We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and worth staying in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed here for seven nights in May 2013. The hotel is ideal for people of all ages and it's close to the beach. The rooms are of decent quality and the staff are great. I didn't have any problems with the hotel and our stay was pleasant enough. Although I would say that the food can become a bit repetitive and they lack a great deal of selection. Saying that it's enough to get you through seven days, but I wouldn't like to put up with it for longer than that. I met a lot of good people while I was there, and it’s worth going down to the hotel bar for a bit of late night entertainment. For the party people that want to experience the strip you will be pleased to know that it’s only a ten minute walk into the town.

Our experience would have been better if the hotel didn’t charge for the use of the Sunloungers at 8 euro per day!!

Other recommendations include offering free Wi-Fi in the reception area. And stopping charging guests for their final hour of the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

just got back from a two week break at hotel Galaxy, had a lovely time. traveled as a family we have a little boy of two and throughout our stay the staff were fantastic the restaurant staff Nikos and Maria made extra effort with us every day couldn't praise them enough.
The food in the restaurant was ok but not a great deal of choice and on some days I felt like saying "again?!" lol the menu repeats itself week on week i'd recommend getting to the restaurant nearer the start of meal times as the later you leave it its not great i mostly ended up on chips and cheese salad sandwiches lol but im a bit fussy anyway; my husband ate all sorts and never really complained. The all inclusive was good in terms of drinks and icecream was free for the little one. tea/coffee available although if you like a good cuppa take your own! the hotel was just on the beach but it wasn't much to write about as there's not a lot of nice sand etc but this was same all the way along.
the hotel itself wasn't bad it was always kept clean and well presented the room cleaning consisted of a quick mop and a bit of bleach in loo, (dust left under bed!) new towels daily if required and bedding always seemed fresh but it was a bit worn e.g holes etc. and the maids constantly left the balcony door open after cleaning!
on arrival a 50 euro deposit was taken from us and most other english guests (should be everyone or not at all as its quite rude to presume who they should charge etc) internet is chargeable and if needed wifi available but only in some areas and not rooms. safe available 20euro a week and there was a mini fridge in room ideal if with kids etc we kept lots in there over the stay.
bathroom clean but shower very poky and not constant hot water it kept blasting ice out then really hot lol if going with kids get a family room with bath!
hotel manager was a very nice guy too as i'm pregnant and one night needed to stay in the room plus little one asleep and he allowed food to the room and brought it himself (wouldn't say its done all the time so don't expect it but it was nice of him to allow on this occasion)
Bar staff always friendly etc on both pool and indoor bar Yiannis was a great guy and good laugh.
around pool area the sunbeds weren't very comfy and some of the boards were lifting not good for bare feet and the kids pool was good but a few of the edges are a bit sharp and my little boy bust his lip but hes as clumsy as they come. overall the area was nice and with time of year we didn't struggle for a sunbed etc but it picked up towards the end of our stay pool was clean and would have been tidier if there was more bins but it wasn't scruffy.
overall the hotel was nice and we enjoyed our stay but would be better just for a week as we got a bit fed up after two. No major complaints at all but personally wouldn't stay again generally this area of Greece. A good time had by all.

area/weather etc
hotel is 5-10 min walk to the strip we walked up a few times and the area is a bit run down although we were there beginning of the season so pretty quiet until the few days before we came home. Not thinking of going to laganas again as there isn't enough to do.. we went on a turtle spotting trip (on the beach 10euro per adult kids free under 4) but beware u do have to walk out a bit into the sea to get on the boat lol but its for an hour but we were out about 90mins so good value!
also went on the train ride that was a couple of hours and takes you to a ceramics cafe/shop and an olive factory it was a bit boring but it was something to do!
in the hotel i would say there wasn't enough entertainment there was literally only one night something was on and it was a piano player (yawn)
the weather was pretty average we had a few days of clouds rain and storms nothing major but it was cold so take warm clothes backup if going in may! we had mostly good weather tho really hot with a nice sea breeze due to position of hotel so it was just right.

Nice hotel, great staff and ok area but a bit run down but to be expected given current climate. wouldnt go again but we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: get a family room even if only one child as otherwise a bit poky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cspeachey282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Gorgeous hotel, lovely room, tiny bathroom, very small shower, could hardly move! Pool was good, not a lot of entertainment, there was a pool tournament one night, but one night the whole garden to the hotel was closed for a wedding, so everyone had to leave the pool early.
Shame about the food though, to say you're all inclusive, there is not a lot of choice and the quality isn't brilliant. Puddings are good though. Staff were nice.

Room Tip: They all face onto the other side of the hotel, so I'm not sure there is a 'perfect room'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It was a great stay, also for small kids, you don't know how close the city centre is but you never have issues, small supermarkets on walking distance, rooms near pool and sandy beach. the food was random not very special but good enough to stay 8 days, it was in june 2011

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sander1974Obdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

went to this hotel ,october 2013.after finding out wich resort we were heading for was a little nervous, 10 min ute walk from laganas town center, expecting the worst, all teenagers , and booze , not so it was just out of season, so quiet, hotel very comftable , pleasant pool area, and friendly staff. just set off the beach,which was avery gentle slope, for about 200 yards, out.food was decent , dont know if it was because of being out of season, but left hand side of hotel, about 100 yards, beach could have been better kept, this is my only down point of which was a relaxed holiday perhaps if hotel was moved to more scenic part of island, would be perfect

Room Tip: choose top two floors nearer rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my two girl friends (all aged 21) in June 2012. at first we were expecting a lively, rowdy holiday as Zante has that stigma amongst young people, but this hotel is the perfect location. the beach is literally a few steps away from the pool. laganas town is a 5 minute walk from bars and clubs, but also beautiful restaurants on the beach within 5 mins walk. also check out the boat trips on offer in town. good prices and reliable. ONE THING TO BE CAUTIOUS OF: do not book anything with your holiday rep if you went with firstchoice/thomson. you can't refund it if you change your mind. and thy completely rip you off with random made up offers (free entry and free drinks) which aren't actually true. the tickets aren't recognised by the clubs.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We arrived on 16th October 2012 and had booked through hotels 4u.com (that's another story !,)
The reception was tired and looked shabby. Not a good first impression. Receptionist was friendly but not tidy and not very professional. Room was clean and acceptable except wardrobe door was jammed so couldnt get at safe. Reported to reception who said they would deal with it. There was a no entry red sign on the balcony door so even though we had a lovely sea view we could not go out and sit on the balcony.? For fear we may get plastered and fall off I guess !! We went for some lunch and the waiter was very kind even though we were quite late going in. However, the receptionist lied tows when we asked when lunch finished and what time was it ? She said it finished at 2pm and it was 2 now. When we checked it was still open and was just 1.25pm.....the restaurant is grim ! That's the only word I can think of to describe it... The chef came out and his outfit was dirty, so was his apron. It made us feel unwell just looking at him! After lunch we went for a walk down to the beach. Well that was filthy too. Fag ends, bottles, cans etc etc all strewn around. We walked back unto the pool bar to get a coffee only to be told that a cappuccino was extra and not included ! I have never heard anything like it !, we don't drink alcohol but have to pay for a coffee on all inclusive ?? Well that was the straw that broke the camels back and we contacted hotels 4u to be moved. See my review on them !!!! We went to the biratzo grande in kalamaki which was heaven !, see my separate review.....
Before I go, I would like to mention the Thomson rep at the galaxy who helped me and was extremely lovely. Also the gentleman on reception who was also very polite. This is a hotel sold by Thomson and I think it does not do their reputation for quality any good at all.

Thank you for reading, I hope it helps with your decision.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zante Park Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,749 reviews
3.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Laganas, Laganas 291 00, Greece (Formerly Galaxy Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laganas
#5 Family Hotel in Laganas
Price Range: £79 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing