We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel; relaxing atmosphere, nothing too much trouble”
Review of Castelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castelli Hotel
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely family run hotel; relaxing atmosphere, nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thank you Spyros, your lovely wife and family, we had a super stay at the Castelli and would definitely recommend you to others; we love the island of Zakynthos and you made our recent holiday all the more enjoyable with your wonderful welcome and hospitality. Enjoy your beautiful new grandson too. Best wishes Lesley and John (stayed 6-13 June, 2014). For those visiting the island for the first time, get out and about, hire a car if possible and go up into the mountains - the views are amazing! Also, try to get out on a boat trip to see the Caretta Caretta turtles; it's a must, and a privilege if they make themselves visible to you.

Room Tip: Below ground rooms are cool and comfortable, although views are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worksopnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    83
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
264
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just had our third holiday at the Castelli and nothing changes, you get a warm reception on arrival and during the length of your holiday, Spiros and family cannot do enough for you and the same goes for the rest of the staff, it is very clean and comfortable with a good continental breakfast, there is also a good snack bar round the lovely, clean, quiet pool during the day. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and it is nice to go back for a nightcap served by the lovely Marieanna before retiring for the night. A lovely quiet area and hopefully will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bloomhill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned after our 9th visit, our home from home, would not go anywhere else. We love Castelli. If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place to be. Spiros, Anastasia and Maria are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Plenty of Tavernas in walking distance and the beach is a five minute walk. Rooms are clean and well equipped, everything you need for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: If you want morning sun ask for pool side, afternoon sun car park side. All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bevr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a weeks holiday here in August 2012. On arrival the coach driver told us "this is the best". We quickly learnt this to be true.

Very friendly, family run hotel. We read loads of reviews before we arrived all saying good things and its all true.

We ate breakfast every morning, went for a walk or snorkelled at the beach, just a five min walk away. This was followed by an afternoon nap and then a drink in the bar (served by the very friendly Gabby) before heading out for dinner at lots of the restaurants nearby. We always came back for a drink or two at the bar in the evenings before bed.

The atmosphere, the place, just everything was magical. We long to go back and I still drop the nearby Cameo Island into conversation in the hope my boyfriend will bite for a wedding location in the future followed by a honeymoon at the Castelli.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A few things besides what is already written.

On the upside, the hotel is lovely, with a nice pool and terrace with a view, very clean, in a quiet area yet situated at a 15 minute walk from "downtown" where all the night action is.
Yes you have to pay extra for the air con, for us the fridge was included, but we did not mind and anyway is the same in all Greece hotels.
Rooms are very cozy, with their own individual terrace, only downside being the bathroom which is small (not too small or impossible to fit in, just small). If you've ever been to a hotel in Paris or Venice, you won't have a problem with the bathroom.
We went out every night, came back around 3-4 in the morning, there is no problem as long as you respect the other hotel guests and keep the noise down to a decent level.

On the downside, breakfast. It's enough, it's fresh, but you have to be familiar with the real meaning of "continental breakfast". The selection almost never changes and it gets kind of dull after the 4-th day. As a recommendation to Spiros: throw in some olives, some tomatoes and a decent coffee and it would be great!
For the rest of the meals, the hotel does not have kitchen, but you can go to the restaurant just across the road or if you would like a great taste of the Greek cuisine, try El Greco at a 10 minute pleasant walk from the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, thank you Spiros, Anastasia and Maria for your kindness and advice !

A few tips:
-all clubs rock except Linekers (unreasonably expensive).
-for the boat trips, be careful that what you pay for is what you get. Shipwreck is a must see, bluest water ever, you can get there only by boat. Blue caves are also nice.
-strongly suggest renting a quad and doing some trips on your own, best beaches are on the east and north-east side of the island.

Overall, a 4* experience for a 3* price - I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emyl_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Firstly the staff at this hotel are lovely, Spiros and his family do a great job of running the hotel and will always stop and have a chat and take an interest in your plans for the day, recommending the best restaurants in the evening and other local attractions. The BBQ is immense, more food than i would ever be able to eat however reasonably pricey at €12 each (if i remember rightly) - lunch is a lot cheaper nearby in other cafes/ restaurants however not home cooked and fresh from the BBQ! Our room was ok, we were on the ground floor and next to the car park and close to the road so a fair amount of road noise. The pool is lovely and always had sun beds available. Location is good, between Laganas and Agios Sostis - however our favourite place was Cameo Island, a short walk across a rope bridge to the tiny island with a floating bar and music playing all day!

There were some downsides with the hotel, as others have mentioned the shower was tiny, and with only a thin shower curtain around it the bathroom became flooded almost instantly. Extras to pay for included the fridge, air con and safety deposit box. We didn't pay for air con and, in the middle of August, it wasn't too bad.

The main downside for us was the fact that our flight left at 6 in the morning on the last day and so for the evening before and the early hours of the morning we did not have a room (as we had already technically stayed for 7 nights - being given a room at 6am on the morning of our arrival). We were told a room could be made available for us - for €50 - which we felt was far too expensive. This was exacerbated by the fact that i was taken ill on the last day of our holiday and so having spent the day in hospital, we spent the evening in the hotel and outside beside the pool - far from ideal. Spiros was great and recommended a nearby hospital and checked in with us as to how i was feeling. However with Spiros and his family having been so lovely and welcoming to us for the week i thought they may have offered us a room for the night while we waited for our transfer, or at least some blankets to make us a little more comfortable. This put a little bit of a dampener on our holiday.

Spiros and his family were lovely and i would stay at another of their hotels if they had one due to their hospitality but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: A room higher up than the ground floor would be best, however opt for the back of the hotel as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Castelli Hotel is a lovely hotel in a really nice location - between Laganas and Agios Sosti's. Spiros, Anastasia and Maria are the lovely family who run the hotel - and their attention to detail is second to none. Spiros always remembers every guests first name - which is quite an achievement. The hotel is great for peole who want a really relaxing holiday. All staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful, and are always there to help you should you need it - from car hire, to where to visit on the island, to booking lifts for you to local restaurants etc. Spiro has a BBQ every Saturday afternoon - which he cooks himself and it is really great value for money. The rooms are spotless, as is the pool area. The family also have there own farm, and guests can have guided tours. The hotel is surrounded by olive groves and lemon and orange trees. The breakfasts are good and the food served is very fresh - including eggs from the chickens in the farm. Zante is a beautiful island and it is worth hiring a car for a few days to visit the beatiful locations like Kampi, the shipwreck, Zante Town, Bochali - up the hill from Zante town for a very impressive veiw and lovely coffess & ice cream. Daphne and Banana beaches are also good places to visit, as is Gerakas in Vassilikous, in fact all places are lovely and worth visiting - we have travelled all over the island - as we have been there 6 times now, and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the olive groves get the afternoon and evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easygoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Agrilia Hotel
Agrilia Hotel
#8 of 74 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelli Hotel

Property: Castelli Hotel
Address: Agios Sostis | Laganas, Zakynthos, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
#4 Family Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all its guestrooms refurbished for 2015, Castelli's renovation project (2015-'16) makes sure your holiday experience is even richer! An award winning hotel with beautiful green surroundings and modern amenities: Castelli Hotel is a traditional charming family hotel, pioneer in greening, offering personal service, a unique home-from-home atmosphere, and genuine sincere hospitality. Located at Agios Sostis, a tranquil area of Laganas bay where the endangered Caretta Caretta sea turtles lay their eggs, this exquisite location is an advantage on its own: close to the cosmopolitan center, yet away from it all! Our inviting pool area is exclusively enjoyed by our guests, with a snack bar using our farm's produce, serving delicious dishes and greek meze, and our new a la carte pool restaurant, serving Mediterranean cuisine with a twist, focusing on local produce and organic ingredients. (Halfboard basis available) Castelli is an ideal holiday destination for families and couples. This relaxing family run hotel is beautifully laid out & looked after into detail. Being a "green" hotel, dedicated to authentic Philoxenia, Castelli is honored by its valued repeat customers, and stands out in the crowd. The NEW Castelli has opened its doors to 2015 on May 1st! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelli Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing