We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday !!”
Review of Aegean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aegean View Hotel
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday !!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

What an amazingly relaxed and welcoming atmosphere the Aegean View Hotel has! It is, as others have commented, spotlessly clean...the rooms as huge and cleaned every day. Both Giorgos, Tasos and the team are friendly, helpful and genuinely make your stay relaxing from the moment you arrive. Not only that the other guests were also lovely and we made some lovely friends around the pool at the wonderful greek BBQ night...which is a must! The walk to the beach is down a sloping hill (a small price to pay for some of the most amazing views from your balcony) and there are restaurants galore with the most amazing food for all tastes and some lovely shops to browse in the cooler evenings. The hill walk back and the steps took a little getting used to but hey .... it's not a problem and works off your meal nicely ... when you reach the hotel pop in the pool bar and have a couple of nightcaps with Giorgios...great fun!!! We cannot recommend this hotel enough and next year we hope to go back for two weeks and enjoy it all over again ! PS Do get up at 5.30am at least one morning to watch the sunrise it is truly breathtaking!!

Room Tip: We had room 515 and it was spacious and had the most amazing views over Kamari.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    45
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
110
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location is a little bit outside the city center but we are only talking about a few minutes of walk. There is also short way to the local bus station bringing you to Fira for a small amount of money. Very convenient and kept us from renting a car or motorbike.

We had a big spacious room with all needed accessories and a porch that allowed us to have the wonderful view mentioned. Breakfasts served were simple but nice. The staff excellent giving us all needed information without asking for it.

Have a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oistein_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A beautiful hotel, kept spotlessly clean. Great choice for breakfast. Fantastic views from room 517. Rooms cleaned daily with clean towels too. Kamari a busy little resort, lots of places to eat and a few shops. The outdoor cinema is a must. The walk to ancient Thira well worth it for the views. Fira only 10-15mins away and cost just 1.60 on the air conditioned bus. Only one problem can sometimes get very windy at the hotel. although the plus side no mosquito bites.

Room Tip: room 517 a maisonette very large with amazing views. some rooms had whirlpools on balcony, they loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillystace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

once again we had a memorable stay at this family run hotel, this time 2 weeks in a fantastic room with 4 poster bed and our own jaccuzzi , Tasos and Giorgos made our stay fantastic and we really feel like we have made lifelong friends, the cliental at this hotel all seem to grasp this friendly atmosphere and we made some good friends with the Dutch, Germans ,Danes infact anyone who was there. its just a wonderful place, Robert and Carole , Tamworth

Room Tip: the jaccuzzi is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robbo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We loved our stay at this family run Hotel. The service was outstanding and the owners were very personable and made us feel at home. Spotless rooms, great breakfast and beautiful view. The restaurant is excellent serving traditional Greek fare with menu vaying daily. A 5 - 10 minute walk uphill from beach, but we did not mind as it was worth it. Close to lots of very good restaurants and sightseeing. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htheodosiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Santorini is without a doubt a beautiful island and has some of the most beautiful scenery that you will see on a Greek island, however if you are travelling with children you will need to do your research. The beaches are made of black volcanic "grit" which gets extremely hot and is definitely not a child's play area, the sea water gets very deep very quickly and again for young children who are not confident swimmers I would be very cautious. We travelled in June/July there can be quite a strong breeze at times.

If you are a couple you will love Santorini, the scenery, ambience, food, sunsets and general relaxed way of life will provide you with a lovely holiday. We stayed at the Aegean View Hotel in Kamari and experienced a hotel with beautiful views, large and very clean rooms, an adequate size pool for the size of the hotel, a good breakfast is provided and if you want eggs, bacon etc., just ask and it will be served. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite and do all they can to accommodate you. The hotel is situated overlooking the town at the foot of a small mountain which keeps the hotel nice and cool in the evening it does tend to put the pool in the shade by about 5:00 p.m. so if you are sun lovers who like to lay out in the sun until early evening you will need to visit the local beach which is a 10 min walk. This hotel is accessed by quite a steep road which is fine if you do not have any walking difficulties. The bed was not very comfortable and we did ask for another mattress which was happily provided.

Fira and Oia are beautiful areas to visit with stunning scenery and beautiful restaurants you will not be disappointed. Oia was my personal favourite I could of sat in a restaurant all day long drinking wine and eating seafood taking in the scenery, it was stunning. You will do a lot of walking in both areas, up and down lots of steps so if you have any walking difficulties you may struggle especially in the heat. Buses are clean and air conditioned they get very busy but fortunately to get from one end of the island to the other does not take too long (40 mins) approx.

If you go to the Akrotiri ruins invest in a guide otherwise you will not really get anything out of the trip. You can get there on a bus from Kamari and you can easily do this in the morning and then go onto the Red Beach, take your drinks etc with you as there is only one drinks hut at one end of the beach again the sand get very hot and access to this beach involves some steep climbs.

Most restaurants serve the same type of cuisine and the price varies depending whether you are on the beach or a side road. General Greek food is served in all but on the sea front you will get much more opportunity to get good seafood. Local house wine is fine about 5 euro for 500ml other bottled wines are much more expensive. Average meal two courses with wine and beer £50 for two people.

Room Tip: All rooms are very large we had a studio room but having seen the apartments would of preferred one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just got back after a Fabulous week away. Great room 4 poster bed and cleaned every day best room in Greece ever. The family and Gorgeous George cant do enough for you to make you welcome. Great Food (if you want an English breakfast stay in England).Great views everywhere other than being up a slight hill easy to get to where ever you want. Great BBQ night walked up to ancient Thira day after to clear head. Easy enough if you take some water and sensible foot wear only took 35 minutes up and came back down via church and well in 25 Minutes. Just a great island with great people and a great Hotel. The reviews say it will be back there soon as.

Room Tip: Room 510 with 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#11 of 75 in Kamari
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#30 of 75 in Kamari
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Hotel

Property: Aegean View Hotel
Address: On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kamari
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Aegean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aegean View
Aegean View Kamari
Aegean View Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing