We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings.... Roller coaster ride!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Ranked #74 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings.... Roller coaster ride!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked a 5 night holiday at Thalassa through Cudo and I was really looking forward to it - until I read some not so favourable reviews on here. None the less, we decided not to let it cloud our expectations and went in with the bar 'lowered' to counter any disappointment!
We arrived the first evening to find that there had been some 'plumbing issues' at the hotel and we had been moved to a hotel over the road - the room at the alternate hotel was the size of a broom closet and we could see the airport runway from the balcony... Not a great start. We tried not to become discouraged, as it was only for one night and they reassured us we would be upgraded to a better room at Thalassa the next day. True to their word, we were up graded to a lovely suite that overlooked the beach.... FABULOUS! We spent the next three nights here and were tremendously happy - despite a dodgy internet connection and the dreaded early morning flights landing (what seemed to be directly on top of us)! The staff were friendly and very helpful - and very apologetic about the rocky start to our stay - so much it seemed that they offered us another 'upgrade' to their sister hotel on the other side of the island. We didn't really want to move from where we were, but after some thought, we decided to accept their offer as it would allow us to view a Santorini sunset which were yet to experience. (What a disastrous decision that turned out to be! - I will save comment for a review on that hotel specifically).
A few things to be aware of with this hotel:
1. It is older and the rooms are quite basic, but ours was clean and comfortable.
2 The hotel is literally at the end of the airport runway. The flights seemed to be mainly in the morning and afternoon / evening - and funnily enough, we did get used to it!
3. Our breakfast and dinner was included in our room rate - the food on offer was also quite basic, and after the first couple of nights we decided to eat dinner at one of the other restaurants in Kamari (lots to choose from and fabulous food)! We're not big breakfast eaters, so the breakfast they had on offer was sufficient.
4. The majority of guests when we were there appeared to be Russian - so all TV / information sessions seemed to be geared towards these guests - I heard someone refer to it as a poor mans Russian Club Med... whatever that means!?

Room Tip: Room 52 was great! Roomy and one of the only ones that had a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    88
    73
    54
    77
See reviews for
49
192
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birtinya, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed her for 5nights end of September 2013, 4 adults and an 8yr old I was really worried after reading some of the reviews. We booked through getaway lounge and was super cheap. On arrival Helen was efficient , friendly and were relieved our hotel rooms were spacious, very clean and more than we expected. They are not 5 star but all that is needed for a basic seaside getaway. Breakfast and dinner was included in our package and both were good and had variety each night (buffet style) Drinks were cheap and the location is great for people wanting to get away from the hassle and bustle of thira but still be within 20mins by car. The hotel has its own beach and own beach chairs.
What made our stay was the amazing staff, friendly, helpful and made us all feel like part of the family, they called my daughter by her name and made her stay so special.
Thanks to all the team here we had a wonderful holiday and will be back !

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent a week here for our honeymoon. We had a super week, the staff were lovely and really helpful. The room was fantastic, we had a great view and the room was cleaned daily. The waiters were wonderful,reception staff also very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It was a 5 minute walk along the beach to the Kamari bars, shops and restaurants. Local buses fantastic, you can get to Thira for the breathtaking caldera for just over one euro. If you stay at this hotel, you are on the beach you must set your alarm just one day to see the sunrise, beautiful. Forget what some are writing about planes flying over, I was dreading it being not far from the airport but it never spoilt it one bit.

Room Tip: Sea view, wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in thalassa hotel in kamari for a week in july because we were getting married in santorini. I booked it through Thomas cook. there were 31 of us in total and 26 stayed in Thalassa hotel. I was a bit worried about staying in this hotel because I looked on here a few days before we were due to fly out for the wedding, I got really upset worrying that it would be awful and that all our guests would hate me for choosing this hotel! however it was great, and I promised myself I would write this review when I got back incase anyone else was worrying! I forget tho...but better late than never!
rooms are basic but to be honest that's what you get in Greece, we had the junior suite and that was great, our guests had more basic rooms but they were happy. in fact they had a better shower than us, ours in the junior suite was a bit rubbish with the water pressure but nobody else had problems. The décor was nice in the room, all the usual blue and white, was nice.
Staff were lovely around the hotel, ive seen some reviews of people moaning because Russians got treated better or something? well in my mind the staff were nice to everyone. they even looked after my wedding cake for me. we booked half board and the food was nice, ate there every morning and for 3 tea time meals, there was enough for and good choice, wouldn't eat there all the time as there are so many gorgeous restaurants in kamari, but it did us fine! even free wine and soft drinks. The hotel need a lick of paint, but it actually looks really nice, the pool area and beach are great too. there is a dirt track walk to the main part of kamari, its a bit dodgy in the dark and we did have a member of our party fall in a ditch but there was a lot of alcohol involved! do yourself a favour and take a torch with you to prevent any accidents. it would be great if some lights were put down the road to make it safer but never mind.

there are a lots of low flying planes near the hotel but who cares! always a good talking point! also it means a short transfer to the airport.

kamari is a brilliant place, great for couples and families and we partied there every night! love boat was our fave bar and we stayed there till 4am on the night of our wedding and the owner drove us back to the hotel because I had my wedding dress on! loads to do and see in santorini, very pretty romantic place. i'm so glad we chose it as our wedding destination and I was happy with thalassa hotel too.

TIP: take beach/jelly shoes with you because santorini beaches are rocky and painful on feet!

Helen and matt, wirral

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenhaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very nice location, right on the beach, 10 minutes walk from town.
Excellent pool with free towels provided.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at reception, the dining room and the pool and bar.
The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy with air conditioning. The only downside is that the mattresses were very firm.
Overall a very nice hotel that had everything we needed.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed you need to ask for it up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_1950_New_Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right on the beach front (with sunbeds & umbrellas provided on the beach) and at the end of Kamari town, so right close to the shops but just far enough away from the noisy nightlife/restaurants. Beware, the downside is that this resort sits right under the flight path of planes landing at Kamari airport! I have never seen the underside of an A320 or Boeing 737 this close, and they are so loud! You kind of get used to it after a few days, although they do seem to stop between midnight and 7am approximately.

The pool is great, with free towels provided, although there is the problem of guests 'reserving' the sunbeds all around the pool then not sitting in them, but i'm sure this exists at all resorts.

The food is ok, breakfast was nice, with a big bowel of greek yoghurt and huge bowl of honey & also nutella every morning. There was some tinned fruit as well as fresh rock melon & watermelon most days, and there was also average bacon, eggs, sausages. The coffee is out of a large thermos, but was drinkable, and the juice was made from cordial, too sweet.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at reception, the dining room and the pool and bar. We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that.

The rooms were basic, clean and tidy and contained almost everything we needed. The air con was perfect! The only downside is that the mattresses were very firm, so firm that I have a sore patch on the side of each hip from sleeping on my sides (also we had 2 single beds pushed together rather than a double bed, which wasn't expected). The toiletries are very basic only, so bring your own shampoo and conditioner.

Overall I think this is good value for money, it had everything we needed in an idyllic location on the beachfront, except for the overhead planes and the hard beds. We really enjoyed our holiday, and it it wasn't for the overhead planes I would probably go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie_Kiwi_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel really improves your sense of humour. The hotel is at the end of the runway. Planes fly over - in peak hour - every fifteen minutes. The roar of an engine at 3am, 4am, 6am and then 10 between the hours of 8 - 10am. You can practically touch them. When you have a shower, the drains are so blocked that it comes up on the floor. The food is edible for the stray dogs. Definitely keep to a salad. The staff are lovely. I haven't seen heard any english for five days. It's a russian's poor club med. Suitable for hungry children that need feeding regularly. The aqua aerobics is in Russian. The children's 'play area' is outside my room. Wifi only possible in a small three by three metre area in reception. But it is Santorini, and its best to stay out of the hotel late have a few drinks which may help you sleep through the noise.

Room Tip: good luck... earplugs.. sense of humour and go to fira for the day - and eat there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rattyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamari hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#28 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#32 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites

Property: Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Address: Perivolos Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Sea Side Resort And Suites
Thalassa Sea Side Hotel Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing