We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Ranked #74 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

+The first impression of the hotel was a "warm welcome" by the receptionist. Excellent and fast service, helpful tips for the island and lovely events. Barbeque event was far the best! The hotel is located in an ideal spot, my room was accurate on was I ve seen on the internet plus the sea view from the balcony. Food, oh food!!! One of a kind, with delicious tastes and differentiation.
- Maybe the bathrooms need a little bit more attention, some changes may be required, but this is not a must.

Totally recommended!! Santorini rocks!!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    89
    75
    55
    79
See reviews for
49
195
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just to start out, I'm not a high maintenance traveller, and has never been compelled to leave a bad review before! We stayed at Thalassa for four days in June 2012 using a half price Groupon certificate. At the price we paid, it actually wasn't too too bad, but I thought I'd leave an honest review for those who would pay full price. A few things that came up: our room stank of mold and they were unwilling to move us somewhere else, wifi only worked around reception desk, our A/C didn't work, no English channels on the TV, it took three days for them to provide us with shampoo and soap (we ended up buying our own after they brought us body lotion three different times), we were promised a welcome drink and fruit basket which never arrived despite asking a few times, the dinner was plentiful but very cheap and had poor selection with the half board program (one night we had a lettuce salad, just shredded lettuce, oil and vinegrette). Also, you should know that the airport is right beside the hotel so it's VERY loud when planes leave/arrive (about 10 a day in the off season). Again, because we were paying half price ($300 for two people halfboard and three nights), it was fine, but I would never pay full price or close to it for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank marygold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamari hotels

Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were a family of 4 adults and three children.The rooms were large with most amenities expected, there was a kitchen with fridge. Our rooms were directly overlooking the large pool with a children`s section. The hotel overlooks the beach which is mainly pebble, but this did not stop anyone from swimming in the sea, snorkling and generally enjoying the beach which provided sunbeds with parasols. The staff in reception Athina and Mimosa were very helpful.
It was a l0 minute walk into Kamari.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and if there are two of you get a superior double. A family need a suite or apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livelygadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here with a wedding party in September 2011 and we got off to a bad start. The resort requested my credit card details be sent to them in a form via email to secure the booking. Repeatedly, I sent the details and often different people responded saying the email hadn't been received or it'd been received without the attachment, sometimes I got no response to emails. In addition to the total lack of security of emailing one's credit card details, the real issue was the poor communication and the fact that different managers were emailing me without knowing what the other had said or checking to see if I'd already emailed them what they'd requested. It took about 7 or 8 emails to finally resolve this issue and secure my booking.

This poor start notwithstanding, I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel when I finally arrived.

The Good - The hotel is a short cab ride from the airport. The island is beautiful and the hotel, in particular, the communal areas like the pool, the dining area are postcard pretty. The staff were really welcoming and I was greeted by a glass of ouzo on my arrival. My room was on the same level as reception which mean I could access the lobby wifi in my room. (I think for most wifi access is only in the lobby). And I also used their spa services and had a massage which was excellent and good value for money.

The Not So Good - The room was small but serviceable but the shower and toilet could have done with more intense cleaning and the shower drainage was a bit temperamental.
The hotel is quite close to the airport flight path so at particular times of the day there was some nice, though not much.

Overall this hotel has such potential to be really lovely with a bit more attention to sprucing up the rooms and keeping them spotlessly clean. The booking system via the hotel email form is also totally out of date and hopefully that has changed by now to a much safer and more secure way to exchange credit card details.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girl5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was a great hotel for the price. The outside areas (pool, restuarant, beach etc) are lovely - absolutely beautiful - though the pool is very cold!! Maybe it's better in the height of summer though. The rooms were okay, a little shabby (ie a few lightbulbs out, remote for tv didn't work) but they're comfortable enough. The food is fabulous - we had dinner and brekkie (which is included) at the resort, which you can eat out near the beach. The staff were all very, very helpful and Kamari is a lovely place to stay. You are out of the main Fira/Oia area, but that suited us nicely. The main Kamari shops is a short walk away, and we rented a Quadbike to head to Fira, which is only 20 minutes or so, so even shorter by car or bus.

When it's open (as of June 1st) the open air cinema is very close, and the volcanic beach and Ancient Thira are also on your doorstep, as are a few wineries. Anything we asked of the staff was sorted out immediately, and they even threw a fun BBQ for Eurovision ;)

There are planes that fly overhead, being so close to the airport, but reading the reviews before I went I expected them to be much more frequent than they were. One woke me up at around 6.30am and I was worried i'd hear them every morning, but that was it for morning planes.

It's very easy to grab a taxi from the airport, and it cost us 15 euros one way. All in all a lovely stay - we were sad to leave beautiful Santorini!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meaganalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

2 weeks spent at the Thalassa was just what the Dr ordered!
Santorini is beautiful. The position of the Thalassa is good, a short walk from the bars and resaurants and shops, directly onto the beach, great pools, friendly staff, beautifully cooked food, ideal buffet breakfast.
Our Suite we found out from the owner was his room during the winter months. Panaoramic views of the beach & a large private veranda over looking the pool & beach!
A cocktail every evening at the beach bar after a leisurely 3 course evening meal with local wine was dreamy watching the sun set.
i had a manicure and my eyebrows threaded by Maria in the Spa. Gorgeous happy girl.
Cannot fault our stay at the hotel.
I highly recommend Santorini for a romantic Break away; its all about the view, the sunset, the food & wine & the sunshine.
We went with Thomas Cook & booked a few trips:
Sunset cruise
Wine tasting & tour of Fira
Greek night at near by Demitris Bar

Its a fairly exclusive Island, so u need plenty of cash. We found being half board helpful. Go at least B&B to save some pennies.

Room Tip: Room 57 Has the best panoramic view of the beach and a private veranda in the whole hotel! Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Like some others this was not the hotel which we booked, but due to weather incident our original hotel was not available. I think however this was a bonus as Kamari is a nice resort to stay in the early quiet part of the season.
Nice room overlooking sea with wonderful sunrise, then down to breakfast, excellent all you would want from 08.00 till 12.00.
Beach is not great, typically Santorini black stones, but this is off set by very pleasant pool which would be easy to sit around all day.
We found staff very friendly and attentive, no hassle or pressure to leave room on last day.
Kamari is a nice village with all the usual bars, restaurants and shops very convenient but not too close to be disrupting.
WiFi works at most locations apart from room, around the pool is excellent and with unending supply of clean towels, where else would you want to go.
Would stay again if returning to Santorini. The location is very convenient for arrival or departure from airport partic if you choose to split holiday with another hotel on island as we did.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickco34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Anemos Beach Lounge Hotel
Anemos Beach Lounge Hotel
#10 of 11 in Perivolos
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#29 of 75 in Kamari
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites

Property: Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Address: Perivolos Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Sea Side Resort And Suites
Thalassa Sea Side Hotel Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing