We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dennis is an arrogant idiot!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalia Studios

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thalia Studios
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dennis is an arrogant idiot!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Worst hotel ive ever stayed in in my life! went there back in 2008 and upon arrival had to go find the hotel manager ourselves because he was nowhere to be seen. The room was very stuffy. Didnt pay for the aircon just because I dont think we should have. Wata cheek! Cleaner banged on the door 8am every morning and if you didnt answer which we didnt because we were still trying to sleep she would use the master key and let herself in so we had to leave our key in the door to prevent this. I was accused of entering and dirtying another hotel room by that poor excuse of a manager just because i handed in a key tht i found by the pool. I couldnt wait to leave there. The whole holiday was a nightmare because of that lame hotel. DO NOT GO THERE!!!!

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel altogether!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We went there last year.
We are a family of 4. We stayed in a villa. The rooms were clean and we had no problem with the stuff there. The vlosest pubs , taverns and shops at the main road of Laganas were 10 minutes away on foot. Although for younger people not ideal as a family destination was perfect since the place was quite during the night and not isolated from the rest either. Especially if you rent or bring a car its really convinient since they have their own free parkimg space both near the villas and around the pool. In my opinion ideal accomodation to enjoy quite days and nights around the poolbar and far enough from the noise of the nightclubs

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miaououou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We were here in 1996..
Four people, my mother was turning 50 years...
None of us have ever had ha worse hotel not before nor after...!!!
We are amazed that Thalia is still here and runing..??
There were ants in the food...everything was filthy...the pool wasn´t cleaned at all...
The Telefone in the reception rang all the time, night and day...
Ignorant and imbecill personal..when we complained they turned of our warm water..(!)
My mother and her husband got a room next to the kitchen, even tough we had paid extra to get a nice room
We had especially picked this hotell for my mothers birthday, so the disapointment was even bigger...!!
AVOID...!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik189839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laganas hotels

brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

not alot to say bout this place apart if ur going to laganas do not go to this hotel the owner is an absolute idiot! the accomadation is terrible. i mean u wldnt expect alot from a 2 star but this is 1 star just becos it has a good pool in my view. the strip 30 mins away. the apartments are falling apart and if something breaks the stupid men and owners will blame it on u and try and get u to pay for it.
BUT laganas if amazing for clubs rescues was awesome g-spot amazing beach great perfect for lads holiday and girls holiday ....
just believe me choose a different hotel and not this one!

  • Liked — the pool was good
  • Disliked — dennis, the apartments, no were near strip everything apart from pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank smewth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

I have just returned from a 7 night stay in this poor excuse for a hotel... So many things wrong.

1. Hotel does not look like what we were promised in the travel agency.

2. The manager is a wierdo!... No Joke! - He kept asking about a pair of greek girls that were hanging around with us, and when he asked them who they were going out with in the evening, they said the english lads. And with a quick reply he snubed them.
The guy also tried to tickle my feet!!! - Odd.

3. Lots of wasps around the pool.

4. You have to pay for air con, minimum of 3 nights, this will not be included in the price. 7 euros a day - Also the cleaner will turn it off and leave the door on the balcony open. Dennis will also come and take the remote once the aircon runs up. He will not ask you if you would like to extend it.

5. Food was not fresh and half a beer is 3 euros, thats right 3 EUROS!.

6. Towels and sheets were not cleaned at all.

7. The night life is about a 30 minute trek in to town.

8. The shop is a good 10-15 minute trek.

9. The shower was broken, and had no curtain so water would go everywhere.

10. The rooms in general were falling to pieces and my brother had to sleep on a converted chair... You pay 400 quid for a converted chair?? hmmm...

11. If they tell you it has a kitchen, forget it!

Basically to sum it up. Avoid at all costs.

1 good thing, it was quiet in the evening.

  • Liked — It was quiet
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

Where to begin - arrived at Zante airport where all the coaches were lined up, to then find we were basicaslly getting in to a van, we were in stitches, you have got to laugh!! We then got to Laganas and had to go past a field with cows in it, over a little bridge, then drive through a dirt track and found Thalia apartments.

The apartments were very clean, nice pool and pleasant staff, especially Mary who worked at the pool side bar. Thalia is what you make it, no good for families or older couples. we were a group of girls who liked to lie by the pool during the day, have drinks and enjoy the nightlife. No entertainment at the apartments but why would you need any when the nightlife is down the road. it was about a 30-35min walk to the main strip so we got taxi's most nights which was about 6-8euros.

Overall we had a great 2 weeks there, no complaints at all, one thing i will say is we did tend to get a few frogs coming in and out of the bathroom, or sometimes moths haha but just keep the window shut, toilet seat down and also plugs in the sink haha.

  • Liked — Great for a girls or lads holiday
  • Disliked — a bit out of the way from nightlife, but i suppose you get a good night sleep!!
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2005

We have just returned from what must be the worst holiday of our lives. Whilst staying at Thalia, we were 1 of 7 apartments which had property stolen, with no evidence of forced entry! The owner had no interest in helping our situation, (you have to ask yourself if indeed he was involved in the theft?),and as a result we demaded a free transfer away from Thalia, and Laganas. (all occupied apartments were transferred to Hotel Marelen, Kalimaki FOC).

The apartments, although fairly roomy are rarely cleaned - the towels are changed once a week if you're lucky, and the location is useless. If you are a family considering booking here, forget it! Although the brochure shows a childrens play area near the pool, this is in a state of disrepair, and the majority of people booking here are aged between 18 - 30. We were lucky, in as much as the younger crowd who were there during our stay were very considerate, but I would never take a chance on this place again! If you are booking to go to Zante, I can highly recommend Hotel Marelen, Kalimaki - it's approx. the same distance from the centre of Laganas as Thalia is!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.5 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#35 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Borsalino Apartments
Borsalino Apartments
#21 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agrilia Hotel
Agrilia Hotel
#8 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
#30 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Villas
Harmony Villas
#1 of 1 in Mouzaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Studio Stars
Studio Stars
#19 of 64 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalia Studios

Property: Thalia Studios
Address: Laganas 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalia Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thalia Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalia Studios Apartments & Villas Hotel Laganas
Thalia Studios Apartments And Villas
Thalia Studios Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing