We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Family Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oscar On Main

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oscar On Main
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney AUstrali
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location for Family Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed on the 22nd Floor with wife and a 2 year old for the June long weekend. The apartment was very spacious, one bedroom having a comfy king size and the other a queen and a single. The kitchen facilities were great, even having a pod coffee machine. We know the Gold Coast well but had spent no time at this end of town. The location is perfect. Tedder Avenue restaurants and coffee places were just around the corner and the beach a block away. Unfortunately, the beach has been reduced in size after recent storms but a short walk would get you to a place to play in the sand. Strolling along the esplanade to Cavill Av is easy and enjoyable even with 2 year old. Management were helpful, the indoor pool, spa and steam room excellent for extra amusement on our rainy weekend and the trip to Seaworld would have been short had we been minded to go there. I would say, skip Broadbeach, this is better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
I agree. The location is perfect. I am so glad you took the time and explored the surroundings as we are located in the heart of lots of great places to visit and see. We are very proud of our facilities in the complex. There is nothing better than hearing guests splashing around enjoying themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    83
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
158
87
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundowran
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Another perfect stay with the family. We normally stay in a 2 bed luxury apt but this time tried a 2 bed ocean view apt - it was marginally smaller, but the second bedroom was better laid out and the 3 kids fitted perfectly. The new managers are very nice, helpful and have some good ideas on how to continue maintaining high standards whilst improving value for money. Proximity to the beach and Tedder Ave, spectacular views and consistent high quality of service drive the Oscar to the top of the list!

Room Tip: Go high for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElFozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Lovely to know we are on the TOP of the list!!!!
Glad we chose the right apartment to suit your specific needs and the kids all fitted perfectly. Getting great feedback from guests makes all our hard work worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago, after booking a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment online (super easy and great communication from Sonya). This weekend was a surprise birthday present for our brother and as we all used to live in Main Beach we knew the location was going to be perfect - close to the beach, Tedder Ave up the road, Southport Surf & Yacht Clubs close by, short walk to Marina Mirage and 2 minutes drive to check out Sea World!! The apartment had Beautiful views, clean, tidy and well maintained apartment and comfortably accommodated 4 adults. The facilities are great and we really enjoyed our stay - definitely would recommend to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your great review. It is always rewarding for us to know we helped you have a great weekend away with family. Look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

booked online through wotif, usually when I have booked through wotif at different hotels we have been given a 1st story unit with limited views and so on, but we were on the 18th or 19th floor here with amazing views over the ocean! had the option of indoor and outdoor pools which is good seeing we there in early may. Everyone we dealt with during our stay were amazing, the receptionist was lovely and booked a dive for us, it was just a really good stay would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brisbanegirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
We love looking after our guests and making their stay memorable. Wow, you are our first 'amazing' - not bad considering it is only our second month here!!!
We loved having you and your friends come and stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aireys Inlet, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and teenage daughters recently stayed 3 nights at Oscar on Main. The apartment was large, clean and very comfortable. We had uniterrupted views from the balcony of the ocean and a short walk to the beach. Teddar Avenue is just around the corner where there are excellent restaurants. Walking tracks along the beach and Marina Mirage a short walk away with excellent shops.
Oscar on Main is a great location and is very well managed by Angela and her team.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your review Leonie. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and made full use of the facilities at Oscar and, of course, wonderful Main Beach. On behalf of myself and my team, thank you for appreciating all the hard work we are doing to provide a quality customer service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

My family of four stayed in a large and comfortable 2 bed apartment with great views from a large balcony. The area is quiet (ie not the busy part of the gold coast), close to a good restaurant strip and close to Sea World). It was clean, had good service and good facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgrastr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our beautiful apartments. My husband David and I are the new managers and we love livng here. You can't beat the location. A wander down Tedder Avenue for a coffee and some people watching - or along the beach - is a great way to unwind. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at Oscar on Main in early april of 2013, with 3 friends. We were in a 2 bedroom, ocean view apartment, level 19. Was a great, uninterrupted view of the ocean from the balcony as there are no high rises hindering the view. Due to the weather we couldn't get to the beach more than once, but that gave us the opportunity to check out the outdoor pool, indoor heated pool, spa, and steam room. These facilities were so great - very clean, and obviously well maintained. The steam room was a particular favourite. The staff there were lovely, very accommodating and helpful. The location is fantastic. Only a short walk to Tedder Avenue where there are a range of clothing boutiques, cafes and restaurants. An even shorter walk to the beach. The bedrooms were large - in one we even had an extra couch and TV, and in the other a work desk. There were 2 bathrooms, both large and very clean and modern. the larger bathroom has two basins, a shower, toilet and spa bath which was luxurious. The living room felt enormous. There was a large couch, large TV that had a decent sound system, DVD player. The kitchen was well equipped, and had more than we needed. I highly recommend this hotel, it would be great for business, families, friends and couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
As the new team from the beginning of April, it was very gratifying to read your comments about our service. David, Sonya and myself have been working very hard to learn everything we can about the building to make sure our guests are looked after extremely well.
We have got lots of comments about the size of the apartments - because they are enormous - and give guests plenty of space to spread out and relax together - but not on top of each other. When we found Oscar on Main, we fell in love with the size and layout of the apartments. Coupled with the beach and Tedder Avenue, only a block away, we felt it was a perfect place for us to live and our guests to unwind. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
1.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Views Resort
Pacific Views Resort
#7 of 18 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar On Main

Property: Oscar On Main
Address: 1 Hughes Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscar On Main 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned and spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments. Oscar on Main captures the spirit and essence of fabulous Main Beach in every facet. Our first class 4.5 star resort is just a short stroll from Australia's famous Gold Coast beaches and many local Gold Coast attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oscar On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar On Main Hotel Main Beach
Oscar On Main Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing