We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Castelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castelli Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Castelli is a wonderfully run family hotel. Spiros the owner and family have created a fantastic place to enjoy your holiday, they are very helpful and warm and the staff are all great too.
The hotel is in a peaceful location overlooking lovely olive groves.
We enjoyed the lovely pool and in the evening sat with a glass of wine and meze overlooking the pool and view. Restaurants are all really close by and excellent.
Castelli is only a short walk to the beach and ideally situated for peace and quiet but also if you want something a bit lively you are near Laganas . Also you are near to where the boat trips leave from...I totally recommend this little hotel and the lovely people who run it.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the olive grove and pool are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RGratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have now stayed at the Castelli for 16 years, my wife, two girls and I just love the hotel and all of it's staff, who are helpful and very friendly. We meet many of the same returning customers year after year, so that itself says what a great hotel this is. The hotel is kept spotless, always has been.
In the winter we go to the Canaries, staying at a 5 star hotel, but we would always pick the Castelli as our first choice and best holiday.
So many thanks again for a great holiday!!

Room Tip: Rooms poolside are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryIanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

You know that you are going to have an amazing stay somewhere when you are greeted with a smile and cool drinks on arrival (at about 11pm at night!). The rest of our stay at the Castelli didn't disappoint and by the end of our stay (we were there for a week), we were completely relaxed, tanned and slightly full from all the amazing food served at the hotel pool cafe!
Our room overlooked the pool and it was great to sit out on the balcony and look at the surrounding gardens and over to the sea in the distance. For us, the air con was a must and it made the hot nights much easier. The room was clean and we had everything we needed. The pool area was spotless and there were always loungers for everyone.
The location of the hotel is perfect. You are close to all the action, but not so close that you experience any noise. It is also close to Cameo Island and that was one of the highlights for me during our stay.
Spiros, his family and his staff, couldn't have done any more for us during our stay and Spiros was always there to answer any questions. We would definitely return to the Castelli - it was an amazing stay for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BeretBear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have just come back from this hotel, and I was disappointed. After looking at the reviews I was expecting a good 3* hotel, but instead it is a 2* hotel.
Good things: reception area is clean and well maintained , the pool area also in good condition, location is far from the noise of the central area
Bad things: bathroom so small that I always showered outside the cabin (it has maybe 50cm x 50cm), bathroom is dirty (I have taken some pictures if someone is curious), the room + bathroom needs urgent renovation, breakfast is a joke (no vegetables or fruits even you are in Greece!) and cheap food (sliced ready cheese and ham, supermarket biscuits etc.) Also , the TV was not working , but I did not tell the owner because the TV was broken I believe weeks ago, so it was no point get aggravated.
Mr Spiros is very polite as far as you respect his rules, but fails to solve issues if they appear. He is literally "yes man ", but no more....
If someone questions my objectivity , I would like to mention that I am working in tourism industry, and I have seen hundreds of hotels.
If you are looking for a good 2* hotel , and you have low expectations this is your choice; if you are looking for a 3* good hotel as per reviews than choose different.

Room Tip: choose upper floor rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Radu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Would agree with most of the reviews but our biggest concern was the bathroom. The shower and shower curtain were too small and every time we had a shower the bathroom floor was flooded. The shower needed upgrading as sealant was black. Our room and bathroom weren`t kept clean during our stay. Apart from that the rest of the hotel facilities and staff were excellent and the hotel is in a good location. Spiros recommended some really good tavernas & arranged transport to them.
We hired a car and saw most of this lovely island.

Room Tip: Speaking to other guests the poolside rooms were cooler & we liked to higher level. Garden rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navy-Pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I can only agree with the majority of reviews about Castelli Hotel,Spiros met us from the coach with cold drinks and gave us a short talk on the way the hotel is run,then personally took us to our room.Our room was ground floor overlooking the olive grove/garden,it was typical Greek but clean and tidy and was kept so during our stay.Breakfast,once again Greek but plentiful.The pool and surrounding area is spotless,plenty of loungers and shades too.Spiros and his staff are very friendly and helpful,nothing seems too much trouble for them.The Saturday lunchtime barbecue is awesome and not to be missed,you most probably won't want an evening meal!,well worth 12 euros,with a drink.Situated between Laganas and Agois Sostice you are spoilt for choice of tavernas although we ate mainly in Agios Sostice to avoid the guys trying to browbeat you into eating at their place.We totally enjoyed our two weeks at Castelli and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ballack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just spent two weeks at this lovely family run hotel and had a really good holiday. Our room was overlooking the pool and so was nice and shaded on the afternoon which was perfect after a day on the beach . The room was cleaned daily , towels & linen changed frequently , there was plenty of storage for clothes and cases . The bathroom was small but we managed fine.
When we arrived we were greeted by Spiros the owner who showed us to our room , during the holiday I had toothache and Spiros called his dentist for me , sorted a taxi for us and made sure the taxi driver knew exactly where to take us. The way guests were looked after at this lovely little hotel was superb .
The hotel is just a short walk from laganas beach and about 20 minutes walk from Agios Sostis , we tended to go to Agios Sostis beach during the day and most evenings ate at the beach front in laganas . Our favorite was Blue Sea but x-paradiso was very nice too , the best bar is vraxos (bpaxos) beautiful views.
We will definitely return to this beautiful island and to the Castelli hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank nwc389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelli Hotel

Address: Agios Sostis 465 | Laganas, Zakynthos, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range: £75 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castelli is an award winning hotel with beautiful green surroundings and modern amenities. Redesigned and fully renovated, this hotel is Adults Only promising the most memorable holidays. Our Major Renovation project 2015-17 brought fully refurbished rooms with comfortable beds & redesigned bathrooms, new luxury room types created, new services for our guests, Free Wi-Fi throughout, inviting Half Board menu, Farm to Table gourmet experience, new Lounge Pool Bar, modernly decked pool area. Always with our valued guests’ precious holidays in mind, we take your Castelli experience one step further adding delightful features, enchanting your comfort, creating an ideal holiday setting for our adult guests. While maintaining our traditional charm and coziness, Castelli has entered its new era to make sure it will capture your most valuable memories. Our activities vary from garden tour to olive picking and from yoga class under the olive trees, to hiking tours and scuba diving. We celebrate your birthday and honeymoon with a complimentary bottle of wine, and organize breakfast in bed and candle lit dinner, on request ! Our Eucalyptos Restaurant serves only traditional Zakynthian dishes prepared in modern methods, accompanied by local wines, while our homemade treats stand out. (Homemade lemonade, orange marmalade and the famous breakfast cake -made with ingredients from our farm’s produce and our organic virgin olive oil). Located at Aghios Sostis, a tranquil area of Laganas bay where the endangered Caretta Caretta sea turtles lay their eggs, this exquisite location is an advantage on its own: close to the cosmopolitan center, yet away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelli Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing