We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still crazy after all these years”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
smartline Margarita Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
SE London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still crazy after all these years”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just back from Margarita. Seven days not enough. Brilliant time to go, no crowds , weather very good, surrounding countryside at its best. Hotel still our favourite, food, rooms everything excellent. All veg grown across the road. Entertainment looks set to be very good this year (not as good as Iftica was though!) although not many young children at holidaying yet so can't comment on kids club but we enjoyed what we saw. Location very good near enough to strip for those who want it, far enough away for those who don't. Good for families, couples and "olds"Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Garden rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    251
    94
    47
    26
See reviews for
266
373
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here as a couple and enjoyed the hotel very much. Nothing is too much for the hard working staff. The location is great not to close to the busy strip but near enough to walk to party land. The food was excellent, with fresh vegetable the hotel grows themselves in their impressive gardens opposite the main gate!

Highly recommend this hotel which can be booked through Thomas Cook

We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iftica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

this is our fist time to this hotel its was amazing very nice very clean - friendly staff - i cannot really say a bad word about it.... the pool was lovely always very clean and tidy - even around the pool an snack area - very nice weather all the way through the holiday - i recomend going to maggie maes and pink pantha very good karaoke nights..... i give a 5 star plus for the food as its so fresh an different things every day its so nice...... the staff cannot do enough for u - the only bad point is the thomas cook rep jen u never see her much and when u do see her she will be back at 4pm which is no good...... but would a million per cent come back to this hotel its so nice - i defo recomend it to all people of different ages / couples an families / solo.... but over all a fab holiday

Room Tip: get one looking over the pool u most of the time get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 246natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was our third visit in less than a year, we arrived 2nd May on opening day, the standard was as high as always. Very little has changed, repainted the internal communal areas, match with the outside bar area.little touches for the better, new and more umbrella's, the children's play area is now enclosed for safety reasons. Rooms cleanliness, the food is still at the highest standard. Considering only 10 people were at the hotel for the first 3 days, the hotel still provided 4 different meal choices, the breakfast preserves all created over winter by Margarita herself were outstanding, especially the figs. Please read the Thomas Cook brochure before travelling. The cost of the air conditioning is not included, as Thomas Cook did not want to add it to the holiday price, therefore it is optional, if you want it, it will cost 6 euros a day. The entertainment this year is as last basic to say the least, Bingo, Quiz, Karaoke and Aaron who thinks himself a singer, voice not to bad, for a holiday entertainer. No children whilst we were there so don't know how good or bad the children's entertainment is going to be. The new Thomas Cook Rep Jen is fabulous, Scottish through and through but a good laugh but also knowledgeable. This hotel is one of the best 3 star establishments we have been to, just remember that it is 3 star not 5 as some people compare with.

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room at the front of the hotel, as the sun is off the front for all the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We travelled as a couple to this hotel back in September 2012 so this review is better late than never!

Hotel is nice enough - little outdated but clean. Bedrooms very basic and you have to pay for air conditioning (which we'd recommend!) although it would be nice if that was included. Bathrooms were tiny with the smallest shower cubicle I have every seen (I am very petite and my boyfriend is average sized so how larger people manage to shower I do not know). There was a very string drainage smell present and twice someone came promptly to fix it but it never really went away.

The food was amazing - varied, fresh and tasty. Waiting staff can be a little too quick to remove your plate though; when i still have a mouthful or my fork has literally just touched the table it was whipped away! We liked the fact two other couples were seated at our table; some days we all ate together, other days we'd see them at the start/end of our meal, but it was good to chatter to others. We went on a couple of day trips and they can prepare a "snack pack" for you which is great! (Water, fizzy juice, crisps and a piece of fruit each).

Drinks were very basic - wine and beer not particularly nice in the all inclusive and very limited choice of spirits.

The biggest downside of this hotel is the wasp problem - everywhere you go! They get a scent of juice or food and they will not leave you alone! Can't imagine how bad it must be in peak season with kids spilling drinks everywhere! I think the hotel could have done something about it such as some anti wasp bombs, scented candles, etc, etc.

As it was almost the end of season, there were many shops and bars closed. Very quiet holiday if that is what you are looking for. About a 15 minute walk to the beach which was a lovely beach.

We hired a quad bike for 20 euros and toured the island with a map - much better and cheaper than going on the tours! We went to the ship wreck as well and advise buying your ticket there as much cheaper than the tour operator's rates.

All in all a nice holiday, basic accommodation but probably worthy of it's 3 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1984M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Margarita in 2012, three couples, great time, great food, we would deffinately go back.Good night life in lagana, the main strip is about seven minutes away by foot. About a ten minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Trying to book a holiday at the Margarita. Its now changed over from First choice to Thomas Cook. Problem is the vast amount of night flights. They offered us a 0620 return. In reality it would have meant vacating the room at midday the day before!!!!! So thats 16 hours waiting for the coach transfer. They could offer us a late check out room but only till 6pm. So in effect we would be loosing almost a day of our 7 day holiday. On our 2 previous visits to this hotel, we havent encountered anything like this. BEWARE and check your check out times.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christa1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.5 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Margarita Hotel

Property: smartline Margarita Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Laganas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Margarita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Margarita is a charming All Inclusive hotel with a warm atmosphere and a beautiful garden. The hotel is an ideal choice for families. Guests stay in bright and modern rooms, and the hotel's restaurant serves home-grown fruit and vegetables as well as specialties from all around the world. The hotel has an inviting and relaxing pool area with three pools, including a kids pool and a relaxation pool for adults only, and if you want to enjoy the gazing sun by the sea, the beach is just a 10 minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Laganas
Hotel Margarita Zante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing