We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for what we paid...well away from busy resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louis Zante Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for what we paid...well away from busy resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Just returned from a week at this hotel and it's a really great hotel for what we paid. Don't be worried by the fact it is in Laganes (a lively resort). The hotel is right on the far edge of the town and well away from the main lively part of Laganes. It is quite near to the airport but it’s not exactly Heathrow so the planes weren’t too frequent and we didn’t hear any at night. The hotel is right on the beach but you have to pay for sunlougers and they were very expensive (10 euros for a day I think), but there is nothing to stop you buying a beach umbrella for about 5 euros and putting it up on the beach. Alternatively walk further along the beach towards the resort centre where the loungers are cheaper.
I travelled with my husband and 3 children (12, 9 & 3). We had 2 rooms next to each other with a connecting door which was great because we did not have to have the youngest one in our room! I emailed the hotel 2 weeks before we went to request the rooms together.
The food was really good, especially the breakfast my children would add; we could not fault any of the meals. The chefs were constantly running in and out topping up the buffets and making sure it was all clean and tidy. There was plenty of choice. As expected the drinks were local varieties but this really didn't bother us. If you are particular enough to want branded drinks then these were available to purchase.
The rooms were spacious enough for our needs. The only thing that spoilt it was the beds were very hard and the pillows like slabs of concrete! If you have enough room in your suitcase I would definitely recommend you packing your own!
The Animation team were excellent and worked tirelessly to keep everyone entertained. Although some of the activities/ entertainment was quite ‘cheesy’ they did work very hard on what is quite clearly a very small budget.
I would give this hotel 8/10 only marked down because the bed was so uncomfortable and the bathroom needs updating. They are in the process of updating the fittings and replaced the curtains and patio furniture whilst we were there. The public areas had obviously been recently refurbished recently.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crockerdile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    382
    92
    27
    13
See reviews for
674
591
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Domican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

Reception Area and Restaurants spotless. Food was excellent at buffet.There is also Italian advertised, it was only open one night out of the ten we were there so didn't get opportunity to try. Beach excellent for families as sea shallow for a good part of the way, also hotel caters for children with entertainment, food and also play areas. Charged £3.50 pernight for safe and also sunbeds on beach were 10 Euro per day for 2 which we were not expecting. We were AI but did eat out in Zante Town a couple of times, beware of the prices charged in main square, not as good and also expenive. We used ones as you go into Zante Town, better food and much more friendly. Loads of eating places in Laganas and only about 10 minute walk from hotel into centre. We walked into Kalamaki which only takes about 25 mins but just the same there as Laganas only smaller resoort. Hotel room in main block was in need of upgrade and they didn't spend a lot of time cleaning. Recommend a trip to the island at the far end of the beach from hotel, you can access this over the wooden bridge. Costs 4 Euro each to get on but you do get a drink included with this, take your beach towels etc as you can easily spend a couple of hours here although drinks are slightly more expensive than other places but worth it. Have been to AI hotels in Carribean which I thought were much better value for money but the shorter flight was the attraction for us this time, Loads of young people driving around on 4 wheel drive buggies which are very noisy around centre but fine where hotel is. Bus stop right outside hotel which takes you into Zante Town/Kalamki and not expensive although rather crowded, standing room only for lots of passengers.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roblanbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

Stayed at this hotel in June 2009 with my husband and 5yr old daughter. Room was OK but have to say with 3 beds in it felt a bit cramped. Plenty of storage for all our clothes and stuff though. Safe hire in the room was extra - 3.50 euros a day.
The location of the hotel was great, right on the beach (which is shallow and clean - great for kids) and about a 15 min walk into Laganas along the beach. Although the resort of Laganas isn't that great for families but fab if you are late teens early twenties out clubbing and drinking etc.
The hotel food was gorgeous - loads of choice at all meal times and always well presented. At breakfast time pancakes and omlettes cooked freshly on alternate days. Kids menu at evening meal time.
We stayed all inclusive and it felt like there was a constant stream of food available - you could seriously put some weight on here if your'e not careful.
The Pool bar was OK - which served drinks all day - but sometimes there was a bit of a queue as they only had one member of staff on, possibly because it was still early in the season.
Hotel animation team tried hard with the entertainment - although it wasn't that great - however my daughter loved it - but then again she is only 5 !!
Took a boat trip out to see the turtules which we all enjoyed - this can be booked on the beach - 3 min walk from the hotel. The supermarket next to the hotel was better value than the Hotel shop - which was a bit pricey.
The weather was a bit mixed quite cloudy for a couple of days, and it rained one afternooon, although when the sun did appear it was lovley and hot.
We had a very relaxing holiday here - the hotel is great for kids - as they are well catered for, pool, near to beach, Pirate ship play park, mini club etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LovelyTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

Just returned from this hotel. Not quite the standard we expected, the rooms are very basic, clean but scruffy round the edges. The nice matching bedcover replaced after a few days for a scruffy fleecy blanket! Broken zips on the sofa bed, orange, dirty rim around the bottom of the shower curtain and even hair in the drawer where the hairdryer was kept. We are not that picky but like I said not the standard we expected but nothing that ruined our holiday. The main areas of the hotel are nice and clean and staff always around clearing up. Food was good but it is a bit repetitive. There are loads of small birds in the outdoor dining area and they are after your food if you leave it but we always laughed at how cheeky they were. The only down side is that you have to watch where you sit ! Now the down side - the entertainment, we normally choose riu hotels but the Louis group were recommended to us in the travel agents as being just as good. Rubbish! We are passed clubbing age so we like entertainment in the night, there are only 4 in the animation team and they work non-stop, but this hotel puts NO money into the quality of the shows. We could not blame the team they did the best with what they had and they gave 100%. If you like bingo and quizzes then your fine or if you have small children then they will love it but it definately was a let down for us.
On arrival you are given no information about what goes on in the hotel just a list of where you can get food at particular times of the day but no map of the hotel. So you dont know where each bar is? Its 10 euro deposit for each beach towel and these can only be exhanged every 3 days!, and you have to pay for your safe in the room. We have been to better all inclusive hotels for the money but we still had a good holiday. Its a shame really because the location was great and for family holidays its probably all you need but for us personally it did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

arrived at the hotel just after midnight, after filling in the forms etc we just wanted to get a drink and get some sleep. We got to outrrooms to find that the welcome pack with the mandatory bottled water did not exist, so the kids were already moaning that they hadn't had a drink for hours. The rooms were 'ok', we wern't that fussed about the rooms, as long as we had somehwhere to sleep and shower that was of a basic standard we were ok...'basic' being the operative word. There were masses of splattered mozzies on the walls and when the shower was used it leaked into the bedrooms and into the hotel hall. It was obvious that this was the norm as the wardrobes were warped and we were given extra towels to mop up the sewage and water when it escaped. The pool area was ok if your partial to having a few drinks with sprinkling of wasps and sharing your all inclusive dry sandwich with the local stray dogs, there were only about 15 or so, and it made great entertainment when they were mating and we were trying to exlplain to the rugrats what they were doing. The all inclusive buffet meals were off a great standard if your into eating bird poo and wasps, there was loads of the stuff so we couldn't complain about them being on the stingy. The comment book was removed from the dining area after the manager thought it was rude to tell the truth. There are many great reviews about this hotel, I can only speak from experience and put it down to going in the 'late season' and the fact that staff could not be bothered as they too were going home, even they were happy at the prospect of an airline meal (they didn't eat at the hotel, as they said it was crap). Maybe the earlier months are the best time to go, but if go in late October expect the worst, below zero pool, no entertainment, food containing the local wildlife and vermin and the smell of sewage.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claireofdudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I have just got back from this Hotel on 19 May 2009. We arrived on 12 May 2009. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly reception staff who checked us in promptly and directed us to our room. The room was very nice. It was clean. We did have a seaview room, and although there was some of the hotel within our view it did not takeaway anything from the actual seaview.

In previous reviews there was bad comment about the amount of wasps and stray dogs. During our stay at the resort we never saw any wasps at all. We did come across two dogs whilst out of the hotel grounds but it did not appear that these were stray.

My husband and I never saw any of the entertainment courtesy of the Animacion Team however we did bump into them around the hotel grounds and they were always very friendly.

The restuarant was much more than we expected. It was always well staffed with at least 4 members of staff in the room at any one time. The food itself was very good. My husband is a bit of a fussy eater but tried something new every night and enjoyed everything he tried. There was always plenty of it and the chef even made an appearance once or twice.

The actual hotel grounds itself was very nice and always very clean.

There is an independant shop on the hotel grounds next the entrance. However be warned it is very expensive. With less than a 15 minute walk out of the hotel grounds there are several supermarkets which are much cheaper and fairly reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles260781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

We have just arrived back 19th May 2009
What a shame that a good hotel is being spoilt by not being ready at the start of the season for guests
Firstly the watering of the gardens with what one can only described by the stench is water staight from the sceptic tanks this was making guests like my partner reach.
secondly if you book a seaview room dont bother to book or pay for this as we did probably you will end up with one anyway or you will book and pay and have a big tree in front of your room and when you ask the rep why you will be told (but you can see the sea round the tree)In previos reports there where complaints about the wasps we did not see any problems with this until an idiot gardener decided to clear a wasp nest next to the swimming pool (with probably 150 people round the pool with small children)releasing a massive swarme casing panic.
It is a pitty that this hotel just seemms totaly under staffed for the start of the season.
On the plus side it was the animation team(and we are not the ones to normaly get to involved)who are probably some of the best we have ever met i think that they could entertain any one between 9-90 well done.
The food is one of the better sides of this hotel and is of a very good quality.
The location of the hotel is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roghack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Zante Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Zante Beach Hotel

Property: Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Address: On Laganas bay, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
#1 Family Hotel in Laganas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Louis Zante Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Share delightful days in the sun at our Zante Hotel where endless choices awaits you. Pools, tennis courts, beach volley, gym, mini club, children's pirate ship - these are just some of the exciting activities at the Louis Zante Beach. Top it of with our perfect Laganas location and friendly staff and you'll enjoy the very best of Zakynthos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Louis Zante Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Zante Beach Laganas
Hotel Louis Zante Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing