We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filoxenia - get to know it right here”
Review of Villa Ostria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Ostria
Ranked #25 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Kamari
Reviewed 9 December 2007

This review might read like payed for - it is. It was payed for with a genuine experience in one of the most tourist-runover places in the world.
We stayed at the Villa Ostria Hotel in end of season 2006. I know it's a bit late for review, but hey - avrio, as the greeks would say.

We chose the place mainly for a lack of money, and were rewarded with our best location on santorini yet.

A couple of days ago I called the owner, because I've lost the EMail adress, and he remembered us in a second - just by my first name. Alright, we did spend some time with him - we've been taught tavoli, one of the greek backgammon versions, and drowned a couple of souvlakis with a little amount of beer.

No, it's not a party hotel - it's just that famous greek hospitality known as "filoxenia". We've never encountered it that openly, in a beautifully relaxed and quiet place.


The Hotel complex is located right at the foot of the Mesa Vuono, a nice short stroll to the beach. While there is sun during daytime, there's welcomed shade in the the evening, and everything stays nice and cool, even without a/c.
As Kamari is one of the less expensive tourist centers on santorini, not being right at the promenade this is a plus, not a drawback - all hotels right at the beach are right at the promenade as well, lots of them have the pool facing the promenade. The Ostria, on the other hand, has a beautiful atrium-like garden, all of the buidings are traditionally scattered around it, some with their own sundeck, some with a private backyard terrace. It's calm, and a beautiful retreat from the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and well kept, have a small kitchenette, some of them sport a sofa and seperate bed with a brick built basis (perfectly comfortable!).

Kostas and Family (His wife and two kids, daughter is 16 months now son is somewehere around 4 years old) are living on the premises and are doing everything themselfes, his father is helping out with the gardening.

Alright, what could some people think of as a drawback? There is no restaurant or breakfast service, which means you have the choice of all nice restaurants in kamari. There is no pool, but you're welcome to use the nicely - set pool of a hotel right opposite of the ostria, and welcome you are. We never once felt like "guests from the other hotel there". The kitchen and bathrooms are older, but absolutely (!) not substandard, and again spotlessly clean.

What I'm about to say is, I love this place. Alright, there's places more luxurious when you're speaking facilities. But never I did encounter a place more lovable. We've spent three nights in athens right before coming to the ostria, in a 5-Star 250 bucks per night marble palace, concierge and everything. Would I have to choose, I'd choose the ostria, gladly. On Santorini, you won't get closer to greece than at the ostria.

We're about to spend our honeymoon there in April 2008 - even my wife, who likes the odd bit of luxury, never questioned our hotel on santorini even once. It's the ostria, full stop.



Other nice things to go to, my recommendation:
Lucky's souvlakis, right on the main road in Thira
Cassanova bar & hotel, Thira as well
Tipi, cycladic jewelery shop, Oia
Dolphin's Restaurant, northern area of kamari promenade

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Buskbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2006

A handful of well-equipped studios and apartments, beautifully arranged around a lovingly-tended garden, in contrast to the formal, rectangular hotels which predominate in Kamari. A quiet Cycladic oasis, screened from busy Kamari but with fabulous views of the great limestone slab of mountain behind, which itself provides some welcome evening shade.
Very convenient for a good bakery, supermarket, and the well-priced Sellada taverna. Try the walk up the zigzag path (not the zigzag road) to the Zoodohous Piyis church, cave and spring for spectacular views of Kamari.
Run by the very friendly, chatty, enthusiastic Kostas - PS congratulations on your new daughter!
Easy to book online on their website.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cretewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

Villa Ostria provided us with a peacful haven from the hustle and bustle of Kamari.

In a town where every other shop is a motorbike rental outlet being able to walk without a revving 50cc engine behind you is a must. The gardens of Villa Ostria provide this outlet.

The Villa can be found at the south of Kamari below the mass of Profitas Ilias, the mountain that dominates the skyline behind the town. However, blink and you'll miss the entrance which has a wooden arch bearing the name of the villa.

I do not think that I have seen a better presented garden anywhere in Greece. Kostas, the owner, and his father will be found in the early morning or evening tending to the garden which is one of the major attractions of this apartment complex.

There are only a handful of apartments/studios at Villa Ostria which adds to the intimacy and privacy of the setting. We were lucky enough to have apartment 3 which benfited from having a small patio to the rear by the kitchen, to catch the sun in the morning, access to the garden from the bedroom, to catch the sun the afternoon, and a front patio with table and chairs to catch the last rays of the sun before it disappeared behind the mountain (on it's way to satisfy the queues waiting for a sunset at Oia, no doubt!).

Kostas made us feel very welcome at the Villa, occaisionally leaving some fruit from the garden on the table outside the front door in the morning. I do not think that I have ever heard a Greek laugh so much!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank The_Collector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

We stayed in an apartment (nr.3) with our two teenage children. The owner, Kostas, was a genuiney nice and helpful host, found a bike and surfboard to use for my son, brought us tomatoes from the garden ++. Beautiful garden, quiet but central situated, nice and clean and good equipped apartments. Our children loved using hotel Matinas pool, just steps away. We would absolutely like to stay in villa Ostria again!


10  Thank femalemember-Hamarøy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank francesca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
262
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
469 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#17 of 75 in Kamari
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#3 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Santorini Kastelli Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ostria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ostria

Address: Kamari 874 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Kamari
Price Range: £34 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ostria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ostria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ostria Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing