We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed, expectations with their friendliness”
Review of Aegean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aegean View Hotel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surpassed, expectations with their friendliness”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The Aegean View was everything we were looking for, ideal location, at the foot of ancient Thira, just a short walk from all the main bars restraunts, taverna's and the noise from all the Italian's on quad's, the hill up to the Aegean View, was not a bad walk up it helped shift some of the local dishes, of which there are plenty to try, and thoroughly enjoyable.
The room's in the Aegean View, are the best sized rooms we have ever stayed in, with Tassos, (the owner) choosing to make as many of the room's as different as possible, to vary thing's, all room's had a sea view. the pool was big enough for everyone to enjoy, regardless of age or ability. The bar served a good slection of drink's, from hot or cold coffee, fresh orange juice, to spirit's, local beer and cocktail's, the food also served was to a very high standard, espiacily if you like big portion's like myself.
Tassos his wife and their son's, George and Lewis where all very help full and were alway there willing to accomodate any need's you had, they would ring round and get you the best deal for car hire or help you with any personal issue's you had, if you could not find what you were looking for for example in the pharmacy, it would be very rude not mention any of the rest of the staff, they too where all equally helpful.
I just want to reiterate the friendlinees of this family, staff and all the people we met, was what made this, what it was, a fantastic experience and fantastic memory

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTonyWorksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    44
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Aegean View is a lovely, very clean hotel. It's location is ideal as it is just a 5 minute walk down to the resort. Personally I was glad we were out of the resort a bit as it was surprisingly big and so many people hired quad bikes and mopeds which were really noisy. There was no noise at the Aegean View at all. It is on a slight hill which gives you great views over the resort. The hotel itself reminds me of the one in the film mamma mia! It is typically traitional Greek with white walls an dark blue shutters. You definitely feel that it is typically Greek, but very comfortable.
Our room was a good size with a private balcony that was not overlooked by anyone. I understand that all the rooms are different, some of them were huge, some with three beds, some with a kingsize, some with a loft space, some with jacuzzi, but all of a very good standard for Greece, with some guests commenting that it was the nicest accomodation they had stayed in in Greece.
The pool was a good size, but sun loungers were limited. Also the sun went behind the hill about 5 in the afternoon, but after baking temperatures of mid 40s that wasn't a bad thing!
The owner and staff were all so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The owner arranged our car hire and that of other guests. The staff at the bar were also lovely, serving us food at 9.30 at night (after a long day in the car) and keeping the bar open until the last person left.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kamari. At the hotel there was a variety of guests from younger friends, couples, families and older couples. The only thing to consider when booking is the hill. It was no problem for us and we didn't mind it, especially after a big meal!, but it was hard work.
Overall this place is lovely and all the other guests said so too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkat_chunky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed at the Aegean view hotel in July for one week, wished it had been two. This hotel is in excellent location with views over Kamari to the sea. In our opinion the hotel was ideally situated away from the centre and quiet at night.The staff are very pleasant and friendly with nothing too much trouble for them. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was very spacious with a typically greek bathroom (this was no real issue), clean soft towels daily and regular linen change. In most hotels with a sea view you would have to pay a supplement, we had an excellent sea view from our room with no extra cost. The food served around the pool bar was good and reasonable prices. If I had to have a negative it would be the creaky beds but we got used to them. We last visited Santorini four years ago and stayed at the Aegean plaza in Kamari but definitely rate the Aegean view better. The hill up and down from the hotel was good exercise. We will be back to this excellent hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeloversWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We appreciated being in Kamari, with friendly feel, lots of great restuarants and everything in easy walking distance. Our taxi didn't know where it was, but found it eventually. A short walk uphill from town of Kamari, but well worth the walk. Hotel and rooms have a great view, great pool where breakfast is served and lunch foods plus beverages available. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast tables set up to encourage conversation among guests. Pool is shaded by 5pm. Very friendly staff. This was a great experience for us. Our favorite restaurants were "No Name" and "Seaside Restaurant" (at a hotel). We were thrilled to have the sun consistently and weren't looking for many typical tourist activities. The bus was easy to catch into Thira. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3girlstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We found this hotel to be well above average for a Greek hotel. It doesn’t need a great deal more written about it but to update the negatives from previous reviews:
The age of the towels has been addressed and most are now new. The showers are still the classic Greek style – a hand held shower head, and why shouldn’t they be? Work round the wet floor! Our fridge was silent & while not brand was in full working order.
The sun was on the pool a lot of the day when we were there in early July so was plenty warm enough. I can imagine the temp might be cooler earlier in the season, but surely the previous contributor didn’t think they should heat the pool? The staff seemed helpful but we didn’t have any issues so can’t comment on their response to an issue. Rooms were serviced daily which isn’t necessarily the norm in the resort. Air con was great and was a lot more efficient that I expected. The furniture around the pool seems to have been upgraded since the photos in previous reviews in 2009, with palm topped umbrellas and good quality wooden furniture with plenty of padding. The only negative thing I could comment on is room 511’s patio area, it isn’t private but forms part of a walk way to the pool so if romantic/private times on your balcony are very much a part of your holiday plans do try to avoid this room. If drying your swimming things is all you use a balcony for then this wont be a problem.
Top tip – try some of the restaurants away from the sea front, they are more rustic, less international and often much cheaper. Gallada’s was our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Chose this hotel due to it's excellent reviews and wasn't disappointed. The room for 4 of us was very spacious and we all got a proper bed. The room had air con, kitchen facilities, tv, fridge, big patio with a view and a very good daily maid service.

The hotel had a lovely pool with views over Kamari, there were plenty of sunloungers, and a friendly pool bar with good food. Everything was always immaculately clean and tidy and very laid back.

The resort was very chilled out, numerous lovely restaurants and bars but nothing raucous. The shops were great too.

Definitely recommend a walk up the mountain behind the resort, the footpath is easy to find, and although fairly steep in parts, is perfectly easy to climb in half an hour or so, stopping off at the church on the way. The path meets the windy road (which the lazy people climb up in quad bikes), follow the road up to the top where you can visit ancient Thira or walk on down the other side to Perissa.

A trip to the capital Thira and the town of Oia is well worth is and easily done by bus for 1.40 euro one way. From Thira old port you can catch a boat to the volcano, a much cheaper way of doing it than the organized tours. You can walk down to the old port, though watch out for the donkeys being herded up and down the path with little regard for pedestrians, luckily there's a rather scary, but mercifully short cable car ride back to the top.

Thira and Oia are a bit expensive in parts, but we did find some cheaper places so don't be put off.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rickwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
270 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hotel is not luxurious and I agree with others that the beds are a bit on the spartan side - however, this place is a great value and the perfect spot to just lie back and relax so my overall experience was positive. It's a short walk to town and the beach - my friends and I didn't mind this at all since it's nice to walk a bit after a meal, etc. It's also located on the road that goes up to ancient Thira, which is handy if you are up for the climb. My room was a good size with lofted beds, a small kitchenette and a nice veranda area with a great view. Everything was clean if not brand-new. The pool/bar area is cozy and never got too crowded. I was hoping for a relaxed atmosphere and sun and that's what I got! In addition, the staff were extremely accommodating with requests for taxis, airport transfers and organizing a special welcome evening for my group. So overall, I have to give good marks to this place and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#9 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#21 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#32 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Preka
Hotel Maria Preka
#36 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Hotel

Property: Aegean View Hotel
Address: On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kamari
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aegean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aegean View
Aegean View Kamari
Aegean View Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing