We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a cheap student holiday”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed 5 January 2014

To be honest this hotel was not great, however it was what we needed for a price we could afford. 9 of us altogether stayed for a week 23rd to the 30th of June; it is a hotel purely for the younger, studenty population, definitely not a family hotel! It was very lively and great if all you want is a cheap hotel with a young crowd close(ish) to the main strip (the walk was around 20 minutes).

I booked B&B and the breakfast was awful, the milk was warm , there was little choice and we did not get a choice of fry up; that was only for all inclusive people.

The pool is great and the bar by the pool do really good fry ups (perfect for a hangover). The staff are relatively friendly, room sizes are okay for what we needed, but do not go to this hotel expecting it to be 4/5* it is definitely at most a 3*. But considering we were mostly out during the day and the night it rarely mattered!

Overall if all you are looking for is a hotel which is cheap, busy and lively that is relatively close to the main strip then this hotel fulfills that exactly, however eat elsewhere, the food is poor.

(Also next door is a good restaurant, the owner is really nice and chatty).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

A group of five of us stayed in this hotel in july 2014. It was our first holiday without parents so we were unsure of what to expect. The hotel is extremely clean, maids do a fantastic jobs in rooms and even managed to work around the mess we left each day. The pool is lovely and there are always plenty of sunbeds, although reception staff do not speak very good English they do their best to help you. Bar men are great and quick. The only 2 problems I could give about the hotel is that the pool can become unclean towards the end of the day due to large groups leaving plastic cups, cans and food plates around. And... I would certainly not recommend going all inclusive, as we were rolling in at early hours of the morning we always missed breakfast (which stopped early at 10.30am anyway) dinner and tea offered a wide variety of food but nothing that we had really heard on, they offered some strange food and we would usually just order pool side snacks such as toasties. You could also only get certain drinks on your all inclusive band, such as a limited choice of cocktails, no ice lollies and no crisps.
I would recommend going to the 4play bar just over the road, we pre drank there every single night, friendly staff, cheap drinks and a good friendly atmosphere. Around a 15 minute walk to the strip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I hope they don't delete this post as I know they write there own & delete other reviews,as much as I read the reviews they were obviously false! don't get me wrong this hotel is beautifull,just neglected,the photos on the website are not the same as ours,I will upload my photos & hope they help,the hotels staff are miserable apart from a few,they like to ignore a lot,e.g bad language,broken glass,arguements,litter,room problems,cleanliness of around the pool & toilets,We spent 10 nights at this hotel & luckily met some lovely people,they had the same views as us,opposite the hotel is captain morgans pub/restaurant,the owners are amazing & will fill you in about around the hotel & where to go,although as so friendly most nights were spent in here as we as a couple met others,the owner Karen is English,this will definatley help as staff play ignorant to the English!!!
We were all inclusive & I willsay the food was amazing! 10/10 for effort! The hotel is a 10min walk from the main strip,crazy golf is a must at the end of the road,the beach is a 10 min walk to,there are no visible signs to the beach so aslong as you turn right out of the hotel you will reach the beach,we walked there everyday by one as the music round the only pool was too loud & repetitive! again good for youngsters 18/30 perfect! if you walk to the beach you can cut through the havanna beach club,this is a eye opener & great people watcher bar/club on the beach,we stopped for a drink most days as great tunes & views!!! I would advise if a couple to walk left on the beach & walk to the lovely lady with sunbeds furthest away! she will look after your bags/beds while you swim ect,8 erous x2 beds with parasol,my partner went snorkling 200metres out & came face to face with a turtle!!!! what an experience!!! we had an amazing time away,but the hotel didn't meet our expectations,we hadn't ahad a holiday in 7 years so made the most of it!!! stunning beaches,walks,excursions,wish we had hired a quad bike,as got to see more of the island that way,well I think Ive covered most of it?? oh yeah one more thing to add!!!!!!!! 90% of the population are not greek in skiathos!!!hence rudeness!! There Albanian!!! the greeks are amazing if you get to find them!!! shame there being pushed out to the mainland.

Room Tip: The photos on the website of the rooms are not what you book Im afraid? They looked stunning online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very late review but a review nevertheless. I went here with three friends for a chilled party holiday in May/June 2013 at the service was very dreadful. Arrived at 6am because our travel agent at the last minute pushed back our flights (but that's another story), checked- in and were told to surrender our passports which the manager simply left on the opposite table in plain sight with other passports for anyone to pick up and steal.

We booked a pool view room only to get one facing the car park. When asked if we could move we were told all rooms were booked, when the hotel was only roughly 40% occupied.

Our board was Bed & Breakfast but were then told the hot breakfasts were for "all-inclusive" only which I found frankly ridiculous!

All in all my stay at this hotel was below par, I have learnt a costly lesson!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tashan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Myself and a friend came here on a last minute deal, somewhere hot and to have fun! Our bus load tuck 5 minutes to figure out the entrance to the hotel as it looked empty! The manager and majority of staff knew little English, because we booked 5 days before the holiday they hadn't any paper work and we had to inform them we were all-inclusive! The 3 main staff members that stood out where bar staff day and night, good banter! Onto the food: Very repetitive, simple odd mix of food, but had a lot of flavour, and large selection of salad! Also snacks during the day were nice. Cleaners: minimal done in the 7 nights, had to ask for clean towels, had hair in sink for days before cleaned away after reporting it. Also make sure your dressed as on our first day of arriving cleaners used key to gain entrance and did not knock! Please lock your valuables away, we had open bags looked through - my friends suitcase was broke so new it had been opened! And other people at hotel had mentioned this.
DONT PAY for fridge!! Put your hand directly under and there is a catch, push down! We nearly got conned out of 10 euro, also if you get friendly with anyone in hotel check there remote to air con works in your room as we got usage of 2 groups remote for free!
Shopping is good and very friendly staff. Beach is about 10 minute walk - quiet in mornings busier after 13.00! We went on a trip to see turtles and the caves! Well worth the 30euro! Amazing views and good swim.
Night life is what Zante is about, cheap drinks and happy gas at every bar/club!! 5 euro for 2 shots fishbowl and happy gas!! Very friendly and good themed nights!! Party hard!
The hotel had a belly dancer on the Tuesday evening which was the best part and only piece of entertanment, got everyone involved and was a laugh!
The people we meet at the hotel were amazing and really made our holiday all the more better! 2 different pools , 1 quiet and 1 lively! quiet pool has been left to go downhill a bit but pool is clean!
You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just got back from my trip in laganas and this hotel is an absolute nightmare. Hygiene is poor, the lobby is terrible, food is terrible and to say the rooms are sub-average is a huge understatement.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, it is 5-10 minutes walk away from the strip which is good.

Staff are very rude and didn't handle any of our complaints. On the plus side Zante is a great place to go with friends and the bars there are top notch. Please listen to the other reviewers, I wish I did!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were looking for last minute vacation . This hotel was offered by the travel agent, had no time to read the other travelers experiences shared on TripAdvisor neither to look for another hotel. Ugly lobby, unprofessional staff at the reception, horrible small room, towels look like they were not washed at all.

We stayed in this hotel for one week and honestly I did not get any sleep during our holiday. Drunken young people were so noisy, fighting, screaming and no one from the staff did anything, management did not care about other guests at all.

I would not stay at this hotel unless someone pays me 100 EUR to stay overnight. Please, do not stay in this hotel because if you do you will ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Manazer-Questenberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Apartments & Studios
1 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#8 of 73 in Laganas
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range: £50 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing