We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an absolute ball!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ionis Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ionis Art Hotel
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Had an absolute ball!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I cannot describe how good this hotel is! Oh god! I went on 2wenty's holiday with my friend in September and reluctantly booked in to this hotel. I knew it was a Plush hotel but I wasn't too sure about what I though about it. (I work in travel so I've upped my standards to snobs level) but this literally is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

When we arrived we were greated by our fab reps Rob and Hayley who took us through to the reception to check in. Yan (Yan the man) checked us in and gave us a good lecture on breaking things, hours that the hotel didn't appreciate screaming and shouting etc, rules blah blah blah. He gave us a sheet of paper that we were to mark off what was missing/broken in our room. We were only missing a glass which was alright (but I soon smashed that).

Our room number was 117 (on the first floor). We hired out the aircon, fridge and safe which was well worth the 150 euros. Our rooms were fab. 3 beds for the 2 of us which come in handy when one of us puked in the bed ha! Rooms were clean, spacious, bright and the bathroom was great. Steamed up a fair bit though when you got a shower. Nearly broke my hands trying to open the balcony door though. It was a proper task. Our view wasn't the best tbh, we were over the top of pizza hut/kfc so it stunk a bit and we could see the gypsy kids on the strip begging. We found them amusing though... hah! We found the phone in our room great. Could ring people for free and organise when to meet etc.

The bar was great. The bar man Zak was a bit of a tool to be honest, but he was lovely. He likes to lie about his age girls... he's 22 don't be believing otherwise hah! Heart of gold on the lad. He makes ace drinks. But the bars really pricey. Food there is good too!

Breakfast was diabolical. Bread was stale and the yogurts and jam etc were warm. We only ate there 3 times... we preferred a kebab for brekky or a maccies because we're classy!

The pool was bloody freezing, but there was so many lilos you literally didn't have to physically get in. Pool was chocker, hardly any beds but it was still good. Beware of the wasps by the way, and you can't bring your own drinks by the pool! Money money money.

Just to make you aware, theres the security guard called Adonis. Omg, I wouldn't get on the wrong side of him. He literally is the scariest human being I have ever met. But at least you knew you were safe in the hotel. I come back dripping wet one night cos it had flooded that bad and I thought it'd be hysterical to jump in the puddles cos I was that intoxicated! He had a right go at me and wouldn't let me back in to the hotel, and me being me (a scouser) I decided that no-one would shout at me like that and had a screaming match with this Greek man. He eventually won, and made me dry off in the lobby before handing me my key back and letting me go to bed. Honestly... do not mess with this man!

Please be aware, that if you get the slightest stain on your sheets you WILL get fined. Tbh, I can't blame them cos they need to keep up with the standards of the hotel.

Make sure if you do the messy 2wentys hols that you deffo book on to the parties and bar crawls! Too fun!

Overall, we had an absolute ball here and I would love to go back in a few years!

Room Tip: hire aircon the safe and the fridge! DON'T lock your room key in your room haha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannaheasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    103
    39
    28
    24
See reviews for
14
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel was throughout very well maintained and appeared to be recently renovated. We were travelling with 2wenties, so generally assumed the hotel would be very basic, but we were very wrong. From flat screen TV's and iPod docks, to modern artistic rooms, the hotel was a fantastic surprise! The staff generally were great, apart from perhaps one fairly miserable man on reception... In particular the bar staff were knowledgeable, and extremely friendly! The location couldn't be much better as the clubs are within a two minute walk, and the beach is about 5 minutes away. A slight downside was the unnecessary charges that the hotel imposed, such as €5 for a broken glass. Personally I thought this was extortionate. Although this was the only downside, because everything else was incredible. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

After being dropped off at the hotel by taxi we were greeted by the lovely 2wenty's rep Rob. I was really surprised how nice the hotel was considering it was catered for the 2wentys crowd. The location was excellent, you couldn't get any better in fact. Bang on the strip, 2 minute walk from the beach and you had KFC, McDonalds, Subway & Pizza Hut right on your doorstep. Lovely takeaway places opposite too. Banging bars all around. The location didn't affect you if you wanted an early night though (at least it didnt for us) The Ionis website didn't even come close to showing what a fantastic place this was.

Check in with Yan was speedy and he is such a lovely guy. Always really helpful and friendly. We miss him. You have to pay a 30 Euro deposit when you check in which you get back at the end of the stay providing you didn't damage anything. Every single reception staff we come across were always helpful and with a ready smile :)

We had a room to sleep 3 on the 2nd floor facing the pool. I think we had the best view in the house :) The rooms were spacious with a big lovely bathroom and a separate 'bodouir' as we liked to call it. Plenty of shelves, drawers and wardrobe space for 3 girls. We really couldn't fault it. The pillow cases and bed sheets even had the hotel logo sewn in - posh or what? Our balcony had a couple of chairs and a table and there was plenty of room for 5 of us to have pre-drinks and watch the world go by. The rooms also had docking stations/flat screen tv's and DVD players. Our room was cleaned every day and we were given fresh towels and bedding. Cleaners are great.

The pool bar is where the fun was at :) From the welcome meeting to the meeting point for bar crawls. Zak & Yvette were both brilliant. Very welcoming from the off. We had surprise cocktails day one day at the pool (our new game. Lol) and we just asked Yvette to surprise s at every round. We had a great day. Yvette, you make the best cocktails. We always met up with the others at the bar before hitting the strip and it was a good place to meet new friends too :) The drinks are reasonable and the food is fab as well. The only thing is, the food stops at 5pm :( But you still have plenty of choice on the doorstep of the Ionis. There's a sun lounger for every single guest of the hotel and the pool is sunny all day long. It got cleaned every day and was spotless for our entire stay.

Adonis - I note a few negative reviews about this guy. In my opinion he is a legend. He was always pleasant to us and friendly. He made sure we got in safe every night bless him. We never had a problem. Saying that, I wouldn't cross him. LOL. Treat the staff with respect and you'll get it back ten fold. At the end of the day, their job isn't to be abused by the guests. They work hard enough as it is.

We can't thank Rob, Hayley, Basher and Jamie enough. They totally made our holiday and were very helpful the entire stay. We miss you all a lot but will be keeping in touch. And also all the hotel staff - you were fantastic.

Thank you.

Girls from 227

xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_ayse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Well where do I start................ this hotel has to be one of the best places i have ever stayed, we were 3 girls sharing a room, the room was amazing, tv's and docking stations in all rooms, we had a shower and a bath, with a seperate dressing room (which was well needed with 3 girls in one room) the reps there Rob and Hayley were amazing and really made our holiday, Zak the barman was such a good laugh, we come away from there feeling like we had made some really nice friends. Yan the receptionist was lovely, always smiling and chatting to us, and as for the Security guards, if you treat them with respect they treat you with respect, I can not fault this hotel or any of the staff. The rooms were cleaned everyday, the wholeplace was spotless at all times.

We went on a few trips while we were there, the BBQ was one of the best days of the holiday, thanks to Hayley :). we did bar crawls with Rob, he is a total nutter, such a lovely guy who is always friendly.

The pool area is big enough to cater for all guests, the food at the bar was lovely. The breakfast which is served till 10am was nice, you had a choice of toast, boiled eggs, cereals, cakes, cheese, ham, fruit, tea, coffee and juice the only down fall of the breakfast is that the milk for the cereals was a bit warm, but I'm betting if you asked for cold milk you would get it. We never did as we were happy with everything else.

If you are looking for a quiet relaxed holiday, then this is NOT the place to go as its a 20's place which says it all, its a very lively, partying place, so if that is what you are looking for, then you will deffo love this place, I would go back tomorrow with no doubt in my mind that I would have an amazing time.

The strip is bouncing would deffo recommend cocktails and Dreams, and Zero's although most of the places are fab. If you go I hope you have an amazing time

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseeg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Hotel is amazing, location is perfect and everyone at hotel is really friendly! adonis the security guard is one of the nicest people i have met! give him respect and u will get it in return! also nicos was great fun aswell as the barman zak! all 3 made my time at the ionis very enjoyable! i would definately stay here again and would go back tomoro if i could!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaraclubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We went to laganas mid September 2012 and stayed at the ionis, it was fantastic. As we arrived I was shocked by how nice the hotel was, very classy and clean - the rooms were the same. Greeted by 2 lovely reps Rob and Hayley they were extremely helpful and this was the case for all the staff at the hotel.

The location was also fantastic, a 2 minute walk from the beach and literally on the strip for bars clubs and food. I can recommend cool peppers, horizon and tasos as places to eat on the seafront!

The pool area was also lovely at the ionis, they make sure that there is a sun Lounger for everyone which makes it easier to chill by the pool, although we spent most of our time on the beach.

Things to note: there is a deposit to pay on arrival, my boyfriend and I paid 30 euros each and we then paid 70 euros between us for a safety deposit box, aircon and fridge (well worth it and I would recommend setting aside money for this is advance like we did so you don't get a shock). We paid for the BBQ which was 15 euros each which was taken out of our deposit and well worth the money, and received our full deposit back at the end of the holiday.

Overall a fantastic holiday and would defiantly go again - if you treat the hotel, staff and reps as they deserve they will look after you and make sure you have everything you need :) thanks ionis!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

prior to booking our lads week away, we demanded a hotel of better quality as we were in a party of twentysomethings, thirtysomethings, fortysomethings, even Fiftysomethings, so the usual 18/30 - twentys doss holes wud be no good. we were really please we chose Ionis Art. First impressions were good, although having to pay a deposit for breakages, air -con & room safe was a bit of a pain and a tad excessive if you ask me. pool area was clean, plentiful supply of sunbeds and a decent bar and not too bad prices. my only gripe (and i must state i am 40 but can party with the best of them) is the constant head banging music during the day. Yes i know its a twentys hotel but a slightly more chilled out atmosphere during the day after the previous nights chaos would make this place the perfect place to stay. Its right on the strip, literally a 150yd walk to the beach, BANG IN THE MIDDLE of everything. Now onto Adonis our favourite security guard. The key to handling this guy is first impressions with him, ie get on his good side. show the bloke a bit of respect (begrudgingly for some of you yes i know), be polite and smile - you'll be fine. Act like an idiot and you'll be treat lyk one. Easy really folks. The bar staff are good crack, the reps even better, proper make ya feel welcome and part of the team. Choose this place and you can't fail to have a whale of a time. Enjoy

Room Tip: all rooms have differing qualities, some have obstructed sea views, some are bang on poolside and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nineinchnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.4 mi away
Tzante Hotel
Tzante Hotel
#5 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#15 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pallas Hotel
Pallas Hotel
#10 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Paradise Apartments
Paradise Apartments
#31 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionis Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Art Hotel

Property: Ionis Art Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 21 | Laganas Bay, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Laganas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ionis Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ionis Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ionis Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing