We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"always look on the bright side of life'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Ranked #74 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"always look on the bright side of life'”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel really improves your sense of humour. The hotel is at the end of the runway. Planes fly over - in peak hour - every fifteen minutes. The roar of an engine at 3am, 4am, 6am and then 10 between the hours of 8 - 10am. You can practically touch them. When you have a shower, the drains are so blocked that it comes up on the floor. The food is edible for the stray dogs. Definitely keep to a salad. The staff are lovely. I haven't seen heard any english for five days. It's a russian's poor club med. Suitable for hungry children that need feeding regularly. The aqua aerobics is in Russian. The children's 'play area' is outside my room. Wifi only possible in a small three by three metre area in reception. But it is Santorini, and its best to stay out of the hotel late have a few drinks which may help you sleep through the noise.

Room Tip: good luck... earplugs.. sense of humour and go to fira for the day - and eat there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rattyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    90
    75
    57
    80
See reviews for
50
197
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The most dirty hotel I have ever seen, old and rusty furniture, the walls were faded and the bathroom was like public wc (even worse)!! The staff was far from kind and I cannot find one reason to stay at this hotel even one night! Enjoyyy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vasmaroulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamari hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived at Thalassa in the early hours of the morning, when we arrived the porter looked confused when we said that we had booked 2 superior rooms as the room that had been booked for us by reservations was a family room, he asked if we would stay in this room for the night and sort it in the morning which was fine as we were only sleeping in there. The family room was very outdated and we were hoping our superior room would be much better as this was meant to be the highlight of our trip since we had stayed in hostels for the last 6 weeks we were really looking forward to luxury!
In the morning we spoke to the receptionist and we were advised we would be moved to 2x superior rooms as this is what we had booked. We were really excited and happy that it was such an easy fix as they were really booked up at the time. Easy was not the case! They had reserved a standard room for us and told us it was a superior. I went down and spoke to the reservation lady and she advised the only difference between the superior and standard was the size of the balcony which wasn't true. It states on their website that the superior room has a sitting area, balcony and double bed. We were stuck with a small room with 2 single beds and a small balcony. If they had admitted that they had screwed our booking and apologised we would have been a lot more understanding but instead we were told their website is incorrect and what we had was a superior room (I would hate to of seen the standard room if this was the case!) We were then offered a massage and 50% off our stay which was nice of them but this wasn't the point, it wasn't about money, all we wanted the comfort and luxury we had booked. We requested to be upgraded but were told each day that they were fully booked, we even went onto the website only to see that there was availability, we were then told that they cannot mark the rooms out on the website even if they are fully booked (another lie). We also mentioned that we read on trip advisor this had happened to other people and the response we got was 'you cant keep everyone happy' this is exactly what you should be doing!
While waiting for our transfer on the last day we witnessed this happening to 3 other couples accept they were sent to other 5 star hotels, why didn't they send us to a 5 star hotel? Instead we had to sleep in a horrible uncomfortable bed, with a shower built for infants in an outdated room for 5 nights! The reception staff were lovely but the reservations lady is a liar and has no idea what she is doing. How could you overbook a hotel or wrongly book people over and over again?!
The food was the same everyday and was disgusting, we added a 3 course set menu dinner to our booking and all we got was a stale buffet every night. Breakfast was okay but not a 4 star hotel standard.
On the bright side the location was fabulous and the pool and beach were great, the outside of the hotel is 4 star but the inside is defiantly not!
If you are booking this hotel don't have high exceptions or make it the highlight of you trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We saw a few poor reviews before our departure and feared we'd made a mistake with our reservation, but were pleasantly surprised (and relieved) when we arrived. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, our room was clean and in good condition and the food was OK. We were presented complimentary wine from one member of staff on our last evening and the views/ambience were as impressive as the pictures. Not sure, if realistic/reasonable expectations are the reason we enjoyed our stay and others didn't?
Our one complaint wasn't regarding the hotel, but more the etiquette of other guests. Unfortunately, although the pool looking magnificent and inviting, in our entire 1 week stay, we never once managed to get a poolside lounger (... although we were more than happy with the excellent beach-side alternative). Unfortunately, the practice of placing beach towels on loungers and reserving for the entire day (regardless of whether or not you were there) was rampant here and despite checking mid-day, we always discovered that even when three-quarters of loungers were empty for most of the afternoon, towels were firmly in place and people would rather guard their '8am booking' than allow others to use it later when they were in their rooms or elsewhere. This was our only comment to our holiday rep on departure - hopefully, it's a practise (although traditional and common) they might do something to address?
Otherwise, an excellent stay and we were sorry to leave the hotel, but not the 'beach towel spoilers'. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There doesn't appear to be an issue with mosquitos here (there were no nets on the windows), so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We are 7 days here right know and we are from Holland.
98, 5% of the guests are russian so the whole hotel is inspired for russian people. The reception and even the animation for kids.with english is it hard to talk t people. And russian people are very brutal and not clean people.

The second point s the hotel lays at the strart of a runway for plains so several times land the plain almost on your towel. Only at night is it quiet only the drinking russians by the pool!!!


So the people that work at the hotel are very nice and the food is ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kefffffffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel 7 months ago and when we arrived yesterday found they had lost our booking due to a change of manangement. They put us up in a hostel looking room for the first night until we complained that this was not acceptable considering we had paid for a 4 star hotel. After a few hours the reservation manager advised she found us an equivelent hotel on the otherside of the island and arranged transfers there. She pleasant and professional empathing with our disappointment to start with. Overall, we were happy with the service we were provided although didnt get into the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guchigoodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel itself is a nice and quiet place located on the beach front at the edge of Kamari village. First, the advantages of the hotel: location on the beach front, nice and cozy territory, village style rooms, good cleanin service, free sunbeds on the beach, free beach towels exchanged every day. Now bad points: not friendly and welcoming staff, absolutely bad management of the hotel in terms of catering. They introduced BB, HB, AI this year and it's a disaster. Guests choose different type of catering and it causes troubles. I had HB and most of the guests had AI. Every time i went to dinner, a maid or a waiter came up to me and asked my room number and if i had AI or not. It was irritating. One day i was called to a reception and told by the travel agency representative that a maid from the restaurant complained that i had lunch in the hotel several times though my type was HB. I was shocked!!! They accused me of eating their terrible lunch! It was absolutely not true!!!! I wanted to write a written complaint but the general manager was at the reception and tried to calm me down but didnt even give her apologies! Nonsense! The most important info about food - breakfast was ok for 3* hotel but dinner was terrible! Not suitable even for 2 star hotel. Nothing to eat. Believe me. People were hungry. All the guests tried to come at 7pm to find at least some food because if you come by 8pm, there will be nothing left for you. No choice! Not even desserts or any fruits. sometimes no eatable meat or fish. YOu cant eat potatoes only! The secret is that they dont cook in the hotel, they have no kitchen and managers definitely save money on food and dont want to spend any money on good and eatable meals. so, the next disadvantage is that though i am Russian myself, i dont like staying in a 100% Russian hotel. This hotel has Club Salut animation program and there are about 90% of Russian guests in the hotel. some of them are absolutely unbearable guests who drink too much, are too noisy and russian animation makes other guests crazy. But i can say that if you buy this hotel on BB basis with a good price - dont hesitate to come! Santorini is amazing. I didnt spen much time in the hotel - always travelled to Thira, volcano, Oia, villages, swam in the sea. Love Santorini!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eleanastella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
3.5 mi away
Anemos Beach Lounge Hotel
Anemos Beach Lounge Hotel
#10 of 11 in Perivolos
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#24 of 75 in Kamari
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#28 of 75 in Kamari
158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#5 of 11 in Perivolos
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites

Property: Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Address: Perivolos Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Sea Side Resort And Suites
Thalassa Sea Side Hotel Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing