We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay.”
Review of Astir Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astir Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at Astir Palace Laganas August 2013, we paid extra to have a sea view and it was really worth doing the view is stunning, The Astir Palace is linked with it's sister hotel next door The Astir Beach which everyone can use the pools and sun beds.
Cleanliness:- This hotel is very clean, Towels and sheets changed regularly in a week.
All inclusive:- It's not the best, always something to eat in the restaurant but selection is limited, this resulted in us going out for evening meals to different restaurants in the resort, but this is no bad thing as we had some cracking steaks.
At the Astir Palace their sunbeds and snack bar were not FREE, which i find very unusual, we had to use the Beech hotel to have FREE sunbeds but it had better pools so we didn't mind, the all inclusive snack bar was also at the Beech hotel it was ok for drinks but there was only one type of snack on offer which was a roll , this was ham, cheese, salad with seafood sauce? not the best, the Russian woman serving in the daytime was not friendly, i asked for a roll (the one and only time i ate one) she corrected me and said a sandwich, but it was a roll you stupid woman.
Nikos the evening barman was great he was very friendly and served the drinks with a smile, he recommended a traditional Greek restaurant which was just across the road from the hotel and we had a lovely evening with great food and a free bottle of wine, another night he also gave us a lift to his friends bar Fantasy for karaoke and met his Friend Dennis the Mennis, very funny guy and everyone had a great time.
To sum up, the all inclusive isn't the best but the views and location makes up for it and wouldn't hesitate to go back, Absolutely Beautiful.

Room Tip: Top Floor which is 3rd with sea views, stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gintonic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    43
    21
    17
See reviews for
44
56
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the worst experience I ever had ..

For starters, there are only two good things: location, away from the madness of the city and the beach, 20 meters away

To continue with the bad:
* If you want a fridge, although working constantly, you have to pay 16 euros per week
* If you want safe, another 16 euros per week
* if you want air conditioning 7 euros / day

employees are terribly bored and poorly educated, going on the ideea that if you wont come , others will, and treat guests as they would do them a favor being at work there

after we had several complaints about the room (twin beds) and several discussions with the receptionist in the end I was told plain "dont come anymore''

the attitude was horrible, it doesnt deserve even 3 stars..

please dont go there anymore, there are better hotels on the island

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AAA030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laganas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

idealy located on the beach easy walking distance to main laganas strip full of bars,clubs & resteraunts,friendly & clean well recomended,staff always willing to help,hawiian bar oppiste hotel is very good run by Dennis& Papalo,ideal restaraunts. sirocco main strip,avanti just around the corner from hotel,Cubaneros beach bar is very goo

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ralph057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent 2 weeks in this hotel, in September 2012. It was last minute. We had room with a "part view" to the sea which really meant a view to another hotel, but it was not so bad. Room was clean but furniture was not so new. Bathroom with bath. Towels were changed every day. Air condition in September is extra paid (16 euro/week) and in our room was exactly above the bed, It was not comfy and no matter how we set "wind" it was on the bed. I do not like it, but in the night we could just open the window. Luckily, we get room for 3 so we had second bed.

We had just b&b, so I do not know too much about food. Breakfasts were fine, but I expected more from 4stars hotel. Staff is very friendly: in the restaurant, at the reception and in the bar.
In September we did not meet there young people. Hotel is far from centrum and bars - 10 - 15 minutes walk, but close to the beach where you can find any sunbed you want in any bar you like for free (if you buy a drink, of course). There is many restaurants and bars around the hotel, so it is not a "middle of nowhere", if you just want some clubbing or disco night you need to walk. But there are some noices from other hotels so sometimes it was not so easy to sleep with open window.
Nothing special for children (just small pool), no place to play.
Zakynthos is beautiful, the most interesting beach is in Laganas (if you like people and music around) so if you do not expect too much from the hotel Astir is fine because it is so close to beach and so far from bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

То all who have decided to visit this hotel-do not go there. This is the worst hotel in which we have been until now. You start the morning in 7 a.m. with a terrible noise from the cleaning staff. The food was disgusting and the same every day.
We was there from 03.09.2011 - 10.09.2011 on half board. For this we paid 800 euro. but this was not enough. On the reception told us that we must pay 16 euros if we want to use air conditioning, 16 euros for safety box and 40 euros for an umbrella and sunbeds. Refrigerator is locked, so if you want to use it, you must request a key.
My dream was to visit Zakynthos and because of this hotel I will never go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ivaylo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel and i thought it was absolutly wonderful and the food was amazing ! it was the first time i had tried greek food and i really enjoyed it ! the greek yogurt and orange honey was amazing ! the pool was lovly and warm it was also very clean as was the area around it, it had a lovely pool bar next to it and the food in there was very cheap and very good. the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The sea was great you could walk out into it for ages and it would only be up to your knees. Bedrooms were a nice size and the bed sheets were changed many time throughout the week. It has internet access down by the conference room and its 1 euro for an hour. Amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kcon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed here first week in June. Was surprised, it was lovely and clean, bed linen and towels changed a couple of times in 1 week. The food was Greek and cooked lovely in the evenings, breakfast was continental and cooked, well presented. We stayed half board, snack bar by the pool, serving good food which was reasonable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The downside is there were very few Brits staying here and mostly older people, did nt bother us it was lovely and quiet during the day and evening. Not a lot of bars around this area as it is at the beginning of Laganas and some places had closed down since we went last about 5 years ago. We paid extra for a sea veiw it was worth every penny. Would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank teengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.0 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 73 in Laganas
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Zante Blue Beach Hotel
Zante Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agios Sostis
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Palace Hotel

Property: Astir Palace Hotel
Address: Laganas 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astir Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astir Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astir Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing