We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful, and relaxed villa living” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Woods Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashmore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Quiet, peaceful, and relaxed villa living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Lovely quiet, peaceful, and relaxed setting. The antithesis of what you imagined the Gold Coast is like. No schoolies or drunken larrikins to keep you awake at night. Much more family orientated. I stayed there for more than 6 months and found it a wonderful place to stay. The villas are huge and good value for money if you are a family. Furnishings a bit dated, however everything is clean, tidy and functional, and the staff are very helpful. Surrounded by lovely gardens with lots of native birds, the Royal Woods is a little oasis in Ashmore. Nice and secure I felt quite comfortable letting my niece walk round the complex by herself, and there are several families who stay there long term so she had lots of little friends to play with. Would recommend it to anyone seeking quiet secure accommodation away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers and Broadbeach.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a two bedroom or three bedroom villa because they come equipped with a ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    41
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
37
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Had an excellent stay here, visiting my parents who live nearby in a retirement village. Was upgraded to a corner spa suite, which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Yes, the decor is a bit 80's but bed was comfy, air conditioning cold and shower and bath water hot and plentiful. The unit was well equipped with kitchenware and crockery etc and clean.
It was very tranquil and I enjoyed waking up to sounds of birds and views of greenery. Not sure how quiet it would be during peak school holidays, but probably quieter than a hotel room. Beach is around 15 - 20 mins drive, but for families who wish to visit Gold Coast theme parks, resort close to access to main highway. If you want to be right at the beach, this may not be the property for you, but if you are going to explore the general area, its location is excellent and the price is right. Appreciated the generous, free welcome breakfast basket and the friendly welcome and departure by Donny at reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

So peaceful, waking up to chirping birds not traffic or other guests coming home in the early hours of the morning. It is a gated complex but they still have security guards that patrol throughout the night which makes you feel extremely safe. We stayed in a corner spa suite which was extremely spacious and my Sister, her husband and their children stayed in a 3 bedroom villa which was bigger than their own house!!! I was hesitant about staying after reading some of the other reviews but I can honestly say we all loved it here. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful, they go above and beyond with their service. We all loved the waterfall over the pool and the spa's were great, we used the cold spa for daytime & the heated spa for early evening. There is a bus stop only a few minutes walk from the resort which was quite handy too as I had to catch the bus one day while my partner had our car. All in all, we all had a fantastic weekend and we have all booked the same room types for 5 nights over the Christmas holidays. We look forward to seeing all the smiling faces once again.

Room Tip: Corner spa suites with balcony also the 3 bedroom villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

In this day & age it's hard to imagine the Gold Coast as a relaxed getaway destination. One where the staff turn over is non existent, a place where you can feel right at home yet still feel catered for.
Royal woods has never disappointed their hospitality is second to none the rooms are clean, large & comfortable, the handy parking makes the world of difference, the pool/bbq/juke box area will have you spoilt for choice, and best of the location is conveniently hidden away from any annoyances.

A special thank you to Leonie for making our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: The staff were very helpful in helping us find the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivalav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

For an overnight quick trip down at the coast, the family was looking for a place with nice facilities and spacious.

The rooms where spacious but in desperate need of a refurb, unless you like that 80/90 beige look, also the resort facilities where a bit dated not really a reflection of price or pictures.

This facility seems to be set up for longer term rentals and I would not pay the $300+ price tag to stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Our 2 bedroom villa was booked for a business stay and whilst it was clean and comfortable, it was very definitely outdated and could do with a real spruce up. The accommodation was adequate, nice balcony and plenty of room for 3 people but the resort itself is situated in a very out of the way place...there is absolutely nothing around it, it is almost plonked inside a residential/suburban area. Having said this, the staff seem friendly enough, the rooms were clean and well appointed, but smelt musty, I think they mustn't have been used in quite some time. We stayed for business because it was close to Royal Pines but I don't think I would choose this resort for a personal trip. Not really my cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravellers264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012


All the fence palings are falling off and with a 2 year old running in the back yard, we were disgusted to find a fallen fence paling in our yard with nails sticking out everywhere however it was picked up promptly by staff when they were notified.

On the first day when we found ants all over the kitchen table (we hadn't had a meal), we were told to use the fly spray in the cupboard. The whole week we had ants and had two live cockroaches in the lounge.

The pool waterfall isn't a waterfall as it doesn't flow with any water. The 'spa's' at the pool also did not function.

When asking staff where the local Australia
Post was, we received a 'not sure' for an answer and that was it. That is not local knowledge for tourists!

Checking out, I paid the bill and wasn't surprised when I didn't even receive any customer service of 'hope you had a nice stay' or anything similar. Just a 'that's it' comment after paying the bill.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWR-Management, Manager at Royal Woods Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any feedback whether it be positive or negative because it allows us to create the best possible accommodation experience for our guests.
We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy yourself at our resort. The team here at Royal Woods pride themselves on giving excellent customer service as most of the reviewer’s state.
Upon investigating your comments, we are aware that one of our team members asked a member of your group if would like to move rooms because of the ants but nobody got back to them with an answer. Our villas are sprayed regularly for pests as a matter of policy and we had that room re-sprayed as soon as you vacated the accommodation.
Our waterfall is operational. It is set on a timer to turn on and off at certain times of the day/evening so it may be that you visited the pool during one of these times.
Both our spas are in working order. There is a sign on both pillars next to the spas that explains you need to push the spa button on the side of the recreation room to activate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashmore
0.6 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Woods Resort

Property: Royal Woods Resort
Address: 16 Mulyan Pl, Ashmore, Gold Coast, Queensland 4214, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Ashmore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Woods Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Woods Resort... your special placeRoyal Woods Resort, based in Ashmore on Queensland's beautiful Gold Coast (Australia) is a world-class resort featuring unique natural tropical surroundings, exquisite rooms and breath-taking views.The Gold Coast's only all villa suite resort, offers a range of one and two-bedroom suites or three-bedroom freestanding villas servicing the need for short, medium and long term stays. We provide the option of fully furnished luxury villas for daily, weekly, monthly and longer term rentals. Whether staying overnight or seeking longer term accommodation for the whole family, Royal Woods Resort provides the freedom and comfort of a home-away-from-home, combined with the luxury and features of a resort.From the 900 square feet one-bedroom suites to the 2100 square feet three-bedroom, three-bathroom (including spa) home-away-from-home, all were designed with luxury in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Woods Hotel Ashmore
Royal Woods Resort Ashmore, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing