We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure!”
Review of Aegean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aegean View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We appreciated being in Kamari, with friendly feel, lots of great restuarants and everything in easy walking distance. Our taxi didn't know where it was, but found it eventually. A short walk uphill from town of Kamari, but well worth the walk. Hotel and rooms have a great view, great pool where breakfast is served and lunch foods plus beverages available. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast tables set up to encourage conversation among guests. Pool is shaded by 5pm. Very friendly staff. This was a great experience for us. Our favorite restaurants were "No Name" and "Seaside Restaurant" (at a hotel). We were thrilled to have the sun consistently and weren't looking for many typical tourist activities. The bus was easy to catch into Thira. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3girlstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

We found this hotel to be well above average for a Greek hotel. It doesn’t need a great deal more written about it but to update the negatives from previous reviews:
The age of the towels has been addressed and most are now new. The showers are still the classic Greek style – a hand held shower head, and why shouldn’t they be? Work round the wet floor! Our fridge was silent & while not brand was in full working order.
The sun was on the pool a lot of the day when we were there in early July so was plenty warm enough. I can imagine the temp might be cooler earlier in the season, but surely the previous contributor didn’t think they should heat the pool? The staff seemed helpful but we didn’t have any issues so can’t comment on their response to an issue. Rooms were serviced daily which isn’t necessarily the norm in the resort. Air con was great and was a lot more efficient that I expected. The furniture around the pool seems to have been upgraded since the photos in previous reviews in 2009, with palm topped umbrellas and good quality wooden furniture with plenty of padding. The only negative thing I could comment on is room 511’s patio area, it isn’t private but forms part of a walk way to the pool so if romantic/private times on your balcony are very much a part of your holiday plans do try to avoid this room. If drying your swimming things is all you use a balcony for then this wont be a problem.
Top tip – try some of the restaurants away from the sea front, they are more rustic, less international and often much cheaper. Gallada’s was our favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Chose this hotel due to it's excellent reviews and wasn't disappointed. The room for 4 of us was very spacious and we all got a proper bed. The room had air con, kitchen facilities, tv, fridge, big patio with a view and a very good daily maid service.

The hotel had a lovely pool with views over Kamari, there were plenty of sunloungers, and a friendly pool bar with good food. Everything was always immaculately clean and tidy and very laid back.

The resort was very chilled out, numerous lovely restaurants and bars but nothing raucous. The shops were great too.

Definitely recommend a walk up the mountain behind the resort, the footpath is easy to find, and although fairly steep in parts, is perfectly easy to climb in half an hour or so, stopping off at the church on the way. The path meets the windy road (which the lazy people climb up in quad bikes), follow the road up to the top where you can visit ancient Thira or walk on down the other side to Perissa.

A trip to the capital Thira and the town of Oia is well worth is and easily done by bus for 1.40 euro one way. From Thira old port you can catch a boat to the volcano, a much cheaper way of doing it than the organized tours. You can walk down to the old port, though watch out for the donkeys being herded up and down the path with little regard for pedestrians, luckily there's a rather scary, but mercifully short cable car ride back to the top.

Thira and Oia are a bit expensive in parts, but we did find some cheaper places so don't be put off.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rickwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hotel is not luxurious and I agree with others that the beds are a bit on the spartan side - however, this place is a great value and the perfect spot to just lie back and relax so my overall experience was positive. It's a short walk to town and the beach - my friends and I didn't mind this at all since it's nice to walk a bit after a meal, etc. It's also located on the road that goes up to ancient Thira, which is handy if you are up for the climb. My room was a good size with lofted beds, a small kitchenette and a nice veranda area with a great view. Everything was clean if not brand-new. The pool/bar area is cozy and never got too crowded. I was hoping for a relaxed atmosphere and sun and that's what I got! In addition, the staff were extremely accommodating with requests for taxis, airport transfers and organizing a special welcome evening for my group. So overall, I have to give good marks to this place and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Im amazed that this hotel has received the amount of positive feedback it has. Whilst there are some good points about this hotel it really is in need of modernisation.

I visited with my 7 month old daughter and partner. When we arrived we were amazed that we had been allocated a room at the very top of the complex. Bearing in mind the lift only went to the 1st floor this proved an issue carrying a pram all the way up and down. The hotel did manage to move us to a ground floor room the next day. Im not sure why they would have thought it acceptable to place us at the top floor given that we had requested a cot which surely acts as a clue!

The hotel provided a microwave and cot with mosquito net as requested. The fridge was quite noisy along with its fair share of rust. The rooms are very basic as i believe a lot are in Santorini. The single beds were very uncomfortable and not very good for a holiday cuddle. The kitchen area was very basic. The towels are like cardboard. We had to ask for some softer ones as our 7 month old took exception to them. The room also had no blinds in the top windows so the sun made its way through very early on which interfered with our sleep and our daughters.

Unfortunately we never used the pool as it was freezing. To be fair not many of the pools were occupied as whilst the weather was warm the pools were not. The pool side area itself was very good and the view is fantastic........ but that doesnt make a hotel. The bar snacks were good value as were the drinks.

We quite enjoyed the walk up the hill that most people comment on as it provides a good work out pushing a pram. For those that wouldnt want to walk a semi steep hill 2-3 times a day then id give it a miss.

If you are expecting luxury then im afraid this isnt the place for you. Whilst the owners are friendly its nothing i wouldnt expect from someone who runs a hotel. It a very clean place as most of Santorini is but you really must be easily pleased if you rate this any more than average. But, that said....... its only our opinion of course.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Aegean view and on the whole loved our stay. The owners are great, really friendly and helpful. Location provides stunning views and almost secluded surroundings without being far from the action. We had a huge room with kitchenette and massive balcony.

As we had a 11 month baby we spent a lot of time in the room or on the balcony to avoid the midday sun and make time for naps. We didn't feel hemmed in, we bought a paddling pool and toys, our baby seems well occupied. There was plenty of safe space
for her to crawl around and explore. We would also take her for walks around the hotel, there's plenty for a baby to see, trees, flowers, cats and dogs.

Breakfast was up on the large terrace/ pool area. It's pretty basic but fine. Bread, cheese, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. We took along our own feta and olives brought from a local supermarket.

We went in May, so the pool was too cold, we never saw any of the guests brave it.

You may have read on the hotel's website that they have a playground, the sight needs updating, They no longer have the playground.

The walk up to the hotel is fine. The road is decent and not steep. My husband managed to do it carrying our baby or pushing the stroller. We thought it was worth the spectacular views that we woke up to.

The only reason why I haven't given the hotel 5 out of 5 is the beds. They're twins and rock hard. They took some getting used to. Snuggling is out of the question unless one of you doesn't mind being stuck in between 2 beds.

Overall, a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badgerbadger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Getting to the Aegean View requires walking up a steep hill. Rooms are large and clean but the bathroom shower is small, you basically wet the entire bathroom trying to take a shower. The beds are very lumpy, you can feel the springs in your back. The pool is nice. breakfast is just ok. It's convenient in that they can reserve rental cars (delivered to hotel) and taxis for us for no cost. People are very friendly.

Overall, it's an OK hotel. I think we just got spoiled by the Adamis Majesty

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_TWorldtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#3 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#35 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
541 reviews
8.4 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Hotel

Address: On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kamari
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £70 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Aegean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aegean View
Aegean View Kamari
Aegean View Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing