We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Village Inn”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

good hotel close to the strip, friendly staff. rooms aren't too bad get what ya pay for. rented a car not much to see only a few things to see in zakynthos. overall good holiday but no need to go back to zakynthos other than going to tsivilii is a must

Room Tip: studios sounded better than bog standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardsims89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    95
    71
    25
    35
See reviews for
53
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were greeted by the manager on arrival and as we were all inclusive had the option of having our lunch before unpacking and getting settled into our room. The rooms were a decent size, cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels and linen everyday. The kitchen area of the room did smell, I think may have been a blocked drain, but it wasn't a strong smell so didn't bother us too much. Our room was over the bar and while we had a nice view it was slightly loud some nights due to people pre-drinking and getting ready to go out however the bar did close at 11pm so it wasn't so bad. The pool was also cleaned and treated daily with a range from 1m in depth to 2.5m. The hotel is roughly a 25 minute walk from the strip allowing you to walk down to the shops and beach, roughly a 30 minute walk. The were 3 set meal times served throughout the day and you were able to get snacks i.e. toasties, sandwiches and chips in-between these periods. The meal times are buffet style with plenty of food to choose from ranging from salad to pizza, pies, curries, chicken wings etc. The cottage pie was especially nice!! They also serve puddings such as cakes, ice-creams and jelly all of which you can help yourself to. Breakfast is also buffet style with fruit, yoghurt, toast and cooked breakfast i.e. bacon, sausage, egg, beans & mushrooms. The service was great, all staff were friendly and helpful, the manager on reception was especially helpful! Overall I would definitely come back here, the staff work long shifts and work very hard, this is especially true of the kitchen staff who start early and work till late. The food was good as was the location, the bus stop was about a 2 minute walk away as was the nearest taxi rank and supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back.loved it.loved the staff.the food.the pool.the atmosphere.the location just outside the lively resort perfect well done.would recommend n if you read this stellios the reception does need better direction lol x see you again x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Overall our experience was really, really good. The staff, hotel and the service was second to none. On arrival the reception area is a little vague, but a simple question pointed us in the right direction. We arrived quite late in the evening and was greeted by a very friendly Erica who signed us in and escorted us to our room within 10 minutes. We made our way back to the bar for a few drinks and although the food hall was closed, Carol ( the british cook ) went out of her way to make ourselves and our children a hot meal. This brilliant attitude from all the staff continued all week long, helping make this a very memorable holiday. The venue itself is very basic but clean and perfectly suited for your needs ( except the shower curtain, which is crap!!!) As we were all inclusive we were a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here but we were pleasantly surprised as the food throughout the week was lovely. On the one occasion our children didnt want what was on offer Carol again went out of her way and prepared individual meals for them. Hotel is a good 30 minute walk from the beach 20 mins from the main shops ( especially when ur walking with 3 boys aged 11, 7, and 2 but we didnt feel the need to leave the holtel very often as the pool seved all of our needs. This was a pleasantly surprising holiday which we are already considering going back to. One advisory is the lack of things to do with a 2 year old as the pools shallow end is still a meter deep. If u have a child under 5 it can prove to be difficult. All in all a very good holiday with good venue, excellent staff and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have just returned from an enjoyable week staying in the Village Inn Hotel in Laganas. The hotel was kept very clean while we were there, the food was of a good standard and all the staff were very polite and friendly.
Although this resort is aimed more at the younger people I would recommend staying in the Village Inn for all age groups.

Room Tip: We had room 611 which had an extra large balcony and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 281059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Upon arriving our transfer dropped us off outside the front of the complex, we followed a sign for reception that lead us round to the pool area, it was there the trail went cold and we had no idea where we needed to go, turns out reception is a little side corner of the bar, there was no one available to check us in so we were offered a drink and waited about five minutes which was totally fine. We were a group of five so had booked two rooms, we had emailed the hotel in advanced to request rooms next to each other, this hadn't been actioned but they did all they could for us and we were able to get what we wanted. We were taken to our rooms by the manager who showed us where everything was, answered any questions and was very helpful. The room itself for three was very very small (in fact was the same size as the room for two), very dark and had next to no storage, especially for three girls on a week’s holiday with clothes and products. We found we needed the balcony door open all the time to add light into the room, which when you are facing the pool and bar isn't ideal for wandering about the room unseen. It wasn't until the first night we found the bathroom lights were out in both rooms but they came straight over with new bulbs and this was fixed straight away. You only get one key per room, which is fine if you are all together at all times but if you wanted to get back into your room while others were out you were refused access.

Our first night was a Sunday and dinner was a Sunday roast which was lovely, we all loved the food all week and never went hungry, there is a selection of Greek and English dishes so I could not see how anyone wouldn't be able to find something to eat.

On the Sunday night there was a private / family party in the dining room after normal dinner service had finished with Greek music, this carried on until 1.30am, it was very loud and we were not able to sleep, not great for a first night after an early start, especially as you are not allowed to make any noise after 11pm without fear of getting told off by the onsite security guard.

We were on the all inclusive package and the bar is open from 11am to 11pm, I found the drinks were pretty much alcohol free, the percentage on the bottles were 15%, a normal spirit would be 40% +. They ran out of wine and various spirits a couple of times during the week. We heard complaints about the girl behind the bar being miserable but we found her lovely, if you are friendly to her you get that back. Spiros who did the bar day shift was lovely and knew our round in no time. The only staff issue I think was more of a language issue than the rudeness we first though, things do get lost in translation.

We, as were a lot of people we spoke with, were threatened with being chucked out due to excessive noise, we found this greatly unfair for merely talking on the balcony, which we stopped as soon as it was pointed out to us how much the noise was carrying, walls are paper thin in holiday apartments and you generally take it as a given you will hear other holiday makers at various times, so we addressed it with the security guard who was great and corrected misinterpretation straight away.

It is a twenty minute walk from the apartments down to the strip which is a nice walk, mostly on pavements or you can get a cab which are always available and in great numbers, its 6 Euros for anywhere in Laganas, we found this a very fair deal.

In summery we had a great holiday, loads of laughs which is what it is all about, I think the pictures of the Village Inn are a little deceptive, it seems much larger than it actually is, which off season is fine but in the height of the summer when the accommodation is fully booked you would struggle to get a sun bed during the day or a chair at night in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

After arriving on the island at 1830 local time we were pleasantly surprised to be given a taxi transfer (although we later found out that organising transfer by taxi ourselves would only have been around 15€) and we arrived at the Village Inn around ten minutes later. It is close to the airport but there is no real aircraft noise during the day, apparently all flights in and out of the island are stopped between 2200 and 0500 anyway as a way of helping to protect and prevent disturbance to the resident turtles.

First impression of the hotel from the road is not too good, but as soon as you are in the grounds the hotel is typically Greek Tourist Apartment / hotel. The bar area / reception is next to the swimming pool with two pool tables in a small room off of the bar. The restaurant is in another room adjacent to the bar. The pool isn't the biggest I have seen but for the amount of people staying while we were there it was plenty big enough (I imagine in high season it would maybe struggle to cope....) there are three or four rows of loungers, some with parasols.

On booking in I had my passport taken (I found this a bit unusual these days, but it was kept secure for the week so no great problem) we were informed we would be getting a free "upgrade"...... In real terms this amounted to a normal sized studio with two extra single beds squeezed in but that turned out to be a small blessing as the double bed was too small for the wife to feel comfy and meant I could be safely booted out to a single and we both managed to get some sleep.
Safety deposit box is an electronic safe which cost 10€ for the week. Air Con is available, I believe they charge about 5€ a day but we didn't find we needed it this early in the season. The room itself was standard studio, large enough bedroom area with a small kitchenette containing fridge, electric hot plate and sink and a bathroom just inside the door. Now, to anyone who has never visited a Greek Island before..... The pipes used in their plumbing are smaller than the UK, also, the vast majority of hotels and business premises use a septic tank to store human waste which is then routinely collected an disposed of..... This means that you cannot put anything like toilet paper or sanitary items into the toilet to flush them away, there sort of items go into a bin next to the loo which are in turn cleaned by the hotel staff. If this offends you or upsets you, you really should reconsider your destination as failure to follow this will end up with blocked pipes and no doubt a hefty bill from the hotel for the plumbers being called to rectify things. Also, it is rare to find a curtain for the shower. This hotel does at least have a fitting to fix the shower head onto the wall which was a bonus as many hotels do not. There is a drain in the centre of the bathroom floor for water which misses the tub, just don't cover it with the floor towel! Beware, the tiled floors are exceptionally slippery when they are wet, so caution!

Food - breakfast was "okay".... What it lacked in taste it made up for in quantity. The usual Brits abroad fare was available, as was fresh fruit, yoghurt and continental meats and cheese. Lunch was pretty much standard all week, pizza, chips, salad bar and usually at least one Greek dish. This was the fairly standard offering for the evening meal as well, although I was a bit confused to have a Sunday roast on our first day........ Something seemed vaguely wrong about eating roast pork in that heat..... Snacks on offer with the all inclusive package were limited to toasties, sandwiches and chips but there were other snacks available for a few euros. Personally I think the food was geared to appeal to the younger crowd who would want to load up on food before heading to the strip. As I said, the food was fine and loads of it!

Drinks were plentiful, as advertised a pretty broad range of spirits were available, including whiskey, vodka, amaretto, brandy etc as well as draught beer (bottled beers were available for purchase) although the soft drink mixers such as coke and lemonade were all cheap brands and there didn't appear to be a "diet" option with the soft drinks.

All inclusive starts on arrival. If you get there in time on your first day it is lunch and dinner, on your last day you get breakfast only. Check out is by 1130hrs, if you are able to extend your room it cost us 20€, this didn't include any meals or drinks, we paid an additional 8€ each to have lunch on our final day. Soft drinks are 2€ each in fairly small plastic cups. It does pay to remember your manners though, the staff are lovely and we didn't pay for any drinks from breakfast until our transfer back to the airport.

When we stayed (1st week of June) the hotel was initially about quarter full, mainly with British couples. This changed through the week as more younger guests arrived in groups. Laganas is a "party town" and groups of youngsters are going to be in all the hotels around the town, which pretty much exists for the 18/30's scene. The majority of the younger crowd were very polite, there were a couple of "incidents" in the early hours, it didn't wake me up (bless those all inclusive drinks!) but they were the talk around the pool the next day. There is overnight security at the hotel if anyone gets too out of hand, but during one incident the security guard apparently told one guest he had had enough of the hassle and wasn't really interested?

There is no entertainment at the hotel, this seems to be a recurring theme in all inclusive hotels where it makes commercial sense to encourage your clients to seek entertainment elsewhere so they do not drink so much for free at your bar!

If you want to visit the strip it is about a twenty minute walk straight and level down the main road, there are some pavements but they are sporadic. We found the strip to be fun and lively up till around 2300, after which it is best left to the younger generation..... Many of the main bars don't really get going till midnight but some of the pub crawls start early! There are "reps" outside almost every bar / restaurant but when they approached us a simple "no thank you" was usually politely received and they left us alone. Taxi fares on the island are set to recommended maximum rates. For example, anywhere within Laganas was 6€, with trips as far away as the shipwreck beach being 45€, hotel staff are more than happy to ring up and call you a cab if you ask nicely. Buses run past the outside of the hotel which will take you into Zakynthos town for €1.60 one way pp, they are running on "Greek time" though, so allow about half an hour before you give up hope it will arrive!!

To save adding to another forum I would beware of the excursions offered on the strip. We always book locally when we travel anywhere and avoid using any of the travel company reps to book excursions, however we got stung a bit this time around! Long story short we booked a 25€ pp cruise to go to the shipwreck and stop off at the caves etc for swimming! we were told we would be contacted if the trip was cancelled but having heard nothing we paid our 6€ to travel to the departure point at 0830hrs only to be told there was "much wind and danger" and the trip had been cancelled..... Strangely enough a group of younger girls arrived about thirty seconds later and were whisked off to the boat...... Having been disappointed and not wanting to waste the taxi fare we had a bit of a wander and found a beach front taverna for a coffee, only to watch three round the island cruises leave from the marina about half an hour later..... I can only assume they take as many bookings as possible and then refund whatever they need to once the boat is full.... Which would have been fine if we hadn't wasted £10 on a round trip we wouldn't have otherwise taken.

All in all the test of a hotel is the good old "would you stay again" and I have to say a resounding "yes" but with a couple of conditions....... We paid about £150pp more than some others at then hotel for our week, and I got the feeling that when the season really kicked in the hotel would be full of young groups looking for a lively holiday (nothing at all wrong with that, but me and the wife are kind of grown out of the clubbing scene nowadays!) so, if we paid a good rate and arrived before the full onset of summer madness we would definitely be back!

Special mention to the three Spyros' and Erica in the bar who were all lovely..... Anyone who says they are all miserable obviously didn't take the time to actually talk to them, remember they are at work and paid to smile and be nice when people are talking to them, not to sit smiling inanely all day in case you happen to glance in their direction, not sure about you but I don't do that when I am at work!!!!... The kitchen staff were excellent and the head cook (rudely I didn't find out his name....) produced a Stifado that was almost as good as Mama at the Corfu Andromeda (which is damn hard to beat!)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank stutalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
1.2 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#63 of 74 in Laganas
769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#59 of 74 in Laganas
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#41 of 74 in Laganas
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments

Property: Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments
Address: 400 Laganas Rd, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments is a family run hotel located near the centre of Laganas. The swimming pool, poolside bar, buffet restaurant, pool table room and children's playground and more amenities offer more choices to all age groups throughout the day while you may always visit lively Laganas at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments Hotel Laganas
Village Inn Studios And Family Apartments
Village Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing