We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with wonderful rooms and helpful staff.”
Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We went on our honeymoon to Santorini and decided to book this hotel because of the good reviews. I am very happy that we did, because the hotel lived up to the expectation and actually surpassed it.

Positives from the hotel:

- very nice hotel rooms, clean, crisp and well equipped
- large pool with area to lounge
- only a minute walk from the beach
- very helpful and knowledgeable staff
- morning buffet was very good indeed, especially watermelon and the tomatoes
- quiet area, even on friday and saturday nights
- we paid 562 euros for 7 nights so it was incredible value for the money spent.

Negatives from the hotel:

- none

Overall we had a great honeymoon and we both agreed that to this date it has been the best travel of our lives. A lot of it was thanks to Artemis(receptionist, travel guide, wine expert etc :) ).
We will certainly return to Kamari and when we do, we will stay at the Hippocampus.

Thanks,
Reet and Tanel Välja

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

My partner and I have just returned from Kamari, having stayed for two weeks in the Hippocampus hotel. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is just a two minute walk from the beach, set back in its own beautiful gardens with a lovely swimming pool. The rooms are clean and have everything you need, plus the balcony view is great. The breakfast is far from basic - cereals, fruit, bread, cheese, ham, omlettes - a diverse selection to choose from. And the family who own and run the hotel are just so helpful and really go out of their way to help with any enquiries or requests. Kamari is the best place in our opinion to be based in for a Santorini holiday and from there you can easily travel to the other parts of the island. Kamari has a lovely beach, lots of restaurants and bars to choose from, plus other gems such as an open air cinema which was delightful. Stay at the Hippocampus and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

By Greek standards this was a nice hotel.
Good location close to the sea front, which is close to all the restaurants and bars.
Rooms very well appointed, beds very comfortable, bathroom new and well equiped.
Pool is large for the size of the hotel.
Service very good, staff friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast very basic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just half block- 20 steps away from the Kamari Beach a newly renovated family run hotel.
Super clean, good room portions, balcony, parking available, new bathrooms, friendly service ...

Kamari beach is a good location if you want to be on the beach at Santorini. There are 50+ restaurants on the pedestrian beach road. Try White Rastaurant & Coctail Bar on the beach for dinner and for lunch.

Kamari is 20 minutes bus ride to Fira ( Shopping - Dinning - Bars) Buses are departing from opposite the corner to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here in July 2013 for 3 days. We were given an upper floor room at the front (beach side) of the Hotel. This room had a sizeable balcony and had some sea views, although there are quite a number of buildings between the Hippocampus and the sea.
The room was beautifully fitted out with quality fittings and accessories. The bathroom and shower is large, well appointed and one of the best hotel bathrooms we experienced in our Greek travels.
The mattress was excellent quality and we slept well. The shutters on the balcony door and the heavy drapes kept out nearly all noise and light.
However, the hotel adjoins a busy road and a large unsealed carpark, which is dusty, and noisy at night.
The flight path of aeroplanes landing at Santorini Airport also passes within 800M of the hotel. However, most aeroplanes were on their descent whilst we were there, as the prevailing North or NW wind ensures they land mostly to the North.
The breakfast at the Hippocampus was very basic, with a poor and cramped layout for the breakfast area. However, nearly all staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.
The cleaner was less than enthusiastic, though, and we found dust and dirt under the bed.
The pool is large, clean and very popular. An outdoor shower adjoins the pool.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and we would return, and we would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor at the front have a reasonable view, but get very hot in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onetrack139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

One of the finest hotel we have been in Greece, absolutely value for money!. The owners has given a new standard to the word service, always helpful and always with a smile, we have had a fantastic stay and will always remember the good time we have had and we will surely mis them and not to forget Koppi the dog. Martin, Maddy, Nikki Luitwieler.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Maddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the hippocampus for 2 weeks this august as we got married in santorini.They were great before we even arrived in santorini, i did pester them with several emails regarding changing beds around in the rooms we had booked and even if they could arrange flowers for my wedding, they replied to my emails almost immediately and were willing to help me with anything. The hotel was so clean( the maid cleans and changes beds everyday), the breakfast was lovely and the staff are so friendly. The hippocampus is the the perfect location bars restaurant and beach are all a stone throw away we couldnt of asked for more. We are definately planning on going back to santorini one day and i wouldnt hesitate to book the hippocampus again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Hayley met M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#17 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#16 of 75 in Kamari
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Address: Main Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#6 Family Hotel in Kamari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing