We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”
Review of Kostas Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kostas Studios
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Much nicer than I expected for the price. Clean tidy rooms, pay per use wifi available, good value poolside bar and lovely staff. Kostas, Joe and Zoe are all very welcoming. The recent refurbishments mean that the prior negative reviews are very far from the reality. Being a little way from the strip is a massive advantage because it's pretty quiet at night, and situated among lots of restaurants rather than clubs. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaddieRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We travelled as 2 couples looking for a cheap holiday and looking to enjoy some sun and having stayed at 2/3 Star Studios and Apartments before we thought these would be of the same standard and would be comfortable for sleeping and getting ready in... well the Kostas Studios proved this theory wrong.
First off we arrived at 05.45 and the reception was empty then some guy who I can only describe as night security? walked over and said he will go and get the owner, he will be 5 minutes, well half an hour plus later the owner arrived swiftly took my passport and gave us no further information on check out times, safes, air-con etc. gave us our room keys and left us to get on with it..
Rooms - well the rooms are run down and not very clean the bathroom can only be described as a 'wet room' as there is no separate shower cubicle so when you showered the whole bathroom, toilet and sink got soaked and you only get towels every 3 days - not ideal when everything keeps getting soaked. The sheets on the bed and towels were not exactly clean and the room is very basic. As these are studios you get cutlery glasses etc. we would only use the glasses as we eat out on holiday but if you did want to make anything or have a cup of tea the facilities for this are very poor. Fridge is decent size on the plus side.
Sockets - these were very unsafe in both rooms we had and both my wife and my friend had shocks from the sockets this left us working with the one safe socket (at the kitchen) in each room which is not ideal.
Cleaner - Well she came around every day, not sure what she done and then on the 3rd day she would change sheets and towels.
Owner - On the 2nd day I went to reception at 10am thinking the owner would be there - again no sign of him so I asked at the Bar and was told I would need to go to his shop down the road I went down and again he wasn't there but someone in the shop called him and said he would be up shortly - 2 hours later he appears. I go to ask for my passport back but he insists on keeping it or getting one from someone else in the rooms as he needs to keep this as 'insurance' if we are to break anything more like blackmail so I insisted and said I required this as I was going on a day trip to Athens he gave me my passport but said he would like it back - I wasn't going to Athens and he wasn't getting it back. I just found it insulting that he expects people to break things and to be honest there is nothing to even break in these rooms.
Check Out - As we were never told when check out was we assumed that it would be 12noon as stated on the poster on the apartment doors (silly us) fortunately we were told by a couple at the pool that it is 9am and that there is a small poster close to reception that states this indeed this was the case. 08:50 on the morning of check out the owner knocks on the door saying 'Time to Go' which we all thought was rude and considering he never shows face any other time a bit laughable.
Plus sides - Studios from the Outside and the Pool area look off a good standard and the English couple who run the pool bar are very nice and friendly. The location is good for getting to the Strip and Beach and is also good for going to Kalamaki and other areas close by.
Overall we had a good time and we never let the apartments spoil our holiday - there is lots to do in Zante not just Laganas - St Nicholas Beach for Water Sports, Cameo Island, Water Park, Zante Town, Turtle Spotting, Snorkelling, Boat Trips (Blue Caves, Shipwreck etc.) and lots of nice restaurants - especially along the beach in the evening for a more relaxing scene and nice food. We hired Quad Bikes and these were great for getting around the island to different spots.
I would recommend Zante and Laganas however Kostas Studios would be a big AVOID if anyone asked.
If anyone would like some information on Zante or the lovely Kostas Studios please let me know.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

AVOID THIS PLACE, Dirty run down rooms, cracked shower base with dirty hair in the drain, sheets were stained and when i asked for them to be changed got a very hostal response. no kettle in room and dishes dirty also one of the glasses had been cracked , fridge door all rusted and wardrobe door hanging off. All guests had to depart the rooms by 9am and while we were there alot of people had 6am flights the following morning had to depart their rooms the day before at 9am . Lots of young girls there making lots of noise 4-5am in the morning.The owner came to your rooms just before 9am to make sure you were out and also held onto your passports until day of leaving. No one there on arrival so had to go to find owner or son in a shop down the road. Absolutely hated the place have stayed in Laganas before and have never had such terrible accomodation or horrible owners definately would never ever go back . (pics to follow)

Room Tip: Dirty run down Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sherco62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kostas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kostas Studios

Address: Stalis | Crete, Greece, Laganas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Number of rooms: 281
Also Known As:
Kostas Studios Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing