We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in our own back yard (Aus)!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise in our own back yard (Aus)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our first wedding anniversary at the Gold Coast. We absolutely love Hawaii but seeing as we couldn’t afford to go again, we decided to head to the next best thing in Australia, the Gold Coast. We had stayed at the Royal Hawaiian in Hawaii for our honeymoon so when it came to deciding where to stay in the Gold Coast we thought, why not stay at the sister hotel The Sheraton.

From the very moment of making the booking enquiry, the customer service was friendly and professional.

The hotel itself is an absolute haven! Many of our friends wonder where on earth we had gone on vacation when browsing through our photos, they couldn’t believe it was right here in Australia.

The rooms were very clean and beds/pillows were soft and comfortable. The bathroom was fantastic with a huge corner bath. The cleaning staff were also very thorough and super friendly.

We had decided to indulge in the day spa and purchased a couple’s massage and lunch package, which included a 1 hour massage and seafood buffet lunch per person. Well worth the money! The day spa was excellent and absolutely rejuvenating, once again with very friendly staff.

No matter where we are, we have always had great dining experiences at all Sheraton buffet restaurants in Sydney, Hawaii and the Gold Coast. They provide an endless feast of scrumptious dishes.

To top it all off, the general manager of the resort also sent through a complimentary bottle of wine on the day of our wedding anniversary. Thank you!

The only thing that we had a minor problem with during our stay (as I am quite a light sleeper), were the thin walls - you could hear guests leaving for breakfast early in the morning so weren’t able to really enjoy a nice sleep in.

Overall this hotel provided nothing but quality and friendly service. The facilities were clean, modern, classy and refreshing yet what we loved most was the atmosphere throughout the resort was laid back and not at all presumptuous.

We are planning a big trip to N.Y, Vegas and Hawaii later on this year and before even booking our flights we already knew which hotels we will be staying at : )

Thank you for our wonderful stay! x

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thuykoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Sheraton Mirage Guests

Thank you for your recent post on your 1st Wedding Anniversary stay in November. We are honoured you chose Sheraton Mirage for this very special occasion, following on from your Honeymoon at “The Pink Lady”…..The Royal Hawaiian, and appreciate your continuing loyal support of Starwood with your upcoming trip to the States.

It was our pleasure to recognise your celebration and to look after you to ensure a memorable stay and hopefully, lifelong memories of this visit.

Having said that, we all hope you will return when you are next looking for a beach getaway here in Australia!

With warm appreciation from our team for your wonderful post, and for your support of Starwood Hotels & Resorts.

Mark

PS I really liked your photo of our Porte Cochere which was captured in an entirely different light to what I have seen before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    451
    124
    42
    35
See reviews for
371
514
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in a Deluxe Spa Suite. Just beautiful! We were on the ground floor with a lovely private outdoor table and chairs to sit by the Lagoon. The suite was very spacious! The staff were extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. The breakfast was excellent, lots to choose. We booked a Romantic Getaway package, which included a dinner at the Seafood Buffet Terraces Restaurant. The buffet was beautful. It is a great place to stay as the lagoon and pool area is extemely spacious and it is situated on the beach, which you can access through the rear of the hotel. And with the Marina shopping centre just across the Skywalk, you have a choice of other cafes, and restaurants and shopping!

Room Tip: The Lagoon view spa suite, was a great choice, and very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judester_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Jude

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your recent visit to the Gold Coast. We are delighted your three days here were such enjoyable ones, and we loved your review which perfectly captured our beautiful resort and all it has to offer in just the one paragraph!

Looking forward to your return when you are next travelling our way.

Warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Staying for 4 nights, our room was clean, spacious, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent (in size, design, and room) and the bed was lovely to sleep in, which is a huge plus! We arrived around mid day and were greeted most warmly by Jimmy. Check in was extremely quick and after hearing about demise that day and that it was my birthday the following day Jimmy told us about the pool. We went to our room level 2, after 15 mins we received a knock on the door and in walked A staff with a lovely hand written card from Jimmy wishing me a happy birthday! It was honestly the best thing that happened to me for the whole day. Had a great swim with the kids-pool is lovely and amenities are good with pool towels provided. Sheraton mirage will be our accommodation of choice in Gold Coast from now on.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Helen,

We are delighted our resort is now your accommodation of choice on the Gold Coast! Thank you for staying with us, and for your descriptive and positive post on your experience.

And be assured, Jimmy – a very new team member here at Sheraton Mirage – is today receiving a copy of your post so he will quickly know of your further commendation and appreciation of his special gesture and just how much it meant to you that day.

Looking forward to your return.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very courteous reception staff made our late check in run as smooth as possible although the hotel is very spread out so we needed to use a map to find our room, but itwas worth and the room was nice, overlooking the tennis court and some of the waterfront.
Breakfast staff was nice as well, the housekeeping staff also helpful and polite.
Bedroom was comfortable, breakfast in a beautiful setting, food was plenty and varied.
One of the mornings we met the chef (I think his name was Robert or Richard) , he was great and made us a nice meal of egg Benedict.
There was a staff member at the restaurant that particularly went out of his way to be of service to us and to other customers, he SMILED (something that should never be forgotten by those who wish to work with the public :) :) and he provided information about all the menu and also travel tips about the Gold Coast, etc. His name is Jade. Small gestures can make a big difference, Thanks, Jade.

Room Tip: I heard there are better rooms overlooking the ocean, but I was happy with being on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Jackie

Thank you for taking the time to recently review your July 2012 stay with us here at Sheraton Mirage. We appreciate you posting on your experience, and your descriptions of our resort, and especially your mention of Rob and Jade. A copy of your post will be shared with Rob, and also forwarded to Jade (who has in the meantime left the resort), so they will know how much you appreciated their personal service and assistance.

Our team hopes we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next on the East Coast.

Many thanks again for your post.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights with my husband in a Ocean front room on the 3rd floor. We have had a very long history staying at the Mirage hotel dating back over two decades, although we hadn't been here for 6 years or so.
The hotel is situated right on the beach, and a little out of frenetic Surfers Paradise in Southport - and this is the key to the uniqueness and attraction of this hotel for us.

There are positives - newly renovated rooms (and bathrooms) are thoughtfully done, comfortable and in good order. Beds are comfortable, housekeeping is OK, breakfast is good but service is a little robotic - clearing away plates quickly with very little personable attention. Public areas are clean and nicely decorated. Concierge is helpful.

The negatives are - room towels are small, sparse and threadbare, only one very small floor matt supplied for the bathroom, bathroom amenities are generic and not of 5 star quality, no turn down service (when you are paying over $400/night you would expect this), quirky TV with long delays when powering on, Wifi that you have to pay for (something hotels in the USA have mostly done away with). No complimentary water.
One comment - when checking in, the young lady checking me in was excellent and very efficient, however there was a misunderstanding (which very possibly could have been my fault), but I understood that breakfast would be included in our room rate (as we were checking out one night early on a pre-paid rate), but it wasn't, and the way the mix up was handled, was very poor and inflexible. No room for goodwill on their side. It seemed the hotel was all take with not too much give.
Even though it is school holidays, there was still a calm to the hotel, which is a definite bonus. Even with these complaints, it is still the best hotel on the Gold Coast, but there is much room for improvement.
I saw a great contast between the Mirage, and the Peninsula in Beverly Hills (which I visited in Nov 2012) re customer service. The Peninsula puts their guests happiness as their number one priority, I didn't feel this with the Mirage unfortunately. They should learn from the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freddiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Recent Guest

Thank you for returning to our resort after an absence of some time, and for taking the time to post on your experience. Your insights and feedback are very well taken and appreciated, as is your long history with our resort. And we are delighted you still enjoy our unique (and quieter) position right on the beachfront.

Your post is being shared with our Food & Beverage and Rooms Division Managers who will in turn share this with their teams to ensure our goal of extending warm, friendly and thoughtful service is always uppermost in our minds as we care for and serve our guests and patrons here at Sheraton Mirage. I would also like to be able to follow up in more detail on your arrival experience. If you could spare the time to contact my Assistant Sharon Hartridge with your stay information I would be most grateful.

In the meantime, I am pleased to advise that bathroom towelling here at the resort will be upgraded by the end of this month, and also that turndown service continues to be available, though this is now on request.

With our thanks again for your ongoing support, and your post.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Sheraton Mirage after five weeks in the USA and Canada. We parked....went up the elevator and the minute those elevator doors opened we were in paradise. We are regular guests of the Mirage and that one feeling of stepping into the foyer and looking out across the pools towards the beach is one of the most relaxing feelings in the world. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we spent some quality time by the pool. Infact we did this almost the whole time we were here. The Duty Manager recognised us and came out of his way to say hello and introduce us to a new trainee. We had some minor glitches at dinner but these were rectified for the next time we went and dined. We stayed in a Mirage room in the south wing and it was very spacious and well equipped. 

AN INTERESTING POINT FOR READERS.....when we were at dinner I heard a guest complaining at the cost of rooms and the buffet. The cost of the buffet is comparable if not cheaper then other buffets on the coast but the quality is very very good. Regarding the rooms all I can say is "supply and demand". We booked a couple of months ago and the prices were more then reasonable. Get in early as the website has some wonderful offers.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Nathaen

What can we say….but another huge thank you for staying with us again, and for posting so positively! It was wonderful to have you both back after your trip to the US and Canada – and we’re delighted you continue to enjoy the resort and make it your “home away from home” here on the Coast.

Wishing you both all the very best for 2013 personally and professionally, and looking forward to seeing you back here in June.

Warmest wishes from our Sheraton Mirage team

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

My 9 year old sons first stay in a hotel and he was in awe (so was I). Wonderful resort and the friendliest staff I have ever come across - a credit to management and of course the staff themselves. This alone would make me recommend sheraton mirage to family and friends. Housekeeping staff were fantastic and the concierges brilliant. Beds super super comfy and our room always spotless. Food quite pricey but we ate out most meals so wasn't a concern. Thanks Sheraton - we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juemuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Contributor

Thank you for posting your initial review on our resort….and we are delighted Sheraton Mirage was the first hotel experience for your son! Many thanks too for your recommendation to your family and friends.

We all enjoyed your post – especially our Housekeeping and Concierge teams – and it was a pleasure to know this visit was such an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to your return….hopefully sometime soon.

With warm appreciation
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing