We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok POOL BAR FANTASTIC”
Review of Hotel Karras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Karras
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel ok POOL BAR FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

First of all dont listen to bad reviews just got back today after a week here yeh rooms r basic but wat do u expect for price rooms cleaned daily and topped up with clean towels nd loo rolls hot water all week and now to the pool bar spyros absolut gem makes ur night gabrielle great too she doesn't speak much English but u find a way of understanding her barbecue was like the last supper but we had a second barbecue with it being a holiday members birthday nd showed spyros the right way of doing it!! Food great beer cheap (henry) the lizard lodger been here for 3yr and eats all the insects OVERALLL!!! Wouldnt come back to laganas but did have a great time due to spyros gabrielle nd our zante family xxxxxxxxx

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceywace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    44
    35
    28
    48
See reviews for
40
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have just got back last night from staying at Hotel Karras with my Mam. I would stay in this hotel again simply to see Spiros (the pool bar man) again, he made our holiday. First off I would like to say if you are looking to be next to the strip, in a 4 star hotel with lots of comfort don't come here. I have no complaints because we booked a cheap holiday so I wasn't expecting much. Also I've been to Greece a few times and know what to expect of a 3 star hotel. My thought is you hardly spend any time in your room while on holiday, why be that bothered about it.

The reception staff were lovely, they always had a smile for us when we walked past. I thought the prices for the aircon and to keep the room on on our last day were quite cheap.
I've read a lot of bad reviews on here but I would ignore them it really isn't that bad. Your holiday is what you make of it so don't get too hung up on the room.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the strip so maybe if you're staying for a party holiday it might not be the place for you but if you want somewhere a bit removed from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk to then stay at Karras.

One thing to note though, I would not use this hotel if you have young children as there isn't much for them to do. There is a children's pool but that is about it. There was a lovely family with a 21month old little boy who were told that the hotel had a play area which it does not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikki282004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend went stayed at this hotel last year for 2 weeks in august. this was my firs holiday abroad with no parents so when we first entered our room was a little unsure. our room was very basic and not the cleanest but to be honest you hardly spend any time in the room if your going to be going out and you start to ignore the little things that bothered you at first. we both really enjoyed our time here and would come back. however thwere were a few bad things we wish didnt happen-
had no hot water for first week
air con expensive
run out of loo roll every day
got checked out our room a day early had to pay for extra night


good things-
main location
brilliant pool and pool bar
music around the pool
bbqs around the pool
sell laughing gas around pool


overall would definatly come again zante is a great place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Me and 5 other girls stayed in this hotel in august 2013. Our rooms were average, they had everything essential but nothing special. The shower was laughable it was so bad, but it was usable all the same, took twice as long to have a shower as it ran like a dripping tap. That was really the only bad thing about this hotel. The rooms were cleaned every day, clean towels and toilet paper were always handy, and they would leave us clean sheets too. The balcony's face each other as you can see in the photos so there was a lot of noise and interaction between other teenagers staying at the hotel.
The pool is awesome, always spare beds available, very quiet and hardly used. The pool snack bar on the other hand was ridiculously expensive. As they don't allow you to have your own drinks/food around the pool, one can of coke was 2.50 but the staff are really friendly. There is a shop right next to the pool, just down 4 or 5 steps which is cheap as chips for alcohol and noodles (Essential for Zante)
There wasn't many english people in the hotel, the majority of teenagers were foreign. It's about a 15/20 minute walk from the strip but taxi's are only 4 euros, they even used to let six of us in a 5 seat taxi. ( Horse and carriage are cheaper and absolutely hilarious when you're drunk for the way back, their are plenty available on the strip)
DO NOT BUY CHEAP VODKA or 'vodac' as labled on the bottle. This essentially ruined our holiday, if you're going to buy vodka buy bottled branded vodka. The cheap vodka made us so ill one of our friends had to go to hospital for 4 hours of oxygen and we were all coughing up green stuff all week.
The boat party is absolutely fantastic!!!! By far the best night of my life, there are no rules on this boat. Best bars were Barcode, the staff were amazing, paul and frankie <3 <3 Cherry bay is good but always packed and we went to Waikiki every night it was so good. G-spot have the fittest staff alive so get there if you fancy some eye candy.
The white party was rubbish in our opinion, we paid 30 euros for a ticket and left shortly after it started. The place and island was stunning but the music and people were a drag, the drinks were far too expensive for the size of them, 5 euros for a party cup of sex on the beach.
Going out for evening meals was great, for 15 euros you can have a 3 course meal and unlimited bar in practically any restaurant.
P.S laughing gas is amazing! It doesn't last long but it's so worth a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiebloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Ok I'll start off with the fact I've always been on family holidays in 5 star hotels - so it's safe to say for my first mates holiday I was worried about where I'd be staying. What made it worse was the bad reviews...which where completely not the case.

Firstly this hotel is NOT for families at all... I did not see one person over 25.

The rooms are basic but have all the essentials you need. There where a few dents and stain here and there on the shower curtain and couch but what do you expect ? They can't buy a new sofa after every week of teens staying in that have caused them stains.

The sheets and towels where changed every day! The maids where great they mopped the room every other day too and I asked for more towels and she gave us a few times and was always given them.

The security guard was a classic too - people calling him need to think: he works nights, dealing with drunk teenagers so if you don't treat him with respect of course he won't treat you with respect. He let's you play music and be loud until 12 but then he will get a bit high rated If you don't but that's because his manager is Abit of a ***. We received a few noise letters due to complaints but we just decided to chat to him when pre drinking giving him a few drinks and had a kick around which he loved as most of the other teens treated him like ****. So he was always nice to us. So if you want the staff to be nice be nice back!

The pool was the best bit we spent all day there - food was pretty good too, with a shop next door. The guy who owns the pool bar with his wife are great too we hardly spoke to them yet they gave us free laughing gas in the day and shots before we went out. It is Abit pricey so some days and your not allowed your own drinks and food round the pool but we just hid them some days and he never said anything.

Location: the beach is a 1 min walk and the strip is about 5-10 min walk which we where worried about but the walks where the funniest and it ment when you wanted to nap in the day it was quiet.

Tip: THE FOOD IN THE RESTAURANTS IN ZANTE ARE DISGUSTING.

GO ON THE VVIP BOOZE CRUISE AND WHITE PARTY THEY WHERE THE BEST DAY

AND DONT BUY OFF YOUR REPS

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ktl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel were so welcoming and friendly - they made sure that our stay was welcome and that families visiting we're not distracted by a 24 hour guard! Suitable for families & teens. Would highly recommend and go back myself. The only problem was that the man in the pool bar is very harsh on boys staying there but lovely with all girls. Had no problems during my stay in this hotel! Hope this helps!! :)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

i have just got back from here a day ago and i loved every minute of my stay here. after reading reviews i was a bit.. but my god people moan about anything.you literally get what you pay for. yes on arrival we waited 1 hour for our room which i wasnt happy about but was solved! as for the room was fine. yes it doesnt look the bees knees but after one night there and you settle in its good. SPIROS the hotel/foob pool bar guy was great! couldnt of asked for a better bloke! brought us so much laughter! even went out his way to go buy me some curry sauce!just went that extra mile to help. i honistly cant fault this place. near the strip, the beach everything! perfect location! we also met an amazing friendly couple called ann n kieth.made our holiday even better! but defo reccomend this to any one, i cant wait to go back next year!!!!!!

Room Tip: if you like to see whats going on get the rooms in the middle, like in the concaved area at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlydimbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
6.0 mi away
Karras Grande Resort
Karras Grande Resort
#30 of 51 in Tsilivi
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 73 in Laganas
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#23 of 73 in Laganas
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karras

Property: Hotel Karras
Address: Laganas 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karras 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karras Hotel is located in a quiet part of the famous summer resort of Laganas located hardly 300 metres from the beach and 700 metres from resort's center.Karras operates on a self-catering basis with fully equipped kitchen facilities, 24-hour reception desk and is suitable for couples and families that seek comfortable holidays and an exciting experience overall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Karras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing