We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING.”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 6 August 2013

after reading the reviews before we flew out we were SO worried that we were coming to hell. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the older man and was lovely. Only problem was one of our rooms weren't ready when we had arrived, which wasn't really a big issue. We were then showed to our rooms with help with our suitcases. We were shocked to how good the rooms were for it being based in a party island. Staff were lovely, especially the Bar man, Tasos. Pool was really nice and relaxing. Only issue we had was boys in the hotel jumping in the pool at night and getting thrown out the hotel. So if you are nice and treat the hotel with respect then staff will be nice back. A very far walk from the strip do NOT advise you walk it, tried it once and was not a good idea. Taxi takes 5minutes and reception are happy to call them. Amazing hotel and holiday and already planning to go back:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dn1994xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Whilst the hotel was always very clean there were a few problems I'd like to address which should hopefully help you guys choose the best place to stay.

Accommodation: The rooms were cleaned every day, which is obviously what you expect of a 3* star accommodation. The cleaners were always very good, such as the little things like putting your shoes away after a heavy night of drinking and mopping up my friend's sick which I felt bad about her doing. The accommodation is very much 18-25 orientated and I would advise any family not to stay here because the early mornings can be (although not always) very noisy.

Transport: The hotel is roughly 2km from the beach and takes roughly 15 minutes to walk to the end of the strip at a fast pace. There is a free minibus service which runs at 11am/1pm & 3pm with no return after 3pm so you would need to get a taxi back. The taxi's cost 6 euros each way from oscar to the strip, 16-18 euros each way to the airport (which is quite dear) and 12 euros to the hospital...if you ever needed it!

The food: The food was reasonably priced, however on some occasions you really do get what you pay for. For instance, a burger and chips is roughly 4 euros and you don't really get enough chips on your plate. Overall, the food was okay, it reminds me of a cheap cafe you get on the high street, but after a long night of drinking, you couldn't care less at times.

Night life: You really can't beat it. I visited Ayia Napa 2 years ago and the whole place was a cockfest from beginning to end and that's being generous. After that, I wasn't really expecting Zante to be any different but boy was I wrong. The ratio between girls and boys was around 3:2 with girls outweighing boys although for you girls, there's still a lot of guys!!

Bad points: On one occasion the food didn't arrive on my table for a whole hour, the bartender let me sit there for 40 mins until he finally told me that he made a mistake with the order and laughed as he said it. After I did finally get my food, he made me get up and get it from his hands, that did not go down well. If you want to bring a girl or boy back...YOU CAN'T, there is strict policy in Oscar which forbids overnight stays even if that person is just coming back for a few drinks. The overnight receptionist is also very corrupt, although there is strict policy, he made one guy pay 30 euros for a girl to stay even though she actually wasn't allowed. Keep away from the guy in the glasses, he's an absolute...well you get the point.

Ciao.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Monsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Have just come back from Laganas where we stayed at Oscar. The apartments were clean and spacy and Costos and his family and staff were lovely. What we didn't realise is that Laganas is a very young resort, this should have been made clear when booking through on the Beach. Therefore the apts were very very noisy with the youngsters coming in at all times of the night not having any regard for anyone. I would not recommend this or the resort to anyone over 40 and families with young children. I think it should be made very clear about this when booking (especially if you have not been to Zante before), we obviously know where to avoid in Corfu, Kos and other resorts.

Room Tip: Can't really as all rooms were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here 20th-27th of June with 7 other friends aged 19-21. After reading all the reviews it sounded like you got fined for anything you did, however this did not happen (the bottom of our sink smashed, our friends shutter fell off, our curtain was pulled off, our towels did get dirty) we was not fined for anything.

The hotel is really nice, the owner and the bar man are very nice as well as all the other staff. food is reasonably priced in pool bar, about a 20-30 minute walk to the strip, which we did once and didn't do again, but taxi's where 6 euros so between 4 it was hardly anything. Location wise we liked not being right in the middle of everything so in the day you could relax. The hotel was not overly busy like some hotels, you could come out of your room at anytime and be able to get sunbeds which was good. not one problem with our stay.

all in all one of the best holidays I have had.

P.s. if you want amazing food in laganas go to a restaurant called 'Cool Peppers'

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here with 12 friends aged from 19-26 for a week from 17-24th June, after reading reviews before I arrivaed I was worried but once we got to the hotel and checked in there was nothing to worry about! The hotel is such a nice hotel, the staff are lovely ecspeicly the owner and the bar man tannos who's only been there for 20 days! Even tho we was 20 mins from the strip it was nice to be out the way! I would recommend this hotel to anybody and I defo will be visiting again! I want to thank the hotel for such an amazing holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige-xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I went on holiday July 3rd - 13th 2012 and stayed at Oscar, after reading some of the reviews on here we were worried. Seriously it was an amazing hotel, 5 euros for a taxi to the strip, 20 min walk if you fancied it, we used to do it coming back from clubbing to sober up abit. The bar staff were lovely especially the little old fella behind the bar. But the reception staff came across rude at times. Then again I was with 12, 18 year olds and we were rowdy. The food was lovely quality and reasonably priced. Pool was great and a lot of sun loungers to choose from. The rooms were a good standard. There were ovens etc in the room but we just ate at the pool bar as it was so cheap! Id recommend this hotel to anyone as it was brilliant. I hope to return again next year with my friends. The only negative was when we came to check out we had to pay extras such as we got some body paint on the sheets and had to pay like 12 euro a sheet which I thought was bad as we'd payed enough to stop there and air con is not included!
But don't let that put you off was seriously amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

please think twice if ur a family self catering going to the oscars... its so not award winning! I travelled to zante 3 years ago lovely place terrible hotel, still have scars left behind. Now this is why im warning u guys. There is 1 hob only to cook ur meals if ur on a budget and only 1 ring worked as a single parent at the time on low budget made life inpossible there to cook. the staff were awful apart from bar staff lack of entertainment and when there was started at 10pm useless with small children. if this wasnt bad enough things got worse much worse...... I really are not 1 to conplain and are well travelled and anything goes but this, the reception staff kept my passport as i was the main party holder till the last day. I went to collect my passport as we were waiting 4 the bus to go to the airport and the reception staff refused to give me back my passport saying i had broke 2 glasses stole a towel and broke a bowl none of which was true, The manager locked himself in the back room refusing to give it me back untill i paid 50 euros 4 the goods. I emptied out my suitcase and prooved i had no towel they refused to listen. My only option was to pay as my family was now holding up the bus to the airport which had 30 other holiday makers on it. My rep said i had no choice but to pay it was awful a time I will never forget. thankfully i over come my fears and went to turkey last year in all the countries iv been 2 in all the years iv never experienced anything like it. Please think twice b4 booking here no matter how cheap it is. kerri shropshire.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kerri e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.2 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#61 of 73 in Laganas
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
#20 of 73 in Laganas
61 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#59 of 73 in Laganas
562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreolas Beach Hotel
Andreolas Beach Hotel
#49 of 73 in Laganas
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range: £22 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing