We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borsalino Apartments
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Arrived at the apartments to greeted by the lovely Eleanor who showed us to our room which was lovely and clean and looked out on to the swimming pool. We met Eleanors husband, Yannis, later, a great fella with a good sense of humour. Throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome. The food that we ate there, though we we went eating out most of the time, was excellent. I would have no hesitation in reccomending Borsalino Apartments and we will be going again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for The Merlin Room (our room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glynlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Another great relaxing holiday.This was our 20th visit to the Borsalino Studios and was equally as good as previous years.Coming back to see Yannis Elena and there two boys is like visiting close family.This year was especially good because we met friends from previous years and also met new families and individuals which were really good company. Elenas breakfasts are great and good value for money and good value food for the evening if you dont fancy going out.Definatly back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Yanni and Elena are the perfect hosts. Relaxed and friendly service - some of the guests have been coming back for 20 years and I can understand why. I will certainly be coming back. Apartments are far enough away from the madness of the strip to ensure a peaceful night's sleep, but not too far that you can't walk there in 20/30 minutes. All in all, great value. More importantly, it was like holidaying with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for a week in July 2012 as a large group of girls. Location of the hotel for starters I would say is unsafe if you are in a group of less than 4 as it is a very long dark walk to the strip with a lot of surrounding fields etc. Luckily we were always in a large group so walking was not a problem however would suggest getting a taxi if you are in a small group. I have nothing but good things to say about Elena who from what we saw from our stay - does everything in this hotel. She is at the bar almost 24/7 and cooks all of the food, she was lovely. Yannis however i can not say the same, he was unapproachable, aggressive and had none of the qualities that you would expect from someone who owns and 'runs' a hotel. On the 3rd night of our holiday 2 out of the 4 rooms we were staying in were broken into, along with another room in the hotel. Money phones and ipods were taken. When we arrived back to the hotel at around 3am to discover our rooms had been burgled, we were obviously very distressed and upset, which was not helped by Yannis who was very unco-operative and dismissed the situation as something that can happen in a resort like Zante. He also proceeded to tell us that the break ins were our fault as one of the windows in our apartment had been left open (a window the size of a stamp). We felt very suspicious of Yannis because of the way he reacted to the situation and how he refused to show us any CCTV footage. I cannot say whether we were robbed by our hotel owner himself or whether the breakins were just unlucky - however i would not recommend the Borsalino apartments purely because of how unwelcome and quite frankly scared we felt during our stay there.

Room Tip: If you are staying here make sure ALL windows are locked and either get a safe or take all of your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessicajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed here last year and had all of my belongings stolen. So did the people I was with and many others in the hotel. The police were suspicious when we went and told them what had happened. Yannis was angry when asked about it and was generally nasty about the whole experience that was very distressing. (We were a large group of girls). It would appear that depending on how yannis is feeling that week determines whether you're going to have your holiday ruined and everything stolen. Their kids are annoying, pouring water on us even when we asked them to stop they continued. Ellena was faultless, lovely and kind and worked very hard by her criminal husband yannis. Lovely island, wrong hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5,537,800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We travelled as a group of 7 boys who at first were staying at the hotel Dimis but moved the Borsalino due to the appaling conditions at the Dimis. We were welcomed at the Borsalino by Elana and Yannis who both seemed extremely friendly and approachable. We were shown to our rooms which really were exceptional. As we were self-catered we had practically every kitchen appliance we would need there for us, with a large fridge and freezer too! Among our apartment we had a huge lounge area and dining room table which was perfect for the group! Our balcony overlooked the spotless pool and was very spacious which allowed us all to sit out there of an evening and socialise. Overall the location of the hotel was idelic, quiet and peaceful and not too far away from the strip. The service at the pool bar really was first class! Even when we had arranged to do a few boat trips etc and had a coach picking us up early in the morning we could always rely on Elena to take our orders for a cooked breakfast and them all to be out on time and to taste amazing! For 5euros and the amount you get it was well worth it!! The menu they offer is also extremely good, all the food cooked fresh and we were never left waiting around!

Yannis had said to us all to take showers before entering the pool which was fair enough as the pool was kept in prestine condition and cleaned on a regular basis. Sunbeds around the pool were all free and unlike the Dimis not a single one was broken nor tampered with. If ever we had any problems we could always ask Yannis or Elena! Despite the hotel being reasonably busy at times, both would always ensure they gave the best service and made everyone feel comfortable! The amount of time and effort they put into both the hotels rooms, pool, food, drink and atmosphere really is amazing and i highly doubt that could be found anywhere else!
The atmosphere around the pool was always good and Yannis even gave us all a free large fishbowl to share to get the groups staying at the hotel to mingle which was a nice treat!

The rooms did come with aircon, which we chose not to pay for but i would definately recomend getting it as it does get hot and stuffy! Overall it was a fantastic holiday, and made even better by the hotel and the service we got!! Very sad to leave but i would definately go back again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We traveled as a group of 6 girls to the island of Zante for a party holiday in the area of Laganas. As a group we are generally not hard core ravers and chose the Borsalino hotel as it was set back from the noisy strip. I loved the location and the hotel was basic but very clean.
The Borsalino hotel is a family buisness owned by Yannis and his wife Elena. Elena is a lovely woman and as the only female group staying at the hotel at the time, we spent a lot time with her and grew close. However Yannis, her husband, was an absolute nightmare. His short temper and inability to understand the importance of customer service means that he should not own a hotel. My friend had found a mouse in her room and became very distressed therefore we asked if Yannis could lay down some traps or try and exterminate the vermin.
We asked several times as he had not acted upon our request and on our 3rd attempt to approach him he threw a fit and began screaming in the face of my friend. Baring in mind she is a 4"11 girl who is very timid, she felt intimidated and frightened at his shocking outburst.
I would recommend this hotel but anyone who stays there should be very aware of Yannis vile and uncontrollable temper!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.8 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#61 of 73 in Laganas
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
1 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borsalino Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borsalino Apartments

Address: Laganas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Laganas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borsalino Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Borsalino Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borsalino Apartments Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing