We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care more for non residents than their own customers”
Review of Nemesis Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nemesis Studios
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel rooms are reasonably equipped with hair dryers TVs and good kitchen equipment. The cleaner was efficient too and any minor issues were resolved quickly such has extra towels but and a big but the advertised cafe/bar's late opening was cancelled on our first full day this wouldn't normally have been a problem but due to its remote location there wasn't a bar locally to use after 6pm and you couldn't even use the facilities as all lights were turned off round the bar after 6pm and the separate reception area was also used by the handyman/security guard as a bedroom- yes I did say used as a bedroom. We queried the reason for the early closure and the rep came back saying it wasn't worth opening late because the hotel across the road had shut and a lot of their bar customers come from there so looking after another hotel's customers not their own. Would I go back possibly but only in main season the attitude of the manager was the main issue and lack of providing the advertised amenities for their customers and not the actual hotel itself

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logical1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

upon planning our trip to Zante, we wanted cheap, close to the strip and beach, and clean. It's east to say that Nemesis was all of those things. It's worth paying the little extra for Nemesis than for hotels like Dimis and Ionian Art. The rooms are bigger and cleaner, it's just out of the strip (10 minute walk away) so you don't get any noise, the staff are incredibly friendly (and they don't make a fuss about you being noisy or bringing people back to your room, which most other Zante hotels do.) When our aircon (downside it was an extra 50euro) wasn't working, someone came to fix it, and check on it later on. The pool snack bar was great if you were hungry but cba to walk anywhere, also the onsite supermarket stocked EVERYTHING you could ever need from magazines, food (english brands too), water, alcohol, sun cream, souvenirs and more. The staff were lovely, including the owner Spiros who helped my friend who collapsed due to the heat! And Banos, who gave us free shots and drinks every day (though be warned he is a little 'over friendly' with the female guests, but he's harmless).

The pool was clean, not crowded so there was never a fight for sun beds. Pool table and children's swings/slide etc too. It's a small hotel, which we thought was lovely and intimate. We met some lovely girls on the 2nd day with whom we ended up sharing our holiday with! There wasn't many lads staying (assuming they wanted a cheaper hotel closer to the strip) which was nice actually because you could enjoy a peaceful day by the pool!

If you cut through the Havana beach club, the sea front (beautiful sandy beach, clear clean sea, and sun beds for 2euros each) is about a 2-5 minute walk! And after a night on the strip, walk back along the beach and cut through Havana to get to the hotel. You'll save yourselves a lot of time. Just don't walk alone!

Overall, I could recommend Nemesis to anyone, even couples as it's not packed with loud drunken teens, not when i was there anyway. It was perfect for my girly holiday of 2 guests. If I went back to Laganas, I would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra 50euros for air con and a 20euros for the safe, it's worth it to know your room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kirstieboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I don't normally write reviews but having just returned from a weeks stay in the Nemesis Studios I felt I must share what a great place this is!
The complex consists of around 12 studios and has an outdoor pool, bar/restaurant and supermarket on-site, which are competetively priced. The complex is run by a family and on our visit close family friends were also working the bar. Everyone is extremely friendly & helpful and speak both Greek & English, with the exception of the cleaner. The rooms are well equipped, large enough for self-catering and are cleaned daily. Towels & bedding are changed weekly and safetly deposit boxes and air-con are available at a charge, which is all the norm anywhere. The pool area is spotless and then pool and surrounding areas are cleaned daily and there are ample, and what looked like relativley new, sunbeds available. The bar serves a range of drinks, snacks and meals, all at good prices and we enjoyed everything we tried there. We spent quite a few of our nights in the bar area which was welcoming, especially the happy hours, and entertaining, mainly with the staff!!
The location is very good, only a 2 minute walk to the beach and less than 10 minutes to the centre of 'the strip', if that's your kind of thing. If not then there are numerous bars and restaurants located within a very short walk in all directions. As per a previous reviewer there are other larger complexes nearby and there was quite a few 'early' deliveries of supplies and water during our stay, but it is quiet at night and didn't cause us any real issue. It cost us 17 Euros each way from the airport by taxi which is far cheaper than the 'transfers' offered by our tour operator, so we are really pleased we didn't take their package option. As for the tour operator, we didn't hear from the rep once (we did see him twice but he didn't introduce himself) which suited us just fine and the owners and staff helped us with anything we wanted.
To sum up, we have never been back to the same place twice in all our years of travelling, but if we ever go back to Zante we will definitely stay at the Nemesis!
Thank you to Doullas, Spiros, Panos, Sarah, Kim and all for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ7T3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This small appt complex is without doubt the nicest property we have holidayed in,Doulla@Spiros and there fabulous staff could not do enough for us,lovely big appts,plenty balcony space,rooms cleaned daily,each of us had a hand towel,bath towel,changed regularly[where in Greece do you get that].Excellent priced supermarket has every thing you need,if they dont stock a certain product they will try there damndest to get it for you.Now to the staff,Sarah,Steve,kitchen staff and girls in supermarket,other hotels should take a leaf out there book,and thanks for the Perfect pint of Mythos.Last but not least Dora the Explorer our lovely cleaner althoough she cant speak much english we were still able to communicate with her with the little knowledge of Greek we know,she is a gem of a lady,Pool area spotless plenty sunbeds and brollies,bar food excellent you must taste Doullas,Kleftiko,youvetsi,chicken curry all cooked fresh on the premisis.Once again thanks for a skataaaaa holiday and see you all next May.Mary and Skataaaa Stewart.xxxx

Room Tip: You wont get a bad room hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesfaeayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

There were 9 of us (all girls) so spread across 3 rooms staying at the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted- if thats the word by security 'who shuns you and acts more like he is in the mafia. Weird. Anyway he kept on telling us to be quiet as we tried to haul our 20kg + bags up the stone stairs (an impossible task without banging it a few times), as he clearly wasn't going to try and help.

We paid for the aircon (total rip off) and checked in as they kept a passport per room which they kept till the end of the holiday.

The position of the hotel is not the best IF you are girls. It is a little walk from the strip and on the first night we were warned NEVER to walk off alonel. There is a lot of green areas... trees/bushes/alleys too where girls had been raped/attacked if alone. However in a big group, we saw the occasional creep but nothing major happened.

The food at the hotel and drink is as expected a rip off, however it is convenient as it has its own supermarket next door, so pre drinks are easy accessible.

If booking trips do not book through tour operators, it is SO much cheaper on the strip where you can to an extent haggle. The waterpark is pretty good and so is the turtle spotting (even though it sounds nerdy).

Palermero restaurant is lovely to eat at though. Definitely worth a visit.

When one of the girls needed medical assistance for a sobar accident the hotel were so hostile and wouldn't help translate nor would they even provide a bandage for a deep wound. It was clear they were not bothered.

I am unsure whether it was because we were girls that the day staff didn't like us, and we often heard them slating us but they were nice to the boys who stayed there? This seemed confusing as we weren't majorly loud, caused no trouble, and the boys next door smoked weed and unplugged the fire detector and constantly tried to hit on us! Oh i forgot to mention they were the families nephews. great.

Other people staying at the hotel got their camera stolen and other bits, one girl even her passport, and the hotel refused to again translate, something so simple? Which meant that everyone needed to pay $150 Euros for a Thomas cook translator, totally unnecessary.

There are plenty of nicer hotels with politer staff in better locations.
Just shop around a bit
Hotel t'zante would be my first choice if i were to go again or Poseidon across the road.

OH nearly forgot they charge you for ANYTHING in this hotel. A bit of mascara on the bedding thats $10 euros... and so it goes on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

as a family of 12 we have been staying in this hotel over 4 rooms for the last 5 years and often there 2/3 times a year and have always had the highest standard of friendly service and cleanliness expected from a self catering hotel and wouldnt stay anywhere else !!! the rooms are always spotless and cleaned everyday with clean towels and Doris the cleaner is very friendly and always greets us with a smile.my mother always manages to cook a sunday lunch for the twelve of us with no problem, and i always manage to cook on the stoves provided with no problem at all, however if we never felt like cooking a meal we ate in the bar area where there is quite a varity of food to choose from with very reasonable prices and must say the food is delicious and if there was anything we wanted that was not on the menu it was never a problem you just need to ask and they would try and accommodate. As stated in a previous review the pool gets cleaned every day by Costa who takes pride in the pool area. there is a supermarket just outside of the hotel which has everything you need, and it is only 5 min walk to the beach. We go to the hotel the same time every year and have made some great friends who is also regulars and have been going to the hotel for numerous years. fantastic hotel with great friendly owners and staff who go out of there way to make you feel welcome, we spent alot of our evenings in the bar where they now have greek nights and barbeques and the couple who run it is fantastic !!!!!! cant wait to get back !!!!!!

Tracy C
Sunderland

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We, as 3 friends, travel to Laganas twice a year and would not stay anywhere else! The small, family-run studios/supermarket/bar are second to none! Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. If you want something ordering in the supermarket - it's there for you the same day or next day at the latest. If you want a special meal cooking at the bar - 1 day's notice is all you need to give and it's there and fresh! The rooms, for Greece, are of an excellent standard - 2 electric rings, kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge with small freezer compartment, hairdryer, pans, cutlery, plates, dishes, glasses etc are available in all rooms. The rooms are cleaned daily by Doris, who can't do enough for you if there is a problem. The pool area is well maintained with swings and slides for children. The pool is very carefully cleaned EVERY day and the 'state' of the water in the pool is monitored daily with specialistic equipment by Costa - a family member, who takes great pride in his pool! The 'grime', which one client commented about, is actually the lining which is faded and peeling due to the heat of the sun . Had he been up a little earlier in the day, he would have seen Costa tending to the pool EVERY day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! As for the air-conditioning charge, I think you'll find that this is the norm for Greece - It does say in the brochure 'payable locally' maybe some clients need to read the small print before moaning!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We love it, and every time we go, there are returning custormers who we recognise and have made friends with - not only from England, but Norway also!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We can't all be wrong with our choice of appartments/studios!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea - trees do block the sea view from some rooms, but this is not the faul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.1 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#10 of 73 in Laganas
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#2 of 73 in Laganas
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nemesis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemesis Studios

Address: Laganas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Nemesis Studios Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing