We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small and cosy hotel.”
Review of Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alkyon
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first visit to Santorini and hotel Alkyon. This is simple clean and nice hotel. No fuss about nightclub or such. Friendly staff and atmosphere overall. Kids liked pool and big plus was that you could order food to the pool. Greek salad and club sandwiches - recommended. Rooms were cleaned every day and to us that was perhaps even too often but then again they were always nice and tidy. I can recommend this hotel to all who are not too keen on night activities. If you are not afraid of little walk to the Kamari center or to the beach (both are actually quite near) then this is ok for you too. Airport is quite near and planes landed and took off quite near but they did not disturb at night time. At least not us.

Room Tip: Take the room from back side of hotel. Then the evening sun heating the room. Well this is also quit...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuKa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Alkyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok if you are travelling on a budget. This hotel is situated a short walking distance away from the center/beach. It is not far, but it is a disadvantage compared to the other hotels in kamari. There was a lot of crockroachers in the room, I think we had to throw out 4 of them during our 7 nights stay. Simple breakfast. The room could have been cleaner. Wouldnt recommend it, there are many other good hotels in Kamari.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bendikte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria N, Ιδιοκτήτης at Alkyon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for your time ! Please pay attention to the followings : The hotel is within 5-8 minutes from the beach on foot. It is situated in the country and therefore if you find something in surroundings of the hotel is part of nature . Moreover fumigation controls are performed every year based on governmental laws and regulations. We hold the certification to verify the above . Based on Apollo critics about cleaning we are classified as excellent . We hold those critics too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I cannot really fault this hotel, customer service was great and it was clean and comfortable yet I was still underwhelmed by the experience there. This was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in on our Europe trip and so we had high expectations. We had a balcony which could have been furnished a lot better and made a little more appealing. Although we could see the sea in the distance, our main outlook was a large unattractive stone terrace and a main road on the other side. It was also very noisy. The pathway to the town was steep, rough and dirty and one I would not like to venture on my own at night. On a positive note the pool area was beautiful and Chris the barman was very friendly and provided a great service.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the road and not on the ground floor so as the balcony was a little...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhytcross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I was really positively surprised by this family run hotel, and the super friendly people that are running it.
They wholeheartedly do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable and cater to your every needs.
The hotel itself is flawless, very clean, spacious, beautiful. The hotel staff came to pick us up from the airport and took us back to the airport and never once lost their smile.
Breakfast was fantastic as well, overlooking the town of Mykonos with a stunning view of the sea.
I recommend this place and I will certainly go back myself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nkomp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel is excelent!!
The hotel is wonderful, The room is very clean and nice with a nice view of the town and the sea. The pool is fantastic, the breakfest is very good.
But most important is the hospility of the staff and special Sofia who made everything to help us!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel from september 10 to 17, 2011. The hotel is a very nice, family driven place. Very clean and proper. Nice pool. Brakfast with hard boiled eggs, cheese and ham. Youghurt with honey, and different kinds of jam. The only trouble is the location, which is very, very close to the landing aircrafts. So the noise can be annoying.The location is past the northern end of Kamari beach. The distance to the centre of the beach and the boardwalk is about 1 kilometer. There is no bus going there, so it is either a long walk or a taxi, if you don't rent a vehicle. There is a bus close by the hotel going to Fira, but only every hour or every hour and a half. The bus to Fira with departure every half hour goes from the centre. The boat to Perissa, and further to the Red Beach and White beach, goes from the opposite end of the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

this hotel is the favorite one.
they have great hospitality,perfect place.the rooms were very nice with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johny61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Avra Hotel
Avra Hotel
#49 of 75 in Kamari
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#53 of 75 in Kamari
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#46 of 75 in Kamari
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#32 of 75 in Kamari
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon

Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing