We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY - Sept 19th until 30th SELF CATERING”
Review of Hotel Karras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Karras
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Rooms are located approx 700metres from the nightlifewere. Rooms very spacious and quiet at night time, local to all amenities - beach, restaurants and supermarkets. Recommend Avanti & Appolon restaurants and beach restaurant Horizon which also have free sunbeds all day. Local to airport but unable to hear aircraft during night time. Transfer taxi is approx 17 euro and about 15minutues away from Karras Hotel. Locals very helpful and friendly.
Gwyn & Janet - South Wales.

Room Tip: room views are the best from 312 - 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwentSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed there last September and the appartments were small and basic. The pool area had loads of loungers as i think most people went explring during the day and the beach is just down the road. I was one of the best holidays because of the pool bar, we got to know everyone there and it really did make the holiday.
There are a few very nice restaurants around the corner and we hired quad bikes and travelled around the island a bit and went to other beaches that do water sports. The locals were very friendly too. I recommend this place but not for the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

There was little we could fault about the Karras - it was clean, friendly staff and lovely pool & bar area. As a group of four 18 year olds on a first girly holiday away the hotel was perfect! It wasn't on top of the strip (about a 15min walk away) so was quiet at night, always staff available at whatever time and maid service everyday.

The room itself was basic, we didn't make much use of the minimal kitchen appliances offered apart from the fridge - which was very useful! We booked on a self-catering basis and went to the supermarkets everyday! There are about 3 supermarkets about a 5 min walk away from the hotel with reasonably priced products.

On arrival we had to pay a 25 euro safety deposit each which we was unaware of however upon leaving the hotel you get this back. The hotel is situated in a ideal position if you want to be able to access the strip on a regular basis however do not want to be on top of it! We went to the strip every night for dinner and clubs and had no trouble at all!

The other people at the hotel were groups of teenagers much like ourselves, everyone was friendly and it was a lovely atmosphere with the pool bar blasting out the latest english songs.

One issue we had in our room was we wasnt provided a bath mat therefore everytime we had a shower the floor flooded, however after speaking to reception about 30mins later we were given a mat. One main issue we had was our shower head, the appliance to hold the shower head had broken which made it difficult to shower, we reported to reception and never received any help, we just managed as best as we could, which was annoying!

The hotel is lovely and there is little to fault however the price. We overpaid compared to most people staying in Lagana. We paid around £550-600 for our accommodation, flights and coach transfer, in hindsight we would have definitely choose to stay elsewhere. As a first holiday it was very pleasurable, however the price was too much for what is actually on offer. We have heard positive recommendations about other hotels, so perhaps if we go back we look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 and had an amazing holiday! the Hotel is clean and the staff were very helpful, when we needed more towels or clean sheets we just asked and it was no problem! rooms were nice with a good balcony. Pool area is really nice plenty of sunbeds and the snack bar served nice homemade food. 5 minute walk from the beach and about a ten minute walk to the strip, but plenty of bars on the way to get your night started! The strip is great so many good bars and clubs to choose from and girls dont have to pay to get in which was a bonus! brilliant resort and great hotel would definetely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms within the courtyard are the best to meet people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacey_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Travelled here in June 2009 with my boyfriend, both in our 20's. The hotel rooms are basic but what else would you be needing them for only sleeping in!! Towels were cleaned everyday, as was the bed clothes and the general cleaning of the room. The weather was fantastic, 30 degrees plus, heaven! The hotel pool was perfect and the sunloungers were always available. Food served at the poolbar was lovely!

I would recommend renting out a quad and travelling around the island, well worth the views and the experience! The strip is mental!! Clubs open until 8 in the morning..craziness!! Would be an ideal cheap place for a group of friends!

Highly recommend this hotel for couples and groups of friends, however i wouldn recommend the resort for families!

Any questions feel free to ask! :)

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sjairmamhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Karras in the last week of may with a friend this year. We chose the Karras as we wanted a holiday where we could make the most out of the nightlife, and that we did!

The room itself was great, very spacious. Good working bathroom, shower was impressive! The maids only came in once to change the towels which was a bit annoying, but I supposed we could've asked at reception. We had a big balcony at the front of the hotel which was lovely. It was very quiet in the hotel when we stayed there, only 2 or 3 people around the pool at any time. Pool bar was great for snacks and drinks, not too expensive, lots of shops and little supermarkets near by.

As it's self catering we went out for a meal every night, BE WARNED, you will get hassled everywhere you go! Even a casual stroll down to the beach you will get stopped by someone pulling you into their restaurant. The first couple of days we just went in but if you say no and just keep walking they'll leave you alone.

If you're going to the Karras for nightlife then this hotel is great, it's a short walk from the bars which lead onto the main strip. Again you'll get dragged in every few metres by some cocky 18-year-old british rep who pretends to be your best mate, but to be fair by going into al the different bars, we knew our favourites within a few days. Drinks aren't too expensive but not exactly cheap, nearly all bars do 2 cocktails for 6euro with a free shot. Don't buy drinks in the clubs!!! Too expensive!

If you are going in may and are worried the nightlife won't be any good, don't be! I would recommend going towards the end of may as that's when the big nightclubs start to open, Waikikis is fab! In general though the main bars on the strip were busy all week!

We didn't have any noise problems in this hotel, like I said it was very quiet and out of season, except the horrible coaches going by at all hours, as we were at the front of the hotel (which is on a road) and kept our windows open they often woke me up.

The air con isn't free but as it was may we didn't need it, so I can't comment on that! Hotel staff were very friendly and the reception is open 24hr which is great if you plan on coming home at 6.30am like we did!

Take a stroll down the main strip in the day and find somewhere that does excursions, we did a full day boat trip around the island with 3 or 4 stops including a swimming and sunbathing stop at the famous ship wreck cove (well worth a visit!) for just 25 euros each!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie-Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Last May me and my family went to Laganas in Zakynthos, we stayed at Karras. The rooms are prety simple, but clean and fresh, just live a little tip to the maid and she does the dishes and extra nie. The staff here is wonderful and really wants to help out when you need directions or other arrangements.
Since we have a 5-yearold we didn´t went around a lot, some days just walked down to the beach and then stayed by the Karras pool during the afternoon. Good service and very relaxing.
Don´t miss a boat trip to the "Shipwreck Bay" it´s amazing. To go and see the "Blue Caves" I recomend that you go up the Island by car and then take a tour with the local boatsmen in Agios Nikolaos, they will take you in to the Caves and also stay for a swim there, it as wonderful and really something special, and cheap.
It´s also pretty cheap to ent a car here.
Enjoy! We really loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luleaiscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Belussi Beach
Hotel Belussi Beach
#3 of 3 in Kypseli
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zante Park Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Selyria Resort
Selyria Resort
#44 of 51 in Tsilivi
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Astir Palace Hotel
Astir Palace Hotel
#48 of 73 in Laganas
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karras

Address: Laganas 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Laganas
Price Range: £41 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karras 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karras Hotel is located in a quiet part of the famous summer resort of Laganas located hardly 300 metres from the beach and 700 metres from resort's center.Karras operates on a self-catering basis with fully equipped kitchen facilities, 24-hour reception desk and is suitable for couples and families that seek comfortable holidays and an exciting experience overall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Karras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing