We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Aegean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aegean View Hotel
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Second visit to this hotel and will be back again. Lovely family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. Everything spotless with rooms cleaned every day. Beautiful location with sea views. Lovely pool and reasonably price drinks and snacks from bar. The BBQ is absolutely amazing and should not be missed. Can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Its our third time at the hotel and tomorrow i will be booking to go back next year .Such a lovely family .Rooms very clean and lots of room .A must is the Greek night lovely food and lots of dancing.

A tip... try and go to the open air cinema its great .

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and all have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cheadlemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a beautiful place to have stayed! The views! The name of the hotel tells it all. On one side we had this mountain which was awesome. There is not another building in front of the Aegean so one looks out and sees this amazing sea! We would have been content to just sit in our balcony to look at the sea. And at night, the starry sky was heavenly. Spotless large rooms with kitchenette. One has breakfast poolside and the food was delicious and plentiful. We walked to the beach (about 15 minutes), and at night when Kamari was lit up, we enjoyed ourselves by taking in the night life. My husband and I are active people so walking is not a problem; however, when we were leaving we did ask the owners if they could take us to the bus depot which would have been an easy 10 minute walk were we not pulling luggage. They did at no extra charge. The owners were very friendly and kind and it is obvious they take great pride in their property. This is an ideal place for an extended stay. There are markets all over so one can take full advantage of the kitchenette. Don't look any further for a room. This is an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: I don't think I a mistaken when I say there is not a room without a sea view, but ask for it any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BonitaChulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I spent a week at teh Aegean view in May 2014. I booked via Thomas Cook. As per usual, the Thomas cook flight was cramped and uncomfortabe. Santorini airport is minute. There is just one luggage carousel and the mad scrambl efor luggage wehn it eventually did appear, was comaparable to rugby union ruck. Once out of the airport, the reps were welcoming and efficient. The Aegean view is situated on the road that leads, via unnerving zig-zags, up the mountain to ancient Thera. I must underline that if anyone has mobility problems, heart problems or breathing difficulties, then this hotel is not for you. THe walk up the hill to the hotel is steepish and, once there, the hotel is on many different levels, all reached via multiple sets of steps. Whilst this means one has lovely views over Kamari, some older and less physically fit / well people were suffering real difficulties. Note there is no public transport nor any taxis to transport you to the hotel.This must also be emphasised for the whole island - some of the people noted above missed out on all the sights as all villages and places of interest are reached via steep walks and many many steep steps. If you do have any health / fitness issues, then Santorini is not for you.

The hotel itself, as with most Greek hotels, provides breakfast only. this is a continental buffet consisting of the usual bread, ham, cheese, eggs, cake, jams; however, staff will happily cook omelettes or fried eggs on request. This meal is served by the pool at the pool bar which does have bar snacks throughout the day. There are too many restaurants to count in Kamari itself, and so one must walk down the hill and back up every day for ones's meals. The cooking facitites in the room are very basic - two electric rings, a kettle and a microwave witih very little in the way of cutlery or cooking equipment - not even a tin opener. The water is not drinkable, and the hotel bar does not stock large bottles of water, so again, awalk up and down the hill is necessary daily to buy water, which is only 50cents for 1.5 litre bottle.

As mentioned earlier, the rooms / apartments are all arranged on different levels, accessed by steps. Rooms all open straight to the outside, giving the hotel the appeareance fo a typical Santorini village and is aesthetically most pleasing. The rooms are not luxurious and furnishings are basic, btu conforatable enough for a week's stay, bearing in mind most of the day and evenoieng is spent outside. Each room has its own outside seating area although most people lounged by the pool. Each room is individually designed and furnished. My room was huge. It contained a dining table for four, three beds, a sofa bed, wardrobe, dressing table, bedside table, and there was still a huge amount of floor space free. The TV, sadly, is too small for the size of room and without binoculars was very difficult to see, especially any script, subtitles etc.Channels in short supply as expected - BBC news and one other channel that showed english/american shows for a couple of hours each day. The beds were of average comfort but were immaculate, as was the whole of the hotel. The cleaning staff really earn their money, the standard of cleanliness was outstanding. BEdding was crisp, whiter than white and changed frequently. Towels were changed daily. the bathroom had a small bath, a handheld shower, toilet (paper must be put in the bin), large wash basin and hairdryer. Nice smellies (shampoo, shower gel etc) provided and topped up daily.

All the staff members were warm, friendly, helpful - any problem was attended to instantly - any query was answered in full and in an enlightening and amiable way with smiles. Reception staff were welcoming, and happy to go the extra mile to ensure an excellent standard of customer service.

Trips - there are many places locally that organise trips - they tend to be all the same and all the same price and, Santorini being teeny, there aren' t that many. I did a trip taking in 3 villages and finishing off at Oia for the sunset which I very much enjoyed. I also went up to Ancient Thera whic was atmospheric, informative and well worth the 2euro entrance - all the trip companies run buses that take you up to the site, but there is still a heck of a climb to get to the ruins. Other trips are mainly based around various ways of going to the volcano by boat, but, having climbed Vesuvius, I was happy to pass on that.

Public transport - buses are every 45 minutes and all go to Fira. to get around the island it is necessary to ge tthe bus to Fira and change buses to get to your destination. this seemed ot be a very long way of getting to the resort just arounf the headland, but then I found a boat bus that goes every 40 minutes from Kamari beach to Perissa beach.

Kamari, as mentioned earlier, is very well served for eating and drinking establishments, although there is no variety between what is offered on the menu. Prices get less the further from the beach the restaurant is, but quality does not change very much.

in summary, then, words to describe the hotel, Kamari and, indeed, Santorini are: aesthetically very lovely, warm, friendly, welcoming, picturesque, informative, relaxed, laid back, exceptionally clean and a place to return to again and again.

just one more word of caution - Santorini can be VERY windy. When I was there, on one day, the wind was so strong that one person was blown over!

Room Tip: Pre warn the hotel if you have any health/ mobilty problems and they will happily allocate to you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plmalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location and friendly hotel, food was not great but loads of near by restaurants. Great place to stay and close to the beach, the walk back on a night can be tiring after a few drinks, excellent views day and night. All in all a good experience and I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank shanklygates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel's location is great as is on the top of the mountains, so has wonderfull views of the town, the sea and the sun-rise.The seaside full of cafe- restaurants, is about 10 minutes walking from the hotel.Charoula and Tasos, the owners very-very polite, made our staying there a special one.
The hotel and swimming -pool, towels and everything were very clean. The breakfast perfect !
Kamari is the ideal place to stay if you like relaxing holidays near the beach sun and sand, cafe-restaurants with delicious greek plates, beautifull sun-rises viewing the sea. From Kamari we went around the Island. We used the bus, visiting Fira and Volgano, Oia, Perissa, Red -sea, White-sea, Akrotiri and some other places.You can also rent a car or a bike. If you like night-life, then choose staying at Fira, is more crowded and alive and more expensive.My advice for those who like walking is when they go to Fira try to walk to Firostefani and continue to Oia, along a path viewing the Volgano. Views are amazing, wonderfull sunsets, a really great experience!!!!

Room Tip: Looking the swimming-pool and seaside as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Athina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for two weeks at the end of August, what a fantastic hotel, absolutely spotless, our room was enormous and with such amazing views, there are quite a few steps around the hotel so probably not great for anyone with mobility problems, the staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them, you do get used to the walk up the hill on the way to the apartment, we did have a couple of very windy days so we couldn't sit out on our balcony. The resort itself is a nice family friendly resort and loads of restaurants and bars. we don’t tend to go back to the same resort twice but i think i would make an exception with Kamari. i would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susan-and-mark-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#20 of 75 in Kamari
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Hotel

Address: On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kamari
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £57 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Aegean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aegean View
Aegean View Kamari
Aegean View Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing