We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castro Hotel Kamari
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Castro location is good: nice views, short walk to services, bus route next to it. Swimming pool and cozy rooms with balcony are just great for the price. Also Wifi working in rooms. Breakfast is ok. Very friendly family! 2 times been there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minttu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel Castro is run by a very friendly Greek family. Almost always you can find some of the family members sitting in front of the hotel and chatting with their grandma. One of the daughters takes care of a wonderful tropical garden which provided fresh figs and grapes for the breakfasts. The rooms are very well kept and almost new. They have a large pool with several sunbeds and parasols. You can use A/C and fast wireless internet for free. They also provide a decent parking area.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk up-hills from Kamari beach very close to the open-air cinema. The breakfast are basic but decent enough: fresh bread, cheese, butter, jam, Greek yoghurt, some not home-made sweets, hot water, hotel-type coffee and fake juices. On some days you could get fresh fruit from their tropical garden.

The other daughter was a little bit too keen on using all available booking.com services. I was rather annoyed when my credit card was pre-authorised a week before my staying there. She also messed up some of the possibilities and booking.com informed me that I made a no-show on my second day of my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Great place to stay for a day or two, especially if you want to be near the airport. Has a really nice pool, clean and reasonably big rooms and the whole place looks and feels nice. 15 minute walk to the 'main drag' where there are some nice(ish) restaurants, bars etc and a beach of black sand.
Very good value for Santorini, but it is on the wrong side for the Caldera. Breakfast is VERY basic (bread, yoghurt and cake). Our pick-up for the airport was 25 minutes late and they charged 15 euros when a taxi would have charged no more than 10.
We had to change our booking at short notice and they were very good about that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoungerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We absolutely loved our stay in Santorini. The hotel was perfect for us. We were looking for a bargain hotel because we were on a budget. I wasn't sure what we were going to get because the hotel was so inexpensive. The hotel, room and bathroom were extremely clean. I can't stand filth and grime and this place didn't have any. The free breakfast was awesome. The owners made you feel very comfortable and were very helpful. The free wi-fi is very fast. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chemel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions une suite dans le bâtiment en face de l'accueil, très calme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdmame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanlouis1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasmin19962016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#15 of 75 in Kamari
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Acqua Vatos Hotel
#28 of 75 in Kamari
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0 mi away
Santa Elena Hotel
Santa Elena Hotel
#18 of 75 in Kamari
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castro Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Hotel Kamari

Address: Kamari, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range: £168 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castro Hotel Kamari 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes walk from the beautiful black beach of Kamari located Hotel Castro. It is a traditional, family-owned hotel, ideal for relaxation. Located on the east side of the island, the ideal place to see from the balcony of your room the magnificent sunrise from the sea. All rooms are clean and equipped with all modern amenities you may require, including air conditioning and free wireless internet. All rooms have private balconies with magnificent sea views, garden and pool. The outdoor swimming pool surrounded by tropical garden and swimming pool for children will give you beautiful moments of relaxation under the warm Mediterranean sun. In the evenings you can either create your own nights at the barbeque area of the hotel or take a stroll to the cosmopolitan beach of Kamari which is full of traditional restaurants, cafes, bars, shops and outdoor cinema. There is a car and motorbike rental service available at the hotel for guests who want to explore the magnificent island of Santorini further. A bus stop is located just 100 metres from the hotel, for guests who prefer to use public transport around the island. After a days exploration, the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel creates the perfect setting to revitalize and to spend unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castro Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castro Hotel Kamari Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing