic, dinners were marvelous at Atmosphere Restaurant (pre starter, starter, main, dessert). We can only recommend Epavlis hotel, it is really a hidden gem in Kamari, and definitely one of the best hotels in Santorini. We'll miss the staff and the place a lot. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Edit & Adrian

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Edit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Last summer we finally decided to visit one of the most beautiful islands in the world. We heard that the prices of the hotels were too high and people not that very friendly. But on our arrival what we found was completely different, we loved the stuff from the first moment since they treeted us like family. The room was to say the least wonderful!!!! Moreover i cannot tell enough about the view and epecially the food...yam!
I definatelly recomment uncoditionally Epavlis Hotel to those who want to have the best holiday of their life... We will come again soon!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kartherina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#18 of 75 in Kamari
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#6 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epavlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epavlis Hotel

Address: Kamari 84 500, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £67 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Epavlis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location overlooking Kamari bay, this luxurious hotel offers 2 pools including a heated one, and rooms with beautiful views of the bay.All the rooms are fully equipped and include an LCD TV with satellite channels, a fridge and air conditioning. Some rooms also include hot tub bathtubs and DVD players.The Epavlis has its own spa area which features a mini gym, heated pool, as well as hammam and sauna facilities. It is just 150 meters from the beach.The friendly front desk of the Epavlis Hotel operates on a 24-hour basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Epavlis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epavlis Hotel Kamari
Epavlis Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing