We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Going in the last week of June 2013 as 9 18-20 year old guys this was ideal really. After reading some previous reviews, I was a bit hesitant but any worries I had were soon quashed when we got there. We had 3 people in each room, with 2 bedrooms, 1 of them with a King Size bed, a nice bathroom. Checking in was no problem, the reception staff were very friendly and explained everything about our stay and the room. They took a 1 euro deposit just to check my card worked and I wasn't giving them false details in any case I should need to pay for anything broken etc.
We went all inclusive for the week which was ideal, going back and forth to the pool side bar all day, if was great! However, one thing to mention is that if you're in the queue with an attractive woman in a bikini, she will get served before you! But the bar staff weren't rude at all to anyone, (just preferred serving the pretty girls no matter how long you've been standing there). The pool was great, nice size and perfect temperature considering it was about 30 degrees plus all week. The only downside of the pool is there aren't that may sunbeds and even if you got down to the pool after breakfast, all the sunbeds would be taken! But there's still space on the grass areas to lie on towels or its just a quick walk down the steps to the beach where there are plenty of sunbeds. We didn't experience any charges for any of these, but there will be plenty of people to come along and try to sell you random things which gets quite annoying quite quickly.
So onto the food, it was good enough for the week, quite a lot to choose from overall, breads, soup, salad, lots of meats and fish options (sadly I didn't pay attention to if there were any vegetarian options) and a nice range of things for dessert. The food wasn't by any standards perfect but it was fine for the week. The options didn't vary much throughout the week but again, still acceptable by my standards.
The all inclusive runs until 11pm which is plenty enough time if you're getting the free drinks in before a night out on the strip (where there's plenty of bars and clubs to go to, most of which are brilliant! It's a great night out in Zante). The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk to the strip with loads of bars to stop and drink at along the way, 'Life's a Beach' (walking on the beachfront is great, staff are awesome and they have beer pong tables!!). Then there's 'Enzo' and 'Drunken Duncans Cocktail Bar' walking to the strip the road way from the hotel. Both great bars with some great deals! (Try the Head Blaster at Drunken Duncans!)
I would happily come back to Zante someday and happily come back to Galaxy Hotel, and I'd definitely come back All Inclusive!!

Room Tip: We had room 21 on the ground floor opposite the reception which was great, no issues whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Me and my husband have just spent 2 weeks at the Galaxy, and what a wonderful surprise it was, because when we first arrived in Zante, (our first time in Greece) we thought it was dreadfull, just like Turkey, but thank goodness for the Galaxy, superb location, lovely modern rooms and most importantly, fantastic friendly staff. Nikos the waiter has become our friend and Claude, Stakis and Yiannis the bar tenders are the best! Ormondo the restaurant manager spoke to us every day and even surprised my husband with a birthday cake!We found the food was amazing, trying to please ALL nationalities is difficult, but there was something for everyone. Not alot of Brits stayed here, mainly Dutch German and from the Balkans but not a problem.(apart from not knowing how to queue!) Would not recommend Laganas for the over 40s, a bit too young and not much to do at night, but we stayed in the hotel most nights. Must check out the rooftop bar, amazing views and cool atmosphere but it would be soo much better if it was adults only. Top tip, get your drinks in at 11 as all inclusive ends then and there aren't any snacks between mealtimes, a bit poor for all inclusive, Spain does it much better! Overall, a great time had by all!

Room Tip: Email a few days before and ask for the sea view rooms, there are only two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I travelled with my husband and stayed for two weeks in May,

The hotel room (201) was excellent big king size bed, and pool and sea view, Lovely big bathroom with bath and Shower, The food in this hotel was a bit of a let down although we could find something to eat and their was very little entertainment (a pianist and a turtle show) I think if you are All Inclusive they should have entertainment every night.

The pool and bar area was really clean and drinks were great especially the cocktails very large measures :-) We managed to get sun loungers no problem but would imagine this might not be the case in high season.

The staff at this hotel were brilliant really friendly and helpful. The location is excellent right on the beach and 5-10 mins to the strip. We used to go to amigos on the kalamaki Road thye has different singers on everynight. There is a brilliant sports bar just around the corner from the hotel just before you get onto the strip (Must Bar) the staff in here are really friendly.

All in all we had a fantastic time if we had been staying self catering I would have rated this hotel higher as the rooms and location are excellent.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel directly before we arrived and asked for pool or sea view room and we got both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Holidays_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Just got back from a week at the galaxy hotel, great location right on the beach !!!!
I was pleasantly surprised with everything, food was the best I've had at an all inclusive, there were lots of variety, pasta dishes every night, sprouts, brocoli,lots of chicken dishes, roast potatoes, salads, stuffed vine leaves, greek cheese pies, mushroom quiche, lasagne, fish, soup, chocolate cheese cake, melon etc. nice cocktails (sex on the beach) although I overindulged on the first night and couldn't face another one for the duration lol !!! the room we had was amazing it was really big with a lovely balcony, the bed was comfortable. The lagunas main strip was full of 18-30's bars, clubs, etc. but we mainly stayed on the rooftop terrace in an evening. The beach can get busy but if you walk towards Kalamaki (left from the beach) it gets quieter. There were some young british lads that were loud and often quite drunk, they trashed the hotel room as well, no respect for others or their environment. The hotel had lots of russians, dutch and German there too so there was a nice mix of nationalities. The staff were lovely and were very helpful and friendly. I would definetly go back there !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudithCharmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Had a weeks holiday here with friends and my partner Zante is a lovely place!! Great hotel great location would come again had a nice time staff were friendly food was ok I have had better but you get what you pay for the next time I would go half board

Room Tip: Higher you are the better views and nice view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emma_250190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just got back from 10 days in galaxy hotel our stay over all was very good the hotel itself is lovely it is a 10 minute walk from the main strip witch has loads of shops, they are nice to look around during the day, the strip also comes alive at night time with pubs clubs we did not go to the strip of a evening time but I am told it was very lively if that is your sort of thing, we could not fault the food really we always found something we could eat, the breakfast was a little repetitive.

The pool area is a little small for the size of the hotel and would need to get up very early to get a sunbed, however the beach is right in front of the hotel but you do have to pay 8 Euros a day for 2 sunbeds and a parasol on the beach, you do get pestered a lot when on the beach with people selling things but put some ear phones in or read a book and they normally leave you alone,

The all-inclusive drinks were very good with a wide range to choose from including cocktails witch were very nice, Our room was amazing we had a great view of the sea we stayed in room 236A on the second floor the room we stayed in was very big with a nice big bathroom and a super king size bed ( mattress a little hard) there was a mini fridge and safe in the room, maid service every day with clean bedding and clean towels could not fault the room, there was 2 bars open the pool bar and the reception bar there is also a roof top bar witch is meant to be amazing but it was not open when we was there as we were told they have had a bit of bad weather before we got there, but they did not open it at all when we was there, even though we had not had bad weather at all on our stay. All the bar staff were very very friendly, there can not be a lot wrong with this hotel because some people have been returning for five years or more .With reference to previous review about young groups, towards the end of our stay there was a group of young lads which were rowdy however this tends to happen has the season gets into full flow, I would recommend for a family break either early in the season or late on .Probably the best thing about this holiday was the people we met special mention to shawn and Jayne and wayne and the Geordie crew its a cracker

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammie0157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

As two single girls in our late 20's we stayed here as it said it was a quiet hotel, we wanted a quiet break. There were lots of different groups of boys who were very noisy, up until 6.30am shouting through the hallways. After 2 nights of no sleep we complained and asked to move rooms, they told us to sleep in the day instead, after a full day of complaining they finally let us move to a quieter part of the building. The room we moved to had some damage such as the door wouldn't lock, when we checked out they tried to accuse us of creating the damage and tried charging us. The reception staff were rude and she just said that she put us on the noisy floor because we are English.
The food was not very nice, it was all very unhealthy and there were no snacks in between meals, lunch finished at 2.30pm then there was no food until 7pm.
The all inclusive drinks are locally produced and taste really bad, also you cannot get any drinks after 11pm.
We found the hotel clean and nice enough for a 3 star but be prepared to bring extra food so you don't go hungry during the day, also be prepared to not get any sleep as they do let large groups of young people who like to party stay in the hotel. Do not expect a welcome with a smile from reception.
The bar staff were lovely on the other hand especially sakis he made our stay worthwhile, if it wasn't for his friendly service we would have hated this hotel. If you want somewhere quiet stay in kalimaki it's only a short walk away but the hotels are much nicer and the area is much quieter

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chloe2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Zante Park Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
706 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Laganas, Laganas 291 00, Greece (Formerly Galaxy Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laganas
#5 Family Hotel in Laganas
Price Range: £61 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing