We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't come back!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wouldn't come back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very late review but a review nevertheless. I went here with three friends for a chilled party holiday in May/June 2013 at the service was very dreadful. Arrived at 6am because our travel agent at the last minute pushed back our flights (but that's another story), checked- in and were told to surrender our passports which the manager simply left on the opposite table in plain sight with other passports for anyone to pick up and steal.

We booked a pool view room only to get one facing the car park. When asked if we could move we were told all rooms were booked, when the hotel was only roughly 40% occupied.

Our board was Bed & Breakfast but were then told the hot breakfasts were for "all-inclusive" only which I found frankly ridiculous!

All in all my stay at this hotel was below par, I have learnt a costly lesson!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    71
    101
    74
    124
See reviews for
44
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Myself and a friend came here on a last minute deal, somewhere hot and to have fun! Our bus load tuck 5 minutes to figure out the entrance to the hotel as it looked empty! The manager and majority of staff knew little English, because we booked 5 days before the holiday they hadn't any paper work and we had to inform them we were all-inclusive! The 3 main staff members that stood out where bar staff day and night, good banter! Onto the food: Very repetitive, simple odd mix of food, but had a lot of flavour, and large selection of salad! Also snacks during the day were nice. Cleaners: minimal done in the 7 nights, had to ask for clean towels, had hair in sink for days before cleaned away after reporting it. Also make sure your dressed as on our first day of arriving cleaners used key to gain entrance and did not knock! Please lock your valuables away, we had open bags looked through - my friends suitcase was broke so new it had been opened! And other people at hotel had mentioned this.
DONT PAY for fridge!! Put your hand directly under and there is a catch, push down! We nearly got conned out of 10 euro, also if you get friendly with anyone in hotel check there remote to air con works in your room as we got usage of 2 groups remote for free!
Shopping is good and very friendly staff. Beach is about 10 minute walk - quiet in mornings busier after 13.00! We went on a trip to see turtles and the caves! Well worth the 30euro! Amazing views and good swim.
Night life is what Zante is about, cheap drinks and happy gas at every bar/club!! 5 euro for 2 shots fishbowl and happy gas!! Very friendly and good themed nights!! Party hard!
The hotel had a belly dancer on the Tuesday evening which was the best part and only piece of entertanment, got everyone involved and was a laugh!
The people we meet at the hotel were amazing and really made our holiday all the more better! 2 different pools , 1 quiet and 1 lively! quiet pool has been left to go downhill a bit but pool is clean!
You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just got back from my trip in laganas and this hotel is an absolute nightmare. Hygiene is poor, the lobby is terrible, food is terrible and to say the rooms are sub-average is a huge understatement.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, it is 5-10 minutes walk away from the strip which is good.

Staff are very rude and didn't handle any of our complaints. On the plus side Zante is a great place to go with friends and the bars there are top notch. Please listen to the other reviewers, I wish I did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laganas hotels

Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were looking for last minute vacation . This hotel was offered by the travel agent, had no time to read the other travelers experiences shared on TripAdvisor neither to look for another hotel. Ugly lobby, unprofessional staff at the reception, horrible small room, towels look like they were not washed at all.

We stayed in this hotel for one week and honestly I did not get any sleep during our holiday. Drunken young people were so noisy, fighting, screaming and no one from the staff did anything, management did not care about other guests at all.

I would not stay at this hotel unless someone pays me 100 EUR to stay overnight. Please, do not stay in this hotel because if you do you will ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert_Safarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

after reading all bad reviews we were very worried how all holiday and hotel will come out and I must say it was a really nice surprise!Hotel staff is very helpful and poolite (if you young, drunk and you decided to leave all your maners at home don't expect people to treat you like a king ffs!) We are not fussy so all we needed was there. Room was very basic but clean (all you need on holiday as you just sleep in the hotel) Didn't use the TV as we went on holiday not to watch TV. Air-con have to be paid extra but was 28 degrees and with balcony door open was perfect as night were pretty cold., Beds..I must say hard but after second night I've use to it.
If you want to rest in silence go for different hotel as this one is full of young party people shouting in the corridors at night, music in the rooms etc but if you don't mind and you sleep like a bear it won't bother you! We spoke to the reception about it and they sorted it out wiothout any bigger problems.
Food was very nice! Always fresh and loads to pick from (buffet choice).And again remeber you going for 3* so if you expect 5* meals go to the 5* hotel! To me food was amaizing and very tasty!Drink are orange juice,water,tea and coffee. Always fresh fruits and ice creams/jelly desserts/custards. for All Inclisive all local spirits as usual.Bar staff very poolite (one guy pretty serious but not rude...I think cause his english wasn't perfect)
****PEOPLE THIS IS ZANTE ****GO TO OTHER PART OF THE ISLAND IF YOU WANT TO REST! LAGANAS IS THE CLUBING PART OF ZANTE! I went to get some rest and workout in the gym but I didn't expect nice and quiet holiday cause I knew where I'm going to! One more thing...GYM - if you need a gym this hotel has a lil one, pretty old but if you want to lift some weights and keep up with your training it will be enough! There is Golden's Gym in the town (about 5-7min walk from the hotel, right next to the Majestic Hotel ) 7 Euro single workout, 10 Euro all day and 25 Euro for 7 days :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from our holiday to laganas. Booked it as a last minute holiday and was recommended this hotel by travel agent, as price was good for all inclusive! Well if I would have known how bad this hotel is, I would have offered to pay more of any amount of money to stay somewhere decent! Please people don't stay there even if you get it really cheap!!
Basically I could do copy-paste from previous review as I agree with everything in there.
On arrival reception staff were rude but I put it on tiredness as we arrived at night. I was more bothered about groups of people sitting in the lounge, drinking ad shouting. That was 5am!

We are not fussy people, but our room was very basic to say at least. Very old and tired, tv didn't work, no air-con, beds were rock hard, so were pillows. We both ended up not getting much sleep for first two nights, due to people shouting in the corridors at night, music in room next door, music banging downstairs by the bar, mosquitos in the room and too hot rooms due no air-con.
Food was nothing special, very limited buffet choice. Lunch and dinner were ok, but breakfast was very poor. No drinks available, only water or tea and coffee. Night time red or white wine. Bar staff was unbeleivably rude, when asking any questions, were given a paper with all inclusive rules and no answer at all. And not to mention that drinks were cheap and did not taste right.
And as we thought it can't get any worse, 250 Slovenian students arrived! What happened next felt like in the zoo. Screaming, shouting, drunken people everywhere. When asked from reception about what is happening and it's unfair towards other guests, I got answer that it's hard for them too!!
So after another sleepless night we decided to check out of this hotel and found ourselves lovely hotel by the beach in our own expense! Reception staff didn't even apologise or offer us any other options!
It might sound now like we are old and moaning couple, but no we are only young aswell, just we're looking for nice relaxing break with good atmosphere, and you definately won't find that from Alexander's!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We travelled at the last minute and were impressed at the staff friendliness and the quality of food and drink in our all inclusive deal.
The rooms were cleaned daily, the dining area spotless and the poolside area wonderful

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#15 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Apartments
Paradise Apartments
#31 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pallas Hotel
Pallas Hotel
#10 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ikaros Hotel
Ikaros Hotel
#56 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing