We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems for us - but for other people there were”
Review of Hotel Karras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Karras
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No problems for us - but for other people there were”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel does cheekily as for 25 euros that has to be given as a deposit upon arrival which isnt really what you want when you arrive on holiday. This is for breakages and we did get it back at the end of the week - but other people who were staying at the hotel did not which caused alot of problems.
The staff were friendly - however warnings are handed out for noise even if its not actually you making the noise.
If you want to be super near the strip then this hotel probably isnt what you are looking for - a good 15 minute walk or alot longer if you have been drinking.
The towels were cleaned or replaced everyday, but beds were made and the floor was cleaned by the maid.
The most annoying thing was that the hotel does not cater for late flights - we were asked to leave our room at 11am and our flight was not til 6am the next day. We had to wait around and have our suit cases sitting in the reception area. There were no rooms available for people to go int - which isnt helpful in the 35+ degree heat!

Room Tip: bottom floor rooms mean theres a chance that there would be noisy people walking past at stupid oclo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniewhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    44
    35
    28
    48
See reviews for
40
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After a long night flight a group of 8 of us arrived to what from the outside looked a lovely hotel.
However upon arrival we were given 7 beds for 8 of us and we had to rotate sleeping on the floor as the hotel wouldn't get us another bed or swap rooms as there was no space in our room and no other rooms in the hotel.
The hotel also mucked up our booking so that two girls had to move rooms as the hotel told them they had only booked a hotel for a day.
Apart from the mere disorganisation of the hotel ,the lights and stove didn't work and the air con smelt of cigarette smoke which was problematic for the asthmatic girls in our room.
There are no cooking utensils and all the maid does is empty the bin and clean the floor.
Our bed sheets and towels were not changed for the duration of our stay .
Although the staff were friendly they couldn't fix our problems and due to all the switching we were awake for two days .
Be wary of the staff as they tried to charge us 30 euros for the safe and another group 20
we managed to haggle aircon down to 30 for a week instead of 42.
They over charge on everything .
Everyone was made to pay a 25 euro deposit each which was a surprise to all groups on arrival as we had read it was 25 euros per room.
I do not recommend for families as it is noisy up until atleast 7:30 in the morning and I don't recommend staying there if you want to be close to the strip because a sober walk it is 25 mins but drunk can take up to 45.
Furthermore the walls are so thin you can hear people on the toilet , talking etc in all the rooms down your hall.
Not only this but it is situated near what is referred to as "rape alley" and all the street lights nearby go off at some point in the night.
It is situated closely to a HALF WAY house which made us girls feel uneasy.
The pool was expensive and the owners were not very friendly
The pool is not attached to the hotel as advertised in pictures on the hotel's website it is owned by different people.
There is never enough sunbeds and you can constantly hear aeroplanes going past.
In general it was a nightmare stay.
To note if you stay there , you have to check out 11 am and they have no where to store your bags if the flight is later. We had to find another hotel with space and pay 10 euros each . Consequently this hotel was much friendlier , nicer and was the same price as Karras. It was a two second walk and we went there most days for breakfast it was called the Canadian. If you go to stay at Karras you will understand once you have seen the Canadian what I mean.
Overall this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I preferred sleeping the desert in a sleeping bag.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charli_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laganas hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Upon arrival after checking in over th road from a half way house, if you are allocated enough beds for your party then you are doing well, if not be prepared for some nights on the floor/sofa/camp bed or your bath which could be classified as a large sink. Cupboards are broken, lights do not work and shower is not attached to wall. Map location is incorrect and it is a 25-35 minute from the strip and is definitely not 300m from the beach as claimed on he website meaning restaurants and car/quad bike hire places are more expensive. No hotel pool. Rip off for aircon (45 euros per week) and safe (25 euros).. Despite website indicating a deposit of 25euros per room, they charge 25euros per person. When asking workers where the worst hotel was it was named by all. It is not suitable for couples or families due to the overbearing noise of drunken holiday makers 10ppm-2am. kitchen lacks any equipment, rooms do not have tvs or working radios, no guaranteed view, aircon smels of cigarettes, rooms are not cleaned dailiy - false advertising. If you are looking for budget holidy stay at the canadian, it is cheaper, nicer, cleaner and closer to the strip!!

Room Tip: no rooms are worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blonndefruitloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Yeah it's false advertising the rooms are crap! Loads of broken stuff they try to blame you for and take your deposit for even though it happened before you got there. the maid or some worker stole my iPhone 5 then because the police came she replaced it in my shoe.. (I turned the room upside down) ... Rooms were cleaned every OTHER day and you had to ask for clean towels, and by asking for them we got them two days later. Hotel staff are very very rude. I'd seriously listen to the bad reviews... Wish we did and not wasted money! Try somewhere else! There's cheaper and better around :) .... Oh and the rep mugs you off for events .. Buy tickets from the club!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ab199131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013, there was 7 of us, all family, with ages ranging from 3 to 82! - We have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. The apartments are cleaned and serviced regularly and the pool bar is just fine, selling food from 9am-9pm, Although Laganas gets a bad reputation with youngsters, I and all of my party did not find this at all, Karras is just the right distance away to be as involved or not as you would like. This might be because we were very early in the season however.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Laura_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed at Karras at the start of July 2012 on a lads holiday, couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Rooms were a lot better than we expected and the pool isn't half bad. The manager keeps everyone in order but he's got a bit of banter about him aswell... particularly fond of the girls but aren't they all. The pool is pretty good but drinks at the hotel are a bit expensive... if you walk 10 seconds from the bar there's a small shop that sells exactly the same drinks for a third of the price, as you can imagine the barman wasn't all too pleased when he saw us waddle past with bags full of beer and big grins across our faces however. I've read lots of horror stories about people getting their rooms broken into and all their belongings stolen but everything was fine for us and no-one else in the hotel had any problems. Had no issue with bringing girls back to the hotel either, apparently some people at other hotels got charged for it but the security guy at Karras just gives you a wink and goes on his way. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the strip with plenty of restaurants/bars along the way and the walk back is full of people whether you stumble home at 1am or 6am you don't need to worry about being mugged by a creepy Greek man. On that note, watch out for the little gypsy kids that run around at night, they're not there for your enjoyment, they're on a mission to rob you blind. Overall, all of us had a wicked holiday and i'd gladly stay at Karras again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isaac1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our stay at Hotel Karras was good, we were made to feel very welcome by the pool bar owner "Spiros" and his wife. He made us a few BBQ's, and gave us good recommendations for restaurants. Turtle island cruise was amazing and also our trip to smugglers cove. I wouldn't go back to Laganas though, too crazy! Party central, and not the place to go with your boyfriend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleigh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
6.0 mi away
Karras Grande Resort
Karras Grande Resort
#31 of 51 in Tsilivi
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 74 in Laganas
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 74 in Laganas
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#24 of 74 in Laganas
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karras

Property: Hotel Karras
Address: Laganas 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karras 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karras Hotel is located in a quiet part of the famous summer resort of Laganas located hardly 300 metres from the beach and 700 metres from resort's center.Karras operates on a self-catering basis with fully equipped kitchen facilities, 24-hour reception desk and is suitable for couples and families that seek comfortable holidays and an exciting experience overall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Karras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing