We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing days at beautiful Santorini”
Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing days at beautiful Santorini”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Well equipped room, hotel is perfectly located - close to the beach, shopping facilitys and nice restaurants. The bus station (connection to Firá and Oía) is also around the corner. Nice and helpful staff. Huge pool with lots of deckchairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Cook_LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for my daughters wedding in June, Artimus was great she helped us sort out so many things in the 10 days we were there.(nothing to do with the hotel). The hotel was idealy located only a very short walk to the beach. The hotel was really light and airy and very clean and if there were any problems with the rooms they were sorted straight away. There was always someone on hand to help if you needed anything. We will certainly be having another holiday here.

Ann & Dave
Pinner

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked this in advance of our trip to Greece island hopping. It is a lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff and fantastic facilities. The breakfast and pool were particularly good. It is in a very central location for Kamari beech where there is a lot going on. We did think Santorini was very over developed and lacking in character in comparison with the other Greek islands we visited (Paros, Antiparos and Mykonos) which seemed a shame. The hotel is however perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely cosy hotel at the end of June. The hotel has excellent location with only a minutes walk to the beach, numerous restaurants and bars. As a family run hotel the service was friendly, our room and bathroom clean and the morning coffee was indeed a real breakfast with greek yoghurt, juice, coffee, bread, creek cheese, fresh tomatoes and cucumber etc. We really enjoyed having breakfast outside on the terrace. The only downside was that our room did not have a beautiful view - we looked at the backyard of hotel with bushes and other buildings.
But this hotel offered us a great value for our money and we would definitely recommend Hippocampus and could quite well visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaches_cherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have just got back from the beautiful Island of Santorini and stayed at this lovely family run hotel. We were greeted by Artimis who helps run the hotel, she was exceptionally friendly and more than helpful upon our arrival. The hotel itself has recently been modernised and the rooms were perfect and the cleanest room I have ever stayed in ! The beds were amazingly comfortable,the bathroom was a good size, modern and clean. Our balcony overlooked the lovely medium sized pool where we spent every evening chilling out.
Every morning the wonderful breakfast consisted of coffee, selection of teas, juices and iced water. Fresh tomotoes, cucumber and olives, hams, cheeses, eggs, sausage, fresh bread, jams, cereals, fruit and greek yogurt, aswell as traditional greek cookies. Sat outside eating breakfast was great especially when watching the local hustle and bustle begin their day.
The hotel has a fantastic location, just a minute from the beach, bars and tavernas. Around the corner is the local bus stop where for just 1.60 euro you can go to Fira and Oia which is a MUST not only for the views but for the amazing magical sunset. And a mini market also just seconds away. What more can you ask for ! We hired a quad bike and travelled around the Island every day. Our favourite places were Pygros, Fira, Oia and Perissa.
When we return we will without a doubt stay at this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TazDazWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed last week, and just had to write a review about how lovely this place is. The hotel is located just 1 minute walk to the main beach and shops etc so location is brilliant. The rooms were nice and clean and loved the door which turns into a window! ... We got there in the evening time and was greeted by the lady which made us feel very welcome. She took us to the room and just made us feel like she was very happy to meet any of her guests, the personal touch goes a long way. Breakfast is basic but if you want a good English as well there is son Irish bar just 3 minutes walk which did this for 6euros. The main strip is good fun lots of places to eat and every person is very nice and welcoming to you. Karmari is a great resort but def check out fira and oia which are just incredible with great views.... You must check this place out it was just brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquil334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Fantastic value. Great, friendly, clean hotel.
Didn't make it for breakfast so can't comment but place is surrounded by lovely places to eat all within very close walking distance.
Only thing I will say is - take ear plugs as the noise from the dust carts early in the morning outside the hotel WILL wake you up!
A great choice. Thanks to the lovely staff.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#13 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Property: Hotel Hippocampus
Address: Main Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing