We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having stayed at this hotel for a week I can honestly say I left with mixed reviews...I was travelling with a group of my girlfriends 6 of us in total. Upon arrival we were greeted at reception by a gentleman called Spiros who was friendly and informative we were talked through our stay and handed our all inclusive wrist bands, so far so good! We were shown to our rooms which were clean and of decent size. The only negative things id have to say about the rooms is that the beds resembled sleeping on a pile of rubble and the pillow was like an a4 sheet of paper. The bath left a lot to be disired and we renamed it the trough as it was so small there was barley any room to do anything. The rooms were kept clean however on a couple of occasions after it had been cleaned a couple of my friends noticed money had been taken from them the only people that go in there are the maids?! Didn't have a bad word to say about the food met one of the cooks carol who was lovely and from England! For all inclusive I thought it was rather nice...always had a good selection could Perhaps been more choice of drinks at meal times as there was only coffee and water. A lot of reviews moan about the security guard Akim however we found if you are polite to him and make an effort to be friendly then he is a very pleasant man...I do feel 11 is a little bit early to be asked to be quiet but most people were heading to the strip shortly after anyway. Me and my friends found it increasingly awkward in the evenings asking for drinks...although we were all inclusive we were made to feel extremely bad for ordering another drink and one staff member in particular would roll her eyes every time we went up there. Having paid to go all inclusive I found this very rude and it made us feel uncomftable. This particular staff member i actually found quite rude in general she took a liking to two of our group and made the rest of us feel very uncomftable around her. You can walk to the strip but a taxi is just as easy at 6 euros a time which the hotel will call for you...taxi drivers are all friendly. Overall the hotel is nice and some of the staff are nice however I don't think id come
back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The beds in the village inn were extremely uncomfortable, the mattresses and pillows were like rocks. The food that was served was barely consumable and i ended up eating very little over our weeks stay, several times my group of friends noticed hair in our food and flies were landing all over it.
Some of the staff were lovely and happy to chat and have abit of a laugh but the more senior staff were miserable and even told us to stop drinking so much from the all inclusive bar!!!
On the plus side the maids kept the room clean and never moaned even though at times we left the room bait of a mess, don't buy the wifi or the air con because both are rubbish and hardly work, all in all it was poor value for money and i would actively encourage people to avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank will s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

started off well, the first hour or so was very welcoming and looked like we had chosen well, as the day continued the all inclusive drinks were shocking, a 1/4 sized pint plastic cup was given each time that you had to reuse, and the bar staff were very grumpy when going to order more drinks. For all inclusive the way they treat you for how many drink you want is very poor indeed. Moving on to the food, wasn't totally bad some days but could very much be improved, the ice cream went down a treat !! The rooms were very basic and the beds were like concrete with pillows as thin as carboard, awful to sleep in. The bath is the size of an ipad and you had to hold the shower head, basically flooding the small bathroom every time the shower was used. Air conditioning was 5 euros a day, wifi also needed to be paid for, and whilst the cleaning staff cleaned every day, they shouted and woke us up and occasionally intruded on the rooms and forced us out when we were sleeping. the pool area is very nice though.

On a night the hotel is close to the strip, 25 minute walk, however the security guard is the grumpiest prick you'll ever meet and any whispering or talking slightly and he'll begin shouting at you, you can't sit out on your balcony past 11 otherwise he will order you inside and generally he was very rude when we requested for the keys when returning from the strip.

to sum up, if you are a group of girls or lads going on a holiday, don't choose this hotel, the staff will hate you and cause you a miserable time, as for couples or family holidays, maybe it'd be ok, but if you're a group of friends, find somewhere else

Room Tip: get the rooms with two floors, the 4 bed rooms are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pete419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

First thing, reception is next to the bar! Most people tend to stand about looking where the hell to go when they arrive haha!
The rooms are a decent size and are cleaned everyday, the bathroom does end up soaked from the shower but there is a drain on the floor. The walls are fairly thin so noise does travel but it's expected!
We got a taxi to the strip every night as it is quite a walk, although quite a lot did walk. Only 6 euros and reception ring for you and they come within minutes.
The food is basic and different, mixed opinions but I did enjoy... you'll live!
You will be treated how you treat them - be polite!!!!
Personally I recon the security guard is magic, never seen him before yet knew everyones room, he's a lovely guy and will only get angry if you start making a lot of noise past 11, only doing his job don't understand how people can complain.
Overall, very much enjoyed staying here, its not amazing, but what do you expect!!
Get what you pay for!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: The double storey apartments are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaMartin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived for our 8 night holiday very early in the morning and was checked in by security. I had selected this hotel because my two sons wanted to be near the nightlife, and me and my wife wanted some peace and quiet. This hotel seemed like the perfect compromise. To be honest I had some misgivings when I got off the coach. It seemed that we had been dropped off on a lonely highway.
I offered to carry my suitcases to keep the noise down but the security guy said to just pull them along as nobody will hear them..they are all drunk..alarms were already ringing inside my head.

In the morning we woke to find that the resort was in fact very clean and bright, with a nice size pool where some "The Only Way Is Essex" (TOWIE) look-a likes' were having fun splashing each other.

We were greeted very warmly by Spyros the receptionist who was very helpful. He assisted us with arranging a few of the trips on offer and was always on 'standby' should we require any help. On this point I would say that this is a family run hotel and their dedication to providing an excellent, friendly and efficient service is noticeable. A taller gentleman, who I presumed to be the owner was always to be seen keeping a keen eye on the performance of his staff.

The quality of the food was a pleasant surprise with a mixture of local and western dishes. Nothing too extravagant but definitely very tasty. I was informed that all of the ingredients were farmed locally.

My sons headed for 'The strip' which is a good 35 minutes walk along the road. They did it once but after that they always took a taxi.Taxis are 6 euros. Something for everybody on the strip if you are aged, 18-30. We, being over that age decided to visit other tourist attractions.

The security guard does a good job trying to keep party goers quiet when they return from the strip after midnight, as we oldies need our sleep and there is nothing worse than being wakened by noisy guests. To be frank, this hotel is really for the 18-30s, but they do try to make sure that the older guest enjoy themselves too.

As each day passed we began to enjoy this hotel more and more, and we felt like we were saying goodbye to friends when we checked out.

We had no complaints, rooms were always kept clean, good food, but above all the friendliness of the staff was what made this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Jebulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a week and had a fabulous time.

I honestly think that some people's reviews are very unfair. It is very good value for money. If you want 5star luxury....pay 5star prices!!!

Firstly, we arrived and met a gentleman at reception called Spiros. Spiros was very friendy and extemely helpful. Spiros worked at reception everday and was always happy to help in anyway possible.

The hotel is spotless clean, we had a maid everyday who provided clean sheets and towels. Every area of the hotel was clean and tidy.

We were all inclusive and there was plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was also some Greek food everyday. Also there are snacks such as sandwiches, toasties, chips etc available to order at the bar at any time. The chefs are Panos and Carol and are lovely. Carol cannot do enough for you, she is so helpful and kind. We had a boat trip one day and Carol prepared a packed lunch for us without us even asking for one! Oh and her steak pie is just the BEST!!!!!

The bar staff are wonderful. The barman Spiros works in the morning through to the afternoon and chats to everyone....very friendly!!! Then Erica works from 4pm until 12pm. Erica is amazing, she is friendly and helpful. She even taught me how to ask for red wine in Greek and how to pronounce Tzatziki correctly!!! Haha!!!

I see from the reviews that some people have complained about the Security Man called Akim telling people to be quiet!!! It is good that Akim tells people to be quiet as some guests wish to have a quiet holiday. If young people wish to make a noise all nite, stay in an 18-30s hotel!!!! Akim was brilliant!!!

The hotel is approximately a 20min walk to bars/clubs and restaurants however a taxi is only 6euros and reception are more than happy to book one for you.

We had a wonderful holiday and this was mainly down to the wonderful staff at the Village Inn.

We have left Zante with some fabulous Holiday memories and with two new friends......Carol and Erica!!! Thank you so much!!!

Please ignore the reviews, you will have a great holiday!

Kathryn and Chris : )

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KathJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

where do i start with this

room was standard but i suppose if ya hardly going to be there then its ok. the shower is shocking u can fit one arm in at a time and you make the bathroom into a pool. The food is the worst ive even had so if your all inclusive you have wasted your money because you might as well eat dog **** and the drinks was worst than camel pi** i would sooner drink white lightning and that is saying something. the night watchman where do i start with this fella if ya made a tiny bit of noise he was on your case he was a right pain in the arXX becuase he woudnt allow you to talk play music or anything which o thought was strange seen as this is a lively resort if i wanted peace and quiet i would of gone to Malta. The pool was ok so i will give them that. the strip was about 45 min walk with no paths so you have to get travel sorted out. overall i would sooner stay in jail then come back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craig_page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
1.3 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#62 of 73 in Laganas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
#23 of 73 in Laganas
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zante Park Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#58 of 73 in Laganas
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments

Address: 400 Laganas Rd | Zante, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range: £37 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments is a family run hotel located not far from the centre of Laganas. The swimming pool, outside gym, poolside bar, buffet restaurant, pool table room and children's playground and more amenities offer more choices to all age groups throughout the day while you may always visit lively Laganas at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Studios & Family Apartments Hotel Laganas
Village Inn Studios And Family Apartments
Village Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing