We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I went to the Palazzo expecting to find a big, brash resort verging on the vulgar, but, despite some hiccoughs, left with a much more positive opinion.
The highlights of the hotel are the exquisitely appointed rooms, quiet and comfortable. The duvet and pillows are the best I have ever encountered.
The swimming pool is also great; large enough to feel like you have your own space despite the surrounds feeling quiet busy.
We went to the buffet restaurant for dinner at 8:30pm. The kitchen staff were disinterested in replenishing some of the main dishes (sashimi, lamb, pork), despite the buffet being open until 10pm. Thankfully the floor staff were more professional, and rescued the situation by fetching us dishes straight from the kitchen. The floor staff were exemplary. The food itself was OK, perhaps slightly expensive for the quality.
The bar/ lobby area feels small and crowded for a five star hotel, although sumptuously decorated. On this trip we popped across the road to the Shereton Mirage for a drink at the bar, and this space, despite being much older, felt more spacious and fitting for a five star hotel. A minor gripe. I think many people holiday at the Versace to see and to be seen - just not me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked two suites for three nights, a superior suite and a deluxe suite. One was with the royal treatment package and the other was a cabana package. Both suites were beautiful. Housekeeping was great leaving the rooms spotlessly clean each day. There is very little difference between these suites other than the deluxe has a marginally bigger floor space. The royal treatment package included so many things that it really gave you a great experience of everything the hotel has to offer. The food service was wonderful. We dinned in Vanitas for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed their degustation menu. Lying by the pool was glorious and we loved the shade and service offered by the cabanas. The children loved the pool, they built sand castles and had fun in the water while mum and dad enjoyed some relaxing time in the cabana. It felt like we were a million miles away, just what you need to recharge the batteries. We had a wonderful time, everything was perfect from the check in staff to the wait staff and pool area staff. Everyone makes an effort to greet you and speak to the children. It was so lovely and relaxing. We are planning a week in Versace in October and I am very much looking forward to the great service and relaxing atmosphere again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear coug77

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, and letting us know about your fantastic stay at Palazzo Versace.

I was delighted to hear that you felt refreshed and recharged after you visit, and I was expecially excited to see that you took advantage of one of our newly created packages - The Royal Treatment. The Royal Treatment package is the crème de la crème of our revamped/newly created packages, providing a great introduction to the many services and products that we have on offer at our establishment.

coug77, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Palazzo Versace.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Check in was easy, and comfortable, sitting with guest services.
The hotel interior and furniture was beautiful and Italian-esque. There was a lot of detail in everything.
The rooms were spacious, offering two bathrooms, a living area, small dining, two door entry to the bedroom, a huge ensuite, and a tiny balcony.
The room offered quality amenities, small products at turn down service (chocolates and relax creams, as well as the weather for the next day), bath robes, beach towels, bathroom towels, and sleeping amazing pillows!
The buffet was good, standard continental, hot, deli, fruit, etc on offer.
The in room dining service food was delicious! I recommend the seafood pizza and the truffle mash potatoes.
The pool are was huge, but I spent most time tanning on the sun beds, and the cabana which came at a very reasonable price. I probably used the sun beds more than the cabana though.
I didn't rate the man made private beach so much. You have to walk through the sand to get to the pool which made me bring sand on to my sun bed and cabana. And it was small. Not very necessary in my opinion, but fun if you have young children that want to play and build sand castles.
The drinks and food service was great, except my oysters took a while to come, which I thought would have been the quickest (They taste great though). the berry cocktail jug is was nice and fruity.
Over all, hotel was beautiful with great service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear pkou

It was fantastic to hear your recent stay with us was seamless from check in with our wonderful Guest Services team to your departure.

We pride ourselves on offering the ultimate in luxury and comfort, with all of our rooms offering Versace amenities to spoil you during your stay! We also hope that you enjoyed the many facilities that our hotel has to offer.

It certainly sounds like you had a wonderful time, and I'm delighted to read you enjoyed the ambience of our gorgeous foyer during the evening. Here's an interesting fact - the lighting of the tealight candles came about after a particularly romantic proposal, and Palazzo Versace liked it so much so that we adopted the practice and have been creating 'the romance' ever since.

Thank you for sharing your review and photos on Trip Advisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Versace in the near future.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for my 30th last weekend. I was really looking forward to it. Overall it was a great experience however a few things let it down. The guys at the front reception were great however the cleaning staff were very cranky. We came up to our room after dinner and walked past one of the girls doing turndown service. We both said good evening to the lady and surprisingly she looked at us and walked inside another room... Rude. The pool boy in the morning wasn't much better.
We had the seafood buffet and I would probably say 6/10 at best. Small selection, bland overall apart from the sushi chef. He was fantastic. On our last day we wanted to spend our time by the pool... We had to pay extra for the cabanas. I think at $500 a night it's not too much to include them.... I've stayed at better places for less money

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear pepoka

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us for your special birthday weekend. Saturday evenings are especially exciting in Il Barocco, with one of our star features being our interactive sushi and sashimi station.

We are disappointed that we were unable to exceed your expectations in a few areas during your visit, which I would be interested in further discussing with you. I can be contacted at grm@palazzoversa.com.au

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Recently organised another weekend conference at the hotel. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish; thanks to the great staff. Dinner and wines on Friday evening in Vanitas were wonderful as was the dinner in Vie on Saturday evening where the service was exceptional. The rooms were lovely, as usual. All attendees throughly enjoyed another stay, will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebzBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear DebzBrisbane

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are extremely pleased to hear your conference ran smoothly, and that all of your attendees thoroughly enjoyed their time with us.

Vanitas and Vie Restaurant provide an exceptional dining experience, we are glad you thought so too!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel in March 2014. The design of the hotel is magnificent. Wonderful marble works everywhere. We loved everthing about the hotel itself. It was very clean and beautiful. The staff were very nice and helpful.
We ate at the buffet restautan (Il Barocco ) twice for out dinner and the breakfast. Everything about it was nice apart from the foot itself! The food was quite average, way below our expectation from a 5 star hotel. Quality of the food was not that good, either not cooked well or over cooked. We paid $89 per person for the baffet dinner and $45 for the breakfast buffet. In both times we became very dissappointed. I strongly recommend others to eat outside the hotel (at the marina mirage for example as there are plany of very nice restaurants there with reasonable prices). The only good thing about this restaurant was its waiters and waitresses. They were very friendly, helpful and nice. We will go back to the hotel but we definitely will not eat at Il Baracco restaurant ever again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Farhad A

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved everything about the hotel! ‘Magnificent’ really is a perfect word to describe the immaculate attention to detail throughout the hotel, including our peerless marble and mosaic flooring.

It was unfortunate to hear your experience in our Il Barocco Restaurant did not meet your expectations. Our Il Barocco manager has been notified of your review and is contactable on rm14@palazzoversace.com.au if you wish to discuss this matter further.

We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your return to the hotel.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Enjoyed the one night we had there.. Didn't get to spend a lot of time at the hotel due to christmas party. But the time we spent there was very relaxing and welcoming by the staff. It was very clean, nice aroma through the building. Room service pizzas weren't the best, cold and soggy by the time they got delivered, the only disappointment throughout out the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAOGAOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear GAOGAOP

We are glad your short stay at Palazzo Versace was a relaxing one.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Kayla Jane Mooney
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,582 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,428 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Price Range: £193 - £1,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing