We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a couple - not for a family”
Review of Agrilia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agrilia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Even though the surroundings are very pleasant, this is
not a family-friendly hotel. More specifically,
the bar stays open until late at night (even though it is supposed to close at 23.00),
so if you have a pool-view room there is a lot of noise.

There are some other annoying things as well,
like the complete lack of shutters in the rooms and the
iron door which makes the room even hotter when the sun
heats it during daytime. Finally, there are no Greek TV channels at all.

The pros are the kind employees and the clean rooms.

Room Tip: Do not choose a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K78MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although we were disappointed when we arrived as there was a problem with our room and we had to move to a different hotel for 2 nights, George (the owner) couldn't have been more helpful he drove us to the other hotel in his own car and arranged for a taxi to pick us up 2 days later. When we finally arrived he had upgraded us to a suite so we were more than happy! The hotel is set in a very quiet area with olive groves all around. It is quite out of the way and if you want to go into Laganas town it is about a 15 minute walk although there are 3 restaurants nearby and the food at the hotel is excellent although a bit pricey compared to restaurants in Laganas and Kalamaki. We were on a bed and breakfast basis which was served from 8.30 - 10.30, the food was really nice I have never eaten so much fruit for breakfast in my life! The staff themselves were so friendly and helpful and George was everywhere doing everything he never stopped from first thing in the morning until late at night. We loved Hector the resident Alsation dog he was kept out of the way and when you did see him he was always very obedient keeping by George's side all the time. I wouldn't recommend going into Laganas, the strip itself is awful full of nightclubs, strip clubs and burger bars, we liked Kalamaki better as there was so much choice of restaurants and bars unfortunately it is not within walking distance so we had to get a taxi which was 8 euros each way. We would highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday which we did.

Room Tip: Suite 108 had a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherpam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and i had 11 days here it was relaxing George and his team were very good would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.
We hired a car for 7 days and drove around the island, which gave us a great perspective and showed us there's a lot more to Zakynthos,the north of the island is beautiful and the mountain roads very quiet

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

On arrival we were greeted by George and shown to our room by Julian which was as well appointed as most City hotels. The cleanliness , layout and daily room service was first class. We were on a bed and breakfast deal and normally other than the first night we normally have our other meals out and about but the quality, price and service of the evening meal was of such a high standard we ate there every night as the dining area overlooks the pool and is thoughtfully lit . Both George and Chris were very attentive and Chris especially is like a human dynamo ,you're never kept waiting for anything.
Breakfasts are served at a reasonable time 8.30 -10.30 where you can sit either inside or out on the terrace and once again you don't feel rushed or feel like you're being watched to see how many cups of coffee you've had like in some hotels. Once again the food at Breakfast covers all needs and is fresh, plentiful and to a high standard. The hotel itself is located in a quiet area sufficiently distanced from Laganas to be quiet but about 20 mins walking distance.We found a couple of lovely lanes to walk down instead of the main road which brings you out towards the edge of Laganas ,takes a lit longer but is more enjoyable taking in the surroundings and making a few canine friends on the way. On we return we took advantage of the late afternoon sun and had a dip in the lovely pool before our evening meal and then drinks by the bar chatting to Chris and George. Overall the whole holiday was exactly what we asked for ,relaxation,a good de-stress, great food and drink in pleasant surroundings and Hotel Agrilia didn't disappoint. We definitely plan to return (which is something we never do..) and would recommend the hotel to anyone.
Thanks for a lovely holiday
Pat and Tony X

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tjashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am 25 and my partner is 31, we found this hotel very relaxing as soon as we got there. George greatest us and showed us up to our room. The breakfast is more than we would of expected, they had omelettes, scrambled egg, bacon n small sausages, cereals and the normal Greek breakfast. The pool area is just like the photos, clean and relaxing. The decking was a nice change and made the hotel seemed very stylish. The strip was 10 minutes walk away and you could not hear any of it from the hotel, it was peaceful during the day and evenings. We ate at the hotel a few times as it was much better than anything else around and at the same price! There were lovely travens such as la Poole close by, that couldn't do enough for you and even gave us free wine. You can get a bus by the super market for €1.60 to zante town and all towns close by, which we did mostly rather than get a cab or go on the tomas cook trips. We got a quad bike for two days as this was a cheapest way of seeing the whole island. The best part of our holiday was comin back from an evening out and going to the hotel bar by the pool where Chris and George would be happy to see us. They would always have a chat and a laugh with us and really made us feel like friends more than guests. We enjoyed their company and will really miss them. We are booking back to go next year as we felt the hotel and the warmth of George, Chris and Julian was more than we could of asked for. Thank you guys for a lovely holiday and we are looking forward to seeing you next September. Love Vicki and steve xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of August, and can honestly say it was the best holiday we've ever had.

The hotel was beautiful, the food was excellent, the pool area relaxing - the sunbeds were lovely! The room was spotlessly clean, and the bed & pillow were really comfortable.

We looked forward to our afternoon chats with Julio at the bar - both he and Chris were great company. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, it really made the holiday for us.

We hired a car for 2 days and drove around the island, which gave us a great perspective and showed us there's a lot more to Zakynthos than the strip at Laganas.

In fact, we had such a great time that we'll be going back next year - can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stig69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

In writing this review we would first like to address some points made in a previous review. We understand that people experience things differently but some points that were made were either untrue or unfair in our opinion. Firstly, this hotel is catered for ALL ages and backgrounds, not just for middle-aged or Italian couples (we are a young British couple). We found the bar prices to be perfectly acceptable and not the watered down, 'cheap as chips' drinks you can accept from the bars and clubs on 'The Strip'. The cleanliness of the hotel was immaculate. Returning to our pristinely cleaned, fresh smelling room after a day out was a real treat. The pool, bar area and surrounding areas were all clean and well maintained. The staff are passionate about what they do and the standard of service they wish to provide to their customers. George the owner is present at the hotel every single day of the week as well as Julio and Chris who share the responsibilities of the bar and restaurant area, again, every day of the week. Julio's service was impeccable, attentive and friendly without being intrusive, as too was Chris'. The last thing we wanted to mention was Hector the dog. He is by no stretch of the imagination underfed. He is an incredibly well behaved dog who sticks to Georges side. He is rarely seen during the day and is kept well away from the food area during the evening; certainly never begging for attention or food.

The hotel is situated in a part of the island well away from the vomit covered, scantily-clad men and women, but near enough to the islands attractions to either walk or get a cab to. We would and will be recommending this hotel to friends and family. George - enjoy the break coming up, you deserve it! Chris - thanks for your constant politeness and help throughout our stay. Julio (Who-lio) - legend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_Lors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
4.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
553 reviews
1 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.2 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
1 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agrilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agrilia Hotel

Address: Agrilia | Laganas-Zakynthos, Laganas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agrilia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel occupies a private setting on the outskirts of Laganas. It is unique to the island and ideal for celebrations and discerning couples who want a quiet, relaxing and stylish base for their holiday in Zante. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agrilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing