We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Holiday, don't stay here!!!!”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel last July in a group of 4 lads. It was a lads holiday in the party localtion of Laganas. There's going to be an expectancy of being drunk, having fun etc. We're not even that rowdy of a group. We were told off after being at the hotel for an hour. We had some music playing from our room which is prohibited. 1 member of staff threatened to 'knock me out' when he was shouting at us one evening when coming in. However, if you are prepared to do nothing but sit around the pool and spend silly amounts of money in the bar they will probably give you a back rub. I wouldn't stay here or recommend it to anyone. Also it's about 30 minute walk at least down to the strip, you need to get a taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed hear in September was real last min thing booked on a Saturday left Sunday morning. our room was clean and tidy air con worked well, it is quite a walk to the main strip but we liked that, food was good portion were lottle small but wasn't bad priced, the bar staff at night were a laff had good old chat and that. pool was clean all the staff were helpful, there is a free mini bus to the beach every hour from 10 I think till 3. we would stay hear again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

this hotel is excellent value for what we paid. The owners and staff were all very helpful and approachable.The young barman Tasos deserves a special mention as he became a good friend to us. The centre of laganus is a fair walk from the hotel but they run a free bus up and down. All round good place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We only stayed here for 2 nights due to a problem at our original choice of hotel but we were pleasantly surprised how nice it was. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable and clean and even had free air conditioning. It is quite out of the way but there is a free shuttle bus to Laganas beach a few times per day. If you want a quiet base for your holiday we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherpam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The only problem is the noise.too close to the main road so you can here every car drive by.ohh and the bed was way too hard for me. the rooms are well equipped:kettle,toaster,hob,pans,plates,cups,glasses,everything really.cleaning every day.the breakfast buffet was good,few chooses .cross the road the restaurant is amazing. the hotel have shuffle to the beach but if you want to see more of the island should rent a car or a bike.

Room Tip: One bedroom is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

after reading the reviews before we flew out we were SO worried that we were coming to hell. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the older man and was lovely. Only problem was one of our rooms weren't ready when we had arrived, which wasn't really a big issue. We were then showed to our rooms with help with our suitcases. We were shocked to how good the rooms were for it being based in a party island. Staff were lovely, especially the Bar man, Tasos. Pool was really nice and relaxing. Only issue we had was boys in the hotel jumping in the pool at night and getting thrown out the hotel. So if you are nice and treat the hotel with respect then staff will be nice back. A very far walk from the strip do NOT advise you walk it, tried it once and was not a good idea. Taxi takes 5minutes and reception are happy to call them. Amazing hotel and holiday and already planning to go back:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dn1994xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Whilst the hotel was always very clean there were a few problems I'd like to address which should hopefully help you guys choose the best place to stay.

Accommodation: The rooms were cleaned every day, which is obviously what you expect of a 3* star accommodation. The cleaners were always very good, such as the little things like putting your shoes away after a heavy night of drinking and mopping up my friend's sick which I felt bad about her doing. The accommodation is very much 18-25 orientated and I would advise any family not to stay here because the early mornings can be (although not always) very noisy.

Transport: The hotel is roughly 2km from the beach and takes roughly 15 minutes to walk to the end of the strip at a fast pace. There is a free minibus service which runs at 11am/1pm & 3pm with no return after 3pm so you would need to get a taxi back. The taxi's cost 6 euros each way from oscar to the strip, 16-18 euros each way to the airport (which is quite dear) and 12 euros to the hospital...if you ever needed it!

The food: The food was reasonably priced, however on some occasions you really do get what you pay for. For instance, a burger and chips is roughly 4 euros and you don't really get enough chips on your plate. Overall, the food was okay, it reminds me of a cheap cafe you get on the high street, but after a long night of drinking, you couldn't care less at times.

Night life: You really can't beat it. I visited Ayia Napa 2 years ago and the whole place was a cockfest from beginning to end and that's being generous. After that, I wasn't really expecting Zante to be any different but boy was I wrong. The ratio between girls and boys was around 3:2 with girls outweighing boys although for you girls, there's still a lot of guys!!

Bad points: On one occasion the food didn't arrive on my table for a whole hour, the bartender let me sit there for 40 mins until he finally told me that he made a mistake with the order and laughed as he said it. After I did finally get my food, he made me get up and get it from his hands, that did not go down well. If you want to bring a girl or boy back...YOU CAN'T, there is strict policy in Oscar which forbids overnight stays even if that person is just coming back for a few drinks. The overnight receptionist is also very corrupt, although there is strict policy, he made one guy pay 30 euros for a girl to stay even though she actually wasn't allowed. Keep away from the guy in the glasses, he's an absolute...well you get the point.

Ciao.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Monsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.2 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#61 of 73 in Laganas
68 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
1 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#59 of 73 in Laganas
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
#22 of 73 in Laganas
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Apartments & Studios
1.6 mi away
Andreolas Beach Hotel
Andreolas Beach Hotel
#49 of 73 in Laganas
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range: £22 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing