We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“santolover”
Review of Kafouros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kafouros Hotel
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

been several times,love this island and this hotel,couldnt do enough for you.cant wait to return.basic but thats all i wanted.the loveboat bar is the place to go for drinks,very nice friendly people and plenty of free drinks too..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

Pay for what you get, lovely family and a very relaxed atmosphere, pool is great rooms basic but all you need. Short walk from the beach and very quiet. Loved the fact that we had the pool to ourselves and the family didnt mind us having guests. A traditional Greek Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbieabfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Although this was a last minute budget holiday, i did not expect it to be the way it was!
We were told that there was 24hour wifi in our room, it worked occasionally and only for around 30 minutes, it was useless! I must warn you that the airport is only down the road and sleeping in this hotel turned out to be a very big problem, aeroplanes fly extremely close and were very loud, and started as early as 5am and as late as 10-11pm, so this did tend to wake us up every morning.
The cleaner was very nice and did a very good job cleaning our room everyday, at one point i offered to help as the heat was terrible, i don't know how she managed the way she did, so i thank her for the great job she did!
The pool was not very clean, you could see black stuff at the bottom, there was NEVER anybody around the poolside in the bar or at reception, so it seemed literally impossible to talk to anyone who was related to the hotel if we had a problem...also the front door we had was the loudest i have ever heard, it rubbed against the floor everytime it was closed and most definitely woke half the hotel up!
The owners don't speak very good english, but they have a daughter who does.
The electricity sockets in the room was extremely unsafe, hanging from the wall...the shower head was broken and sprayed everywhere, kept coming undone and was never attached to the wall, so it was very hard to have a comfortable shower.
We had a rather large cockroach in our bathroom at one point and blocked the hole we thought it was coming out of. We booked the room for self catering and all we got was a single hob (had to ask for an extra hob so i could at least cook pasta in one and something else on the other) and a fridge...no freezer...kettle...oven....toaster...nothing, so how we managed to eat properly without those appliances i don't know, as it was too expensive to eat out. Apart from all these bad points, it was the most beautiful place to stay for scenery! Plenty of ways to get around the island etc...very pleased with the holiday, apart from the hotel. But in the end, what you get is what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hazeyblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The only positive I have to say about this hotel is that the exterior looks pretty. That's it! We were a group a friends for a Bachelorette weekend (3 nights) and the first night in Kafouros Hotel we ended up all sleeping in the same room (4 people) because the one room had cockroaches. We tried to inform the reception (it was 11:00pm) of the problem, but the reception was closed and there was no emergency contact number. This hotel is a family run business but that's no excuse to not have a contact number available 24/7. Also, the towels were old and worn out, the sheets were stained and the fridge would freeze everything (there was no temperature control). The only thing new and clean in the rooms were 21in. tv 's. To add to all this we were told that the rooms have air condition - they did BUT they charged extra 5 euros per day for the remote control! Finally, the last thing that this hotel said they provided was free WiFi access - NO, there was no internet anywhere. After all these issues we had, we thought if we just talk to the owner she would understand and help us out- she didn't - she was rude and unprofessional. Santorini is such an amazing island that it would be a shame if anyone went to this hotel - it will ruin your time there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stelphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

If youre looking for modern luxury this is not the hotel for you. It is a traditional, old building which is nice to look at but run down and tatty in places.
It felt like we were too early in the season and the hotel was not ready. The hotel was mostly empty which was nice, but also lacked atmosphere.

We had a small child and requested a cot. When we arrived, they had no knowledge of our child or the cot. We had to change rooms to accomodate the cot which did arrive (broken). The room was nice with a comfy bed and plenty of room. The fridge and the hotplate worked well for simple meals.

We then found out the bathroom had no light and another light was not working. This took 4 days to correct. The bathroom had a leak and the floor was always wet. The shower was old with no holder for the head, but there was lots of hot water.

Another point was that the lights in the stairwells and landings outside the room did not work or were not switched on which made it difficult returning in the dark with a pushchair.

The swimming pool was nice and was clean, but the drains around the edge stuck up in places cutting my boys toe.

The sunbeds were old and many had been repaired, but were OK.

The breakfast was included and was very basic, with coffee and toast with jam, but was welcome anyway.

The family were nice and friendly with the daughter speaking good english.

The location was OK for us, its on the outskirts of town but still close enough to go out and was quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperSpooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My daughter 19 years old and I had a nice stay here from April 26th - 3rd May 2011.
We were the only people here and Adonnis, Georgia and their daughter were very friendly.
One evening Adonnis came and gave us a couple of glasses of wine, home made I think because it was a bit sharp, not to my daughters taste but I drank both glasses. On another evening when I came back alone he offered me a glass of Ouzo and gave me some help and advice(concerning my daughter working there) while I drank the Ouzo.
We were on the first floor and it was clean and simple, room cleaned every two days, continental breakfast was coffee, orange juice, bread, butter & jam, enough to start the day. As I said friendly family run hotel.
If by any chance you should go to Thira, the capital, be careful not to get ripped off like we did, Two beers, one cactus juice and one bakalarva cost 37 euros, BIG TIP ALWAYS SEE THE PRICE LIST BEFORE YOU ORDER, if you can't see the prices shown outside DON'T go into the bar/restaurant. Apart from that nice weather and enjoyed the stay.
One other tip cheap transfer to airport with Ancient Thira tours situated at the other end of the village by Navydivers cost only 10 euros for 2 people from hotel, best book a couple of days in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sqaw2sqaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed 7 nights in a room at the groundfloor. It was ok, but when you opened the door, you colud hear and see the people from the pull. The breakfast was not ok (margarine in stead of butter, a little bit of jam and some cheap juice)-we decided to pass eventhough we already paid. Also, it was hard to find someone from the staff (there was nobody in the reception of the hotel most of the time). The beach was close, but not the main area.
In spite of al those things, we had a lovely stay, we felt very relaxed and the hotel has a good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oanavoicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Avra Hotel
Avra Hotel
#50 of 75 in Kamari
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#44 of 75 in Kamari
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#11 of 75 in Kamari
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castro Hotel Kamari
Castro Hotel Kamari
#53 of 75 in Kamari
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#48 of 75 in Kamari
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafouros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafouros Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £41 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kafouros Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kafouros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kafouros Studios Santorini
Kafouros Studios Hotel Santorini
Kafouros Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing