We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us...”
Review of Alkyonis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alkyonis
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for us...”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just back from stay at hotel (15/08/14). We were moved to this hotel by Cosmos after the hotel we originally booked was over booked and could not accomodate us. Found the hotel to be very noisy and generally unclean. Hotel rooms are definately not 3* standard. The shower was broken with very dirty shower curtain. Beds had springs popping out of the matress and cigarette holes in the sheets. Room was very small and general dirty feeling. Found a condom in the room and on two occassions a used condom was thrown into the pool. Air con is 7 euros per day. Hotel is perfect for young girls/lads on holidays. Bar is cheap and just a 2 min stroll from beach and 15 min walk to main strip. Would definately not recommend this hotel for couples or families.

Room Tip: You can rent a fan for 2 euros a day from shop next door. Owners keep your passports
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claira r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for a week in a group of 8 girls.
Checking in was fine, and we were put in room next to each other, as were other parties we knew in the hotel without having to request. They take your passports off you and keep them for the week and give you them back when you check out and hand back your keys. The hotel is run by a family all of who are lovely :)
We had to pay 10 euro for a safe, which is in the downstairs lobby, along with all the other safes and you get one key per room. Air conditioning was a further 30 euros (ish) per room, as was the fridge- which they bring you to after you've paid. But i'd definitely recommend paying for it all as soon as you get there. One our first night though, we lost the key to our room and had to pay 20 euros for a new one.
The rooms were as clean as you'd keep it yourself. If you're gonna spill alcohol and not wipe it up you can't expect to not get ants when you are in Greece. Bed sheets- quite literally, there was no quilt not that you need it, were changed every day. Towels weren't changed every day, but if you ask they will. We asked for extra pillows and they happily gave us another. We emailed the hotel asking for rooms facing the pool as they are cooler, but only got 1 pool room out of 3, so it's worth a shot or just asking when you check in. I was in one of the rooms facing the road though, and the aircon worked a treat!
The bathroom was a bit disgusting, the shower was small and had a shower curtain which did not stop the whole bathroom getting wet every time you showered. The shower however was really powerful which was good :)
The pool bar was really handy, and of a reasonable price. Sold things like omelettes, sandwiches, full english etc. Cocktails are always 2 euros, the cocktail menu itself is huge and they are gorgeous! The pool is shaded in the afternoon so the pool gets a bit cold, but there's a terrace which gets the sun all day long which is fab. There is also wifi around the pool but you have to pay, i think it was 3 euros for an hour or something like that. But there's so many restaurants in Laganas all of which seem to offer free wifi, if you're eating or drinking there.
The walk to the strip always seems longer in the day, but at night it's really not too bad. Be sure to turn left out of the hotel though unless you wanna be dragged into every bar along your way which is what happens if you turn right. But after left out of the hotel, take your first right and pretty much follow the road then and dont turn off it until you hit the strip. You'll pass pure and some other bars, but don't bother stopping just head straight to the strip until you see G-spot.
Overall the alkyonis is a fab place for a girls/lads holiday especially for the money you pay! We've all said we'd 100% come back again if we come back to Laganas.

Room Tip: Try and request a pool facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our last holiday in Zante was 27 years ago in a different resort so we didn't know what to expect as we booked the holiday with less than 24 hours to departure as the price was unbelievable. The hotel is about a 5/10 minute walk off the strip in a quieter area. The pool and bar where good but late afternoon the sun beds are in the shade but if you still want the sun there is a large veranda that has the sun until very late. We stayed b&b so the room didn't have a fridge but I believe these can be rented from reception. The breakfast is basic with cereals, toast, fruit etc.... There was plenty of wardrobe space/draws & the rooms are nice & clean. The safe deposit was €10 for a week & the air conditioning €45. We were lucky & didn't need air conditioning as our room was in the shade in the afternoon so was cool when we returned. There was no TV in the room but the WiFi was free & we had no problems with the connection in our room. Some mornings you could hear the younger end returning from their nights out but this didn't spoil our holiday. Good places to eat where the Avanti just to the right of the hotel or the Apollo just a bit further up at the top of the junction. If you walk down the side of the hotel past the pool you will find Splish Splash Pool Bar which is owned by Greeks but they do a great English breakfast & Sunday lunch. The owners Taz & Yannis speak great English & are very welcoming. We found that the best supermarket for money exchange was the one on the right had side of the Apollo Restuarant.

Room Tip: If you don't want the sun on your balcony in the afternoon & don't want the noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy_SamLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are basic but extremely clean and has everything you need. The staff are incredibly friendly too. Great little bar here with really good prices for a hotel bar.
It also has a free pool table for its guests. I've stayed here a few times and have never ever had a single problem.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here in august 2012 with 4 friends for a week. I can not fault the hotel at all (part from the kettle not working). They were always there too help. near to the strip, near to the beach, right next to a fantastic resturant (go out the main door of the hotel and turn right). rooms were very clean, and so was the hotel in general. im looking at all the pictures on here and its bringing back all the memories of our holiday and i really wanna go back in time and go back there with everyone!!!! Highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

this is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel the first time alone though.clean friendly and reasonable for the price payed. bed made up and floor swept and mopped every day towels changed every two days but if you asked the maid she would change them for you more often,good pool area quite a shallow pool with plenty of sunbeds.there
is a pool bar where you can purchase snacks or lunch ,over all a good hotel close to the beach and not far from bars and nightlife and will go back there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roywales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here with four of my friends in August this year. When we arrived it was 7 in the morning so after a long night flight and delay all we wanted to do was sleep. as there were 5 of us we were splitting the rooms so that me and one other girl were together and then the other three girls were together. However when we got there the room for the 3 girls had a double bed and a single instead of 3 singles. the girls werent best pleased about this but the hotel were great about it and swapped them to a new room straight away. As it was quite quiet when we went (only 3 other groups in the whole hotel) they also offered to swap me and the girl i was sharing with so that we were still next door to them which was really nice. So we ended up in rooms 30 and 31 :) The rooms themselves were perfect as a base for a group holiday. They were clean and safe and the beds were comfortable.It was great aswell as its the only hotel ive been in where they dont tell you off for playing music loud!! Also if you came in in the morning being a bit rowdy they didnt really mind as long as you didnt linger in the lobby! The safe deposit boxes were in reception which was annoying but not too much of a problem. Also dont panic when they take your passports off you :) The rooms were also super quiet so like in the day when we needed a nap we could go aty any time and as long as we shut the shutters, couldnt hear noise form the other guests or pool which was great!! The staff are all great although dont speak a whole lot of english so if you have a problem probably best to wait for the rep as trying to get your point across is sometimes a bit hard, although theyre more then happy to help!! One issue was that the towels werent changed every day and also we had to keep asking for loo roll the cleaner didnt just change it. The pool areas great and they play awesome music all day with cocktails for like 2 euros and great food. The whole area was lovely. You can also pay for aircon in the rooms which is 40 euros for the week and well worth it. We had a late flight at 2am aswell so we also got late check out which was only 30 euros and totally worth it as it meant we got to stay in the rooms till we left unlike the other groups who were sleeping in the lobby. The hotels location is great for the beach but it is a bit of a misssion to the strip.... its only like a 5-10 min walk but with PR's trying to drag you into every bar before you get anywhere near it it can take up to 20-25 mins! Over all that is my only complaint! And that the cleaner is really rude!! Everyday she would walk into the rooms without knocking and start cleaning even if you were asleep. If you asked her to come back later she just wouldnt come back despite the fact youd see her roaming round the hotel all day!! Really annoying!! Over all though this is a fantastic hotel for young group holidays!! I wouldnt recommend it for families and couples but i think with hotels like this, you should expect that when you book!! Had an amazing time here and everyone (except the cleaner) were great!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel dont look as safe as they can be accessed from the road. Try and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissELH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.0 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#61 of 73 in Laganas
543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mon Repos Apartments
Mon Repos Apartments
#19 of 73 in Laganas
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#51 of 73 in Laganas
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Apartments & Studios
0.0 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyonis

Property: Alkyonis
Address: Laganas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Alkyonis Hotel Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing