We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel at affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel at affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Hippocampus for 2 nights for a wedding on the island. It really is a home from home. Comfortable beds. Amazing value for the price. Staff could not do enough for you. Clean, modern, friendly, and a relaxed atmosphere. One minute from the beach and restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room for three adults and it was plenty big enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed here in September 2012 and this was my first visit to Santorini. I am pleased that I stayed in Kamari - it is easy to get a bus to other parts of the island but there are plenty of restaurants and shops in Kamari if you want to stay near your hotel. Hotel was easy to find and very close to the beach. Room was very clean and breakfast was good.

Beware grumpy ticket collectors on the buses. It was so obvious I was a tourist and wanted to get off at Kamari - the bus started its return journey with me still on it and I was dumped by the side of the road to find my own way back to Kamari. Rude.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottheusernameiwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Hippocampus was perfect for us - amazing price given it is only 1 minute walk to the beach! Clean, comfortable, modern bathroom and good space. Our host was very friendly and provided a basic (compared to 5star hotel buffet breakfasts that is) but yummy breakfast! The greek yoghurt was the best. DEFINITELY recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Nice spot, near the sea and restaurants. Price is very good compared to quality you get. It is a family owned hotel ans it really does show. They will take good care of you. Breakfast was ok. Pool area was very nice and calm. I would definitely go to this hotel again!

Room Tip: There are old rooms which are very simple but clean. With a small extra payment you can get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esboare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were in this hotel second time in a row and it is situated in nice village named Kamari. Hotel is really great with a nice quite big curvy pool. Rooms are neat and clean, but one thing is not good, Aurinkomatkat has booked only downstairs rooms to us finns and if we like to have a modern room or upper floor, we have to booked it from the net direct without using travel agency and those rooms are more expensive than rooms booked by Aurinkomatkat.

All though Aurinkomatkat travel agency shows on their web sites these better rooms and in their location katalogue says, that all rooms have divited equally with all travel agencies who use this hotel, but in real life, situation is not that. We had a room beside a pool, which was very nice, but parking area against a hotel is not good, it has trash bins, what garbage trucks were cleared from trashes very early in the morning 5-6am!

Okay, we do not complain more, because this family run hotel is so nice and staff are friendly and they speak very good english, especially daughter and mother, who are operative leaders.

I have so much to say about this beautiful hotel and i want to highlight that breakfast is one of the best, which we ever have had in greek hotels, it is not just coffee/tea with bread, ham and cheese, it is so much more, breakfast buffet and you have to see yourself!

And finally, all plants, flowers etc. are so well taken care of and so beautiful to watch.

Ps. These photos are from our 1st visit in this hotel 2011!

Room Tip: Hotel has a side building were are very nice rooms, especially families and groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maza61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Hippocampus hotel is situated in Kamari; next to the beach - near the capital Fira. When we arrived at Hippocampus, we were welcomed with opened arms from the family-run hotel. They quickly showed us to our room and my first thoughts were: (Pros) 1) Very modern. 2) Air conditioning works very well. 3) Big bathroom. (Cons) 1) Small kitchen. 2) No view from balcony. 3) All beds were in one room (however the room wasn't small). Breakfast was included in our package, and I'm very glad it was as it was delicious. They offered a Greek-style-buffet including coffee, water, juice, a variety of fruits, thick Greek yogurt, a range of bread, seasonal products from their farm (when we were their there was cucumbers, tomatoes, feta cheese and eggs), hams, cheeses, biscuits and cakes. Hippocampus only offers breakfast. After breakfast, Arthemis (part of the staff) would recommend her favourite parts of the island and inform us on the best form of transport to get their and return. I think this is why we enjoyed our holiday so much as we found the best parts of the Santorini while visiting interesting museums and finding the best restaurants. In the evening, we were told the best restaurants to go to, with sensible prices. The hospitality of Hippocampus was lovely, and everyone was very trustworthy. I would recommend people to go to Hippocampus if they are visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags99m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hotel is situated just half a minute walk from Kamari beach where close by you can also take up water sports such as kite board e.t.c. The hotel is absolutely fabulous in many senses. The pool is not too large, in a curved shape, with a maximum depth of 1m65. A pool sign says "no diving" however many kids still do so. There is a container of items to play with beside the pool from buckets and spades to balls plus they also have a lilo and a doughnut ring. There is usually nobody around 9am in the pool so a morning swim alone before breakfast is entirely possible. From breakfast, many guests decide to sit by the pool and relax all day until about 6 - 7pm.
Breakfast is a Greek buffet including sweet and savoury dishes. There are an assortment of drinks including water, juice, tea and coffee. Savoury dishes including the regular assortment of bread, a couple of types of ham, a couple of types of cheese, plus fresh tomatoes (many times from their own garden) and cucumber, as well as either hard-boiled eggs or omelettes (usually with either ham inside or rosemary). Sweet dishes (and usually highly popular) is the fruit (most likely canned peaches with either fresh watermelon or fruit salad) with whipped greek yoghurt. Delicious! There is also cereal, milk, and honey for wherever you would like it. They also have a "tin" of greek biscuits of four types, a particular favourite being the circular one with sesame seeds and raisins- Scrumptious! A perfect brekkie.
The rooms are cleaned daily with always a change of bedsheets and they leave the quilt and another bedsheet neatly folded at the end of your bed for you to do yourself should you even want them. Air conditioning can be left running throughout the whole day if you ask for a second key card and just leave one in the electrical slot. The cleaner however may remove them as the hotel does not want to waste money and air conditioning can be quite pricey! Any electrical appliance will only work in the room if you have the key in the electrical slot, to the left of the front door, where you might expect a light switch perhaps. In our room, we had a "kitchen" however this was very minimal with a fridge, sink and one little stove for minimalistic cooking. We were given four plates, four smaller plates, forks, knives and spoons, a few items such as small pans and bowls. The tap water from Santorini by the way is "edible" in the sense that you will not get ill by drinking it however it tastes pretty horrible, like dirty mildy salty sea water (speaking from personal experience). As a tip therefore, i would buy yourself a 6 pack of water to keep in the fridge if you are staying for a while. The bathroom had a nice shower, sink and toilet. We had one problem during our two week stay whereby whenever we used the shower or sink, it's water used would float out from the draining hole in the middle of the bathroom, mildly flooding the room, drifting off into the next room if it had been a long shower. We told the hotel and within the next 12 hours, it was fixed! Hey presto! Not another problem! At one point during the holiday, we took out another key (our third) and as a heads up, it only works for 24 hours. There afterwards, it does not work and will not let you into your room (however many times you scan the face). The security per room is very good and despite the typical "the maid could just steal our belongings when cleaning!" scenario, this never occurred and i don't think anyone should even fear such a scenario at this hotel.
The family at this hotel are wonderful. Artemis is very good at speaking English and was able to give us a mini-tour of what to see and do in Santorini. The family booked our taxis and were generally very happy to help with anything. Daily, we asked Artemis to re-boot the wifi (which you can only get great signal by the reception, should you be in a separate building like we were) and in most cases, she did it immediately without complaining, even if she was in the middle of typing something e.t.c. (of course we never asked though whilst she was with a hotel guest). There are animals around the hotel including a couple of dogs and cats pop in regularly. They are all very tame and loveable so do not fear them ! There are many wandering dogs and cats about Santorini, typical mediterranean quality, and i never came across an angry one - they're all so relaxed!

Room Tip: Some end up facing the courtyard with the parking lot to the left- not much difference in atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rinny96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#16 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Property: Hotel Hippocampus
Address: Main Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing