We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Tasteful renovation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Tasteful renovation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This hotel has been looking sad for years but the high staff retention and personal service has not declined. The renovations completed this year now mean that the hotel environment lives up to the high standards of service. Public areas generally great and new room look was very pleasant. Oyster Bar as good as always and the buffet for dinner and breakfast was fine, maybe not as luxuriuos as in the past (eg no longer any smoked salmon for breakfast). The location can't be beaten on a magnifiacnt stretch of beach away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Ocean front premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Ross

A big thank you from our team for your ongoing support, and for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay. We all appreciate your lovely comments on our service, and particularly liked your description of our location.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas, and looking forward to being of service in 2013.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    451
    124
    42
    35
See reviews for
371
514
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Not if you really want your guests to check out. Then you interrupt them 3 times in under an hour to "check" on things.

We had prearranged a later check out time to relax a bit before heading home. We are Starwood Preferred Guests.

By the third interruption we were cranky and left feeling ripped off. Not a great way to end an otherwise pleasant stay. Certainly not the relaxing morning we had hoped for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omega5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Recent Sheraton Mirage Guest

We are very sorry your last morning here at Sheraton Mirage was disturbed by interruptions from our team. This is completely unacceptable for a resort which prides itself on providing tranquil surrounds to ensure a completely relaxing stay, and service which complements such an ambience. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disregard of your “do not disturb” instruction.

If you could spare a moment to make contact with my office with a little more detail regarding your booking, that further information would enable our Rooms Division Manager to follow up to ensure your experience does not recur.

Thank you for taking the time to post on your experience, and for your support of Starwood via your Preferred Guest Membership.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed her for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. The hotel is beautiful and the location is ideal. The service was exceptional, food very nice. The pool and pool area is fantastic.
The only complaint i could have would be the air con was freezing cold in the corridors when you walk to your room.
The actual room we stayed in was the basic room, but was suprisingly spacious with all the comforts you need.
Would definatley have a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Nicci

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent five nights here at our beautiful beachfront resort. We very much appreciating you taking the time to post on your experience, and are grateful also for your feedback on our guest wing corridor air conditioning which is being followed up by our Chief Engineer. Apologies for any discomfort this may have caused during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you both back on a return stay….hopefully in the not too distant future!

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I didn't drink or take below drinks in your hotel room, please do not try to earn money from guest on such way. My friend only used 5 or 6 tea bags from the room, don't think it cost and worth that much of $14.25. We never touch the room's drinks and snacks, because we did not expected from free service/drinks/food and clearly knew it is definitely overpriced.
If I drank it, I pay, but when I didn't, don't charge it on my bill, "when you thought it must be drank by the guest". You should go and check your relevant department or team whoever On-Duty at that floor. Those stuffs should be found in that on duty staff's bag or locker!!!!!
Please do not hesitate to check your CCTV that I bought my own drinks back to hotel at the only night i stayed in your hotel, thank you.

Room Tip: Above room rate is talking about the distance walking from the lobby to the room. Too far to walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YatKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear YatKa

Thank you for staying here at Sheraton Mirage with your friends, and for choosing our resort for your first Trip Advisor review. We appreciate you posting on your experience and were very pleased to read your positive words on our service and our spectacular Lobby.

We were surprised though to see your comments on the billing of In Room Bar items, and our Terraces/In Room Dining Manager is now following up with his team in an attempt to identify exactly what happened on this occasion. I can advise that our IRB team use the latest technology in the processing of these charges, and they take great care and pride in ensuring the accuracy of billing. Please accept our apologies for the apparent incorrect charging of these items to your room account. We are sorry that this situation has left such a poor impression, but this has nothing to do with our associates in the way implied. I can assure you they are honest, trustworthy and overall exemplary employees.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa for a work conference. The hotel is tastefully modern, with plenty of inviting spaces for meetings and simply taking five! The hotel is sprawled across a large expanse and depending on which wing your room is in, can be a bit of hike to the main building. Having said this... I could have very happily stayed in my room for the entire stay, if I didn't have work commitments! On first impressions the rooms are sumptuous - tastefully decorated, spacious, the beds are huge and inviting, the chaise lounge was perfect for sitting with the laptop and/or relaxing with a book in the evening, The bathrooms are generous with a bath/shower combination... although when you use the shower water goes all over the floor, which could potentially be a slipping hazard. There is also plenty of room for those staying for a while, with ample drawers and cupboard space. The restaurant offers a fantastic seafood selection which is buffet... if you feel like eating in your room, the menu is equally tantalising. Located directly opposite the Palazzo Versace, it is easy to commute between the two hotels and there are a couple of other restaurants within the vicinity. I would love to return to the hotel for purely pleasure... but at this price point... not sure I can afford it!

Room Tip: A definite five star experience... which is charged accordingly! Rooms on the ground floor have acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiroshaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hi Nirosha

Thank you for posting on your conference stay here at Sheraton Mirage. It is very good of you to take the time to share your experience via TripAdvisor, and we all appreciate that, and your lovely comments.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on a leisure visit when you are next planning some time out by the beach here on the beautiful Gold Coast.

Warmest wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

This delightful resort, complete with breathtaking garden setting, has been tastefully renovated. The rooms are extremely spacious and very well presented. The bathrooms are large and modern. The expansive views of the resort from the entry level are stunning. The food is under control of passionate chefs and there is an abundance of it. The setting is amazing, with the beach on the eastern side and the morning sun uninterrupted. The lagoons meander through the resort and provide a calming effect for guests. The pool is a lovely temperature of 27-29 C.
This resort is a delight to experience and one thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing into the resort and a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndyLipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Lyndy

We appreciate you taking the time to post on your very enjoyable Sheraton Mirage experience, in addition to being in touch directly regarding your stay. Thank you sincerely for your post, and your recommendation.

Our team joins me in wishing you both all the very best for 2013, and we hope to see you back here at our beautiful resort before too long.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Having stayed at the Mirage over 20 years ago I wasn't sure if it would live up to old memories. Happy to say that it exceeded expectations. Service was 1st class for an Aussie resort (only mediocre experience being delayed access to room after check-in but service recovery was positive). My kids (ages 2 & 5) loved the pool and be-friended a number of staff and other guests. Best location on the Gold Coast, away from the crowds and messy centre of town. All staff eager to please - particular mention of Thomas (Assist Duty Mgr) and LauraLee in the restaurant. Recent refurb has freshened up an old property, just needs some more attention to detail around lagoons but overall a beautiful resort. Would recommend for families looking for a relaxing break

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the road, we loved the spa queen rooms - slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Ben,

Our team loved your post on your stay with your family last month…particularly Thomas and LauraLee – thank you for this special recognition for these two fine associates!

We appreciate you returning after such a long absence, and for taking the time to share your mostly positive experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you again…..hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing