We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Good Activities, great pools and things to do... Aviary was excellent. Nice surroundings and close to the main Gold Coast strip. Well priced and wide range of accommodation options.

Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    77
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
425
29
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

We came to stay at Ashmore Palms with our 4 children aged 2 to 12. They loved the kids activities in the mornings and we all enjoyed the bird feeding! The pools were amazing and we enjoyed swimming each day. Our villa was lovely and extremely clean which was wonderful. So close to everything including the fun parks but away from the hustle and bustle. Service was friendly and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

This was our 2nd stay at Ashmore Palms. For families this is the place to stay. The park offers great activities every morning for kids as well as excellent pools and a great playground. The kids received an activity book when we arrived. It was great that there was enough for the kids to do on those days when we were too exhausted to do theme parks. The staff are what make this place exceptional. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful and nothing was a hassle. The park is kept in excellent condition and everything is clean and tidy. We received a postcard from the staff when we returned home and when we arrived in our cabin there was a "welcome back" card which was a lovely touch. Overall for families this place is excellent, affordable and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwithboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coowonga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

After annoying these wonderful people with a million questions they welcomed us like we were old mates returning for the hundreth time. The setting was cool, safe and beyond beautiful our children 4 to 15 rose with the birds and played till late we will return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs-coowonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toowoomba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We have stayed at Ashmore Plams Gold Coast
for the last 4 years running and we love it.It is central to everything on the Gold Coast.The staff are very friendly and they love children.Cabins are clean and everything we need with laundry and BBQ.Pools are great the kids love them.We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shany13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We have just returned from a week at Ashmore Palms in the Rainforest Retreat. Wow what a place. I have three children they loved the pools, rainforest walk, birds and activities offered each day. The accomodation is fantastic everything you could possibly need to have an enjoyable stay. The staff are friendly and nothing is too hard or too much trouble. Close to theme parks and shops. Highly recommend for an enjoyable family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We stayed at "Ashmore Palms" for 11 nights recently and after reading many reviews before we went I felt I had to write an honest review. Myself and husband and 3 children 8, 5 and 6 months, stayed in a deluxe family villa and the first thing I noticed was how much smaller it was than we anicipated from the photo's on the website. It was very clean and had everything we needed but only just fitted us in. I feel like the photo's of all the accommodation are a little decieving.
I actually liked the location of the park, it is very central to everything and we didn't need to be near the beach as we live by one at home. The staff are what make this place an enjoyable experience. They are the best we have come accross from start to end they were lovely. It is immediatly noticable that they are lovely middle aged ladies, no really young inexperienced people here.
The park itself was really dissapointing, no grassy areas and alot of it has permanent cabins which are really run down, and it was strange to see the eldery owners sitting out front all day watching our children. My 8yo son was growled at for riding his scooter on one man's "private property".
I found the holiday guests in the park lovely and friendly and nearly all had families.
The pool area was nice but really the rest of the park was a bit of an eyesore. The morning activities are great but really only for pre-school aged children. I felt like the hired staff that ran a few of the activites really were about sick of it.
Everything was reasonably priced which makes a nice change, anything you needed, the staff were happy to help.
If you could stay in a macaw mansion that would be the pick, but we were just too far away from the pool area. When I booked I asked to be near as possible, and asked what the best accomodation for this would be, but they are very reluctant to advise where the cabins are situated.
I could not really believe that when we went on the "rainforest walk" that I was actually on the right track! You are just taken around the outside of the park behind the cabins and apart from a few trees you really are just walking past the front of the neighbouring houses.
The birds I found actually quite upsetting as alot of them looked very sick and they had been there for a long time. My family is very nature based and this was a great dissapointment.
I think if you stayed here and not read all the reviews you would probably like it, but with such high expectations I was dissapointed.
I think if the owners could slowly take over the permanent cabins and put in new ones, this would help alot, and then set aside some nice grassy areas to lay around and play with the kids. It is nearly all concrete.
If anyone has any specific qusetions please feel free to message me.
I would not stay here again, but we had a lovely family holiday due to the pool area and the lovely staff.

Kat

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katwallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APHV, Marketing Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, 10 November 2009
Here at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, we appreciate the reviews of our valued customers, which assist us in improving our accommodation, facilities, services and customer service. We are a family owned and operated business and strive to offer a high level of customer service and an enjoyable holiday experience for our guests.

My parents purchased Ashmore Palms back in April 1987, when it was known as Ashmore Caravan Park, located on 6 hectares at the end of Hinde Street in Ashmore. The basic infrastructure was in place at that time and the village was all permanent caravans and mobile homes. There are still some families living at Ashmore Palms who were here at the time of purchase.

Over the years we have gradually installed a range of holiday cabins to suit all tastes and budgets. In the early days, the industry standard was small holiday cabins that were open plan with a double bed, triple bunk and cooking facilities. Today, we have budget, middle of the range and upmarket cabins of varying sizes. We have done our best to be ahead of the competition in the caravan park industry, whilst still trying to cater to all budgets and family requirements.

Each year we install new holiday and short term cabins to ensure that we are always improving and meeting the changing needs of our valued guests. Over the past 12 months, we have removed 10 older style long term cabins and replaced them with new cabins. The cost of designing, building and installing new cabins is very costly.

Being a family business, without any financial input from external shareholders, we need to budget carefully. Furthermore, we need to consider the few remaining families and elderly couples who have made Ashmore Palms their home for more than 20 years, some of which are valued staff members.

The location of Ashmore Palms is very appealing to our guests, as the village is within close proximity of the major theme parks and in a quiet location, away from the highrises and hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise. Other appealing attributes are the friendly staff, affordable specials (particularly during off peak times), exotic parrots, self contained cabins, free activities, free shuttle to local shopping and the landscaping around the village.

My father, the owner of Ashmore Palms, is a “green thumb” and has cultivated the gardens here at Ashmore Palms since 1987. He and his grounds team hand planted the plants around what we call our “manmade rainforest walkway” to have a green buffer zone between us and the surrounding houses and retirement village. The landscaping can be viewed on Google Earth or by looking at the aerial view of Ashmore Palms on Google Maps.

Although the Gold Coast was in drought for 7-8 years and we have had very strict watering regulations, we have endeavoured to keep Ashmore Palms as “green” as possible, with use of bore pumps, recycling and mulching.

Unfortunately we do not have spare room to create extensive grassed areas but we have had very little request for such. However we can certainly keep this in mind for future development, now that the water restrictions have relaxed a little.
The landscaping is continued around the lagoon area. Many guests say that, when they are in the lagoon area, they feel like they are on a tropical island. Looking around at most Gold Coast accommodation, it is rare to find lush landscaping and no shadows from concrete highrise buildings, plus many accommodation properties have very few facilities and little or no activities.

Our South American Macaws, other exotic parrots and Australian native birds are popular with many of the families who holiday at Ashmore Palms and are a unique feature of the village. South American Macaws can live until they are around 100 years of age in captivity. We do have one bird that pulls his feathers and several that are getting a little older, but regular vet checks, up-to-date permits, daily care and a very healthy diet of fresh fruit, nuts and seeds, ensure for healthy birds.

We are proud to have a very friendly and helpful team of staff and the fact that our customer service rates very highly in the eyes of our customers. Whilst many other companies are reducing staff hours or the number of staff, we usually have more than enough staff rostered on, particularly in reception, to ensure that our staff can cater to the needs of our guests. Our viewpoint is that friendly and helpful customer service contributes to an enjoyable holiday.

From our observations, we thought that “Daisy” (who does most of our kids activities), Mr Twister and the young man who presently does our kids tennis lessons, enjoyed carrying out our kids activities. The general feedback from our guest questionnaires is that the guests enjoy the activities and particular love “Daisy.” However, we are always open to feedback for improvement.

With our marketing, we are careful not to misrepresent our accommodation, facilities and services. We do not adopt any trick photography and ensure to carefully list the inclusions of each cabin style, plus we include photographs, videos and floorplans to indicate the layout of each holiday cabin style. We regularly look at websites of hotels and other accommodation properties and have found that we include much more detail than most other companies. Based on the feedback provided in the above review, we have decided to provide measurements of the cabin types to also provide on our website along with the other detailed information. We certainly invite any further suggestions for improvement in this area.

The different holiday cabin types that we offer at Ashmore Palms are mainly located within particular areas of the Village. With the location of the cabins, we are governed by their width and the size of the sites on which they are installed.

The Family Villas and Deluxe Family Villas are not located near the lagoon area as they have a wider floorplan than most and cannot fit on most of the sites near the lagoon area. The Macaw Mansions are the only room style surrounding the lagoon area, and are very popular. The upmarket Rainforest Retreats are a short walk from the lagoon area, but many guests find this appealing. Some guests like to be ‘amongst the action’ and others like things a little ‘on the quiet side’. All cabins within the Village are within a couple of minutes’ walk from the facilities.

The cabin number for each reservation is allocated on the day of the guest’s arrival. We do our best to accommodate the requests of guests, however unforeseen circumstances sometimes arise, for example maintenance needing attention. We also have many family and sporting groups staying here at Ashmore Palms, which may book out all or most of a particular cabin style, and other guests holidaying for extended stays, so we simply cannot move them out of their room to make way for the request of a new arrival.

The general consensus from our guests is that Ashmore Palms is better than what they expected. This is our goal. We are pleased that, at present, 96% of our customer reviews on Trip Advisor give us a “thumbs up” which reveals that we are certainly doing some things right. However, these are only a ‘drop in the ocean’ compared to the 5,000 or so families we have stay here each year. We are proud that most of our customers who holiday at Ashmore Palms are on consecutive visits or were referred by family and friends.

However, if there are any ways that we can further improve our marketing and advertising activities, accommodation, facilities and services, we certainly welcome this feedback.

We thank you for your consideration of the above and invite anyone looking at staying at Ashmore Palms to contact our friendly Customer Service Team if you require any further information.

Kind regards
Ashmore Palms’ Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashmore
1.6 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
4.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
2.9 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
3.4 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
5.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmore Palms Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Palms Holiday Village

Property: Ashmore Palms Holiday Village
Address: 71 Hinde Street, Ashmore, Gold Coast, Queensland 4214, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Ashmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashmore Palms Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village is a family owned and operated holiday village, nestled on almost 15 acres of lush, tropical landscaping on Australia's Gold Coast in Queensland. The Village provides a relaxed, yet central holiday setting. Conveniently located close to the major theme parks and Surfers Paradise, the award-winning village offers a range of self-contained holiday cabin accommodation, popular with families, couples, groups and business travelers. Ashmore Palms has extensive family-friendly facilities and offers free children's activities.Next time you holiday on the Gold Coast, make Ashmore Palms your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmore Palms Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village Hotel Ashmore
Palms Holiday Village Ashmore
Palms Holiday Village Hotel Ashmore
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing